We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Arkin Colony Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have been holidaying in N. Cyprus for many years, staying in a friend's villa. The villa has recently been sold so I was obliged to find alternative accommodation as I love this country. I am so glad I chose The Colony Hotel. The staff were so attentive and the standard of cleanliness and the welcoming atmosphere made this holiday so pleasant. Although I was on my own I did not feel out of place.
The only down side to my experience was at the very last hurdle. I vacated my room at 2pm and my transfer was not till 6.15 pm. I was surprised that there was no courtesy room where I could change into travelling clothes. I was told to go up to the spa area. It was not easy to manoeuvre my case up there and the changing area was simply a narrow passage with others trying to go backwards and forwards.
However this was the only black mark I could see in my holiday experience. I certainly mean to return to the Colony in the future.

Room Tip: I was in a room facing the main street and I can't say the traffic bothered me. Sirens from ambu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ethel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony hotel.
Your kind words regarding our staff, service and hotel is much appreciated.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 533 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Colony and we had a lovely time The hotel is in the heart of the town so we can walk everywhere Lovely breakfast and the evening buffet was excellent. The roof terrace is great with thick comfortable mattresses on the sun beds Our request for a special room was granted we hope to visit again soon and would not consider any other hotel in Kyrinia

Room Tip: Try for a room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dientje v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was lovely to see you again for the third time in our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us once again.

We appreciate your time and the positive remarks you have written on Trip Advisor regarding our hotel and staff. Comments like these always make us proud of the work we do and our guest’s feedback is always so important to us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned yesterday from the Colony and have come back impressed. The staff are one of their biggest assets and will do anything for you when asked and sometimes when not even asked. They look to help and will approach if you look as if you need assistance. We asked to move rooms-due to circumstances beyond the hotels control-and were promptly shown 5 rooms to choose from and had all of our bags taken down by concierge and new keys presented whilst we had a drink in the bar. All the time the staff had a smile on their face- no hassle at all. Breakfast is decent-but not amazing-evening buffet style dinner like wise. Just a short walk down to the harbour where there are loads of good cafes and restaurants and the hotel itself is really imposing and grand-inside and out. The 4th floor outside pool is a must see and the terrace allows magnificent mountain side views. Once again, if you value personal, warm and friendly service I can't see how you can get better. Is it a true 5 star hotel in my view? Well, I would have expected tea/coffee facilities in the room and maybe more attentive roof top bar staff-they never really came round asking if you wanted a fresh drink. Apart from that-an all round excellent holiday. (my personal tip is to hire a car also-£20 day delivered/collected to/from the hotel)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our hotel.
Comments like these always make us proud of the work we do and our guest’s feedback is always so important to us.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Accomodation was really nice, clean & comfortable. Food was tasty (great eggs for breakfast). Cocktails were also yummy (and strong!) and we loved lounging by the pool on the roof. The hotel has good views of the sea, Kyrenia castle and old harbour - as well as a scenic backdrop of the 'Five Finger' mountains. It also has a reasonable gym and spa/massage facilities. I had a 'Classic' massage, which was 'OK'.

Service could have been better, e.g. if ever we wanted a drink by the pool we had to proactively seek out the bar staff, when asking the concierge to book us a table it took us several attempts – and whilst eating our breakfast one morning, a waiter showed his sore knuckles which he said he’d got after punching a wall. A bit bizarre.
Also, on the Saturday night the hotel hosted a private party on the roof (not for hotel guests). This resulted in very loud, 'thumping' music until about 1am - which meant it was hard to get relax/sleep. I spoke to reception about this and they advised that it is fairly common for them to do this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest;

Firstly, thank you for having chosen The Colony hotel and taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay in our hotel. Most of our guests are very happy with the 5 star service and facilities which we offer, as you will see from many of the other reviews.
We pride ourselves on our quality of service and are always disappointed when a guest leaves unhappy.
We hope that the points you mentioned will not deter you from visiting us again.

Sincerely ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

How lovely is The Colony. The decor could be with a bit of an update but the roof terrace in a lovely spring night is really magic. I loved the screening of the of the town so when you sit by the pool you have this "infinity" view of the sea. Had dinner in one of the restaurants of the hotel and the food unfortunately was terrible as the wine... Maybe just a bad choice that doesn't change my view of the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Travelaround59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest;

Firstly, thank you for having chosen The Colony hotel and taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry that you had some bad experiences with the food and wine in our restaurant.
We pride ourselves on our quality of service and are always disappointed when a guest leaves unhappy.
We hope that the point you mentioned will not deter you from visiting us again. We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I visited Cyprus many years ago when it was impossible to travel to the north from the south. Now that the border is open, northern Cyprus is a must for any visitor. I found the people friendly and extremely helpful. Stayed at this hotel for about four nights when the apartments we had been offered originally were damp and the electrics not working. The rooms were excellent as was the service. What I particularly loved was the roof terrace with the most amazing view of the mountains and the magical sound of the mosque echoing around the area. The town is lovely too. Lots of harbour restaurants offering mezze meals for a good price. Lots of shops too.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook car park or street... so can't recommend. But still worth a visit as the roof ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely thoughts on our hotel.
We are extremely happy and proud that you enjoyed your stay with us.
All of your comments are greatly valued by us and we hope to see you again in the future at The Colony Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A lovely hotel right in the heart of Kyrenia. We had a second floor room with a balcony and although it overlooked the main road, once the doors were closed, we weren't bothered by any noise. The only problem we had was with the air conditioning, which didn't work particularly well. After two requests to reception it was improved, but still loud. They were only too happy to arrange car hire for us for a couple of days, but everywhere else we wanted to go was within walking distance.
We also made use of the Spa and Pool and both were excellent.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.
We had a lovely surprise on our first night, to come back to our room to find champagne, petit fours and fruit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony hotel and for taking the time to write your lovely thoughts on our hotel.
We are extremely happy and proud that you enjoyed your stay with us.
All of your comments are greatly valued by us and we looking forward to see you and your friends in the future at The Colony Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
0.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
468 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#1 of 30 in Kyrenia
437 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
76 reviews
5.4 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arkin Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arkin Colony Hotel

Address: Ecevit Caddesi Girne - TRNC | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus (Formerly The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Casino Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: $94 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arkin Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Kyrenia, The Arkin Colony Hotel lies between the mountains of North Cyprus and the timeless blue Mediterranean Sea. Architecturally blending the colonial style of the island's past with the glory of the Ottoman era, The hotel is a haven of tranquillity and opulence amidst the bustle of this busy town and harbour. With a total of 90 rooms and suites, The Arkin Colony is justly proud of its reputation for stylish elegance and comfort in its surroundings, and attention to detail in its customer care. To stay here is to experience something special in the world of hospitality, and you know you deserve it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your The Arkin Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing