We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel worth staying at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Arkin Colony Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a hotel worth staying at”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Today returned from a stay at the Colony Hotel Kyrenia. Saw the trip advisor award proudly displayed there. I can only say I would agree its staff are very helpful whether it be with suggestions for places to visit or just answering queries. We felt we had a problem with the noise level of this hotel on the Saturday night of our stay. A private party was being hosted in the 4th floor restaurant/bar. The noise was to us unbearable. HOWEVER when we complained the Manager handled our complaint in an exemplary manner.
We would have no hesitation in staying there again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: check if party being hosted on a satuday night and request a quite room, if this is confirmed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avrilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony hotel.
Your kind words regarding our staff and service is much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    151
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
96
254
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We e-mailed the hotel directly and got a rate of €100 per night, B&B in one of their standard club rooms (it would have been €130 with dinner added) We booked in for 2 nights.
We were allocated room 105, which is at the front of the hotel, with a small balcony, overlooking the petrol station - none of which was a problem, when the patio doors are shut and the thick curtains are drawn, there isn`t very much noise even though it`s a main road. The sun streaming into the bedroom was lovely on a chilly February morning.
The public areas of the hotel are lovely, airy and fresh and what we would expect of a 5 star hotel. The staff are helpful and friendly and there are plenty of them around when you need them. The spa area is lovely, with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi included in the room rate. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of fresh fruit, bread, meats or scrambled egg, bacon and sausage. I`m sure everyone could find something there. The blackcurrant yoghurt was particularly delicious. We were delighted when on my husband`s Birthday, two members of staff turned up at the room with a birthday cake for him ! Those are the kinds of touches that make us want to return.
If I wanted to be overly picky - there was a hole in the door that had been bodged over and painted and one of the bedside lights only worked when the hallway light was on, and there was only a shower mixer tap over the bath, which both myself and hubby had trouble getting to the right temperature and we ordered a sandwich at the roof top bar and goodness knows what was in it, but it wasn`t what we ordered and finally, we had to have our room entry cards re-swiped twice by reception as they wouldn`t work.
I also wish they would supply tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, I know there is room service, but it`s nice to make your own cuppa when you wake up, or a nice cup of tea before bed. They could charge me extra for it - but I like to make it myself !
We would definitely return, hopefully in the summer to make the most of the rooftop bar and pool.

Room Tip: Room 105 was at the front, (beside the flagpoles) with a small balcony, and was sunny in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony Hotel.
We appreciate your time and the positive remarks you have written on Trip Advisor regarding our hotel and staff. Comments like these always make us proud of the work we do and our guest’s feedback is always so important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We all know that a good massage given by experienced hands is the full stop of a stressful day. I can't afford a weekly massage but I try my best to have one once a month. I try different spas just to see where I can get the best massage in Cyprus.
I tried Colony Hotel Spa a couple days ago. The lady who gave me the massage was really good. But the atmosphere was not appealing at all. Normally I go an hour before the appointment time to use the facilities like the sauna and steam room. Or drinking herbal tea, relaxing on the beds. In short to enjoy the atmosphere in the candle lights to help me relax.
Unfortunately Colony Hotel Spa has no atmosphere at all. The massage room was just ordinary. It had no special effects at all. It was also cold in every sense. They didnt even turn on the airconditioner. At that moment I thanked myself for not feeling like using the sauna and the steam room and taking a shower before the massage. Otherwise I would freeze in the massage room. The music they chose during the massage was not suitable either. They put the cd of Pavarrotti which made my heart beats change all the time according to the rythm of the songs. You need a smooth music during the massage. Your heart beats shouldnt change.
When the massage finished, I left the spa without taking a shower. I didnt feel like it. I just wanted to leave.
Colony Hotel Spa needs an experienced spa manager. Other wise it will never appeal to any one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oya_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind interest in our hotel. We appreciate your positive comment regarding our personnel.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy some aspects of your visit here at The Colony Spa. Most of our guests are very happy with the 5 star service and facilities which we offer, as you will see from many of the other reviews.

We hope that the points you mentioned will not deter you from visiting us again. We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Tried Moussaka twice but eggplant was raw then mixed grill was an old reheated overcooked disaster.The Casino staff was accommodating and relaxing.Lobby bar was exceptional.
...........................................................................................................................................

Room Tip: 2nd floor near casino very convenient. far from elevator and lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JERSEYYOGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest;

Firstly, thank you for having chosen The Colony hotel and taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you had some bad experiences with the food which made in our Casino kitchen. We pride ourselves on our quality of service and are always disappointed when a guest leaves unhappy. We appreciate your comments and they have all been taken on board and will be discussed with casino management.

Sincerely ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel pool was a great relaxing place to be. situated on the roof with a bar service and cooloing breeze. The spar and gym area also boasted massage, sauna and jacuzzi facilities.
The breakfast was a self service affair but the selection was second to none with very attentive staff.
The rooms were very clean and well appointed, all maids very friendly and helpfull.
On room selection they are not the best for views unless on the upper floors, however selecting an upper floor could lead to noise from the occasional weding party on the roof terrace, the front of the hotel face a petrol station our room was to the rear facing the hills in land.
Lots of little shops to browse arround and plenty of places to eat. The place we would recomend was across the road from the Colony called The House.
The harbour side was vey picturesque but a more expensive place to sit and eat.
The village its self is not a beach holiday but we were more than satisfied with the pool at the hotel.
All in all we had a lovely holiday, we do not go back to places as a rule but this may well get a second visit.

Room Tip: On room selection they are not the best for views unless on the upper floors, however selecting an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ayesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Guest Relations Manager at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony Hotel and taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words regarding our staff and service is much appreciated.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely hotel. It's the things you don't need to do that make it so good. IE: The light bulbs and door locks and remote controls and safes and batteries and curtains always do what they're supposed to. You don't spend time at reception explaining that they don't work. There are plenty of coathangers, pillows, blankets, slippers, dressing gowns etc; The maids don't wake you up before dawn to clean the room. The toiletries are replaced as you use them. Breakfast is always there and good. Staff everywhere lovely. Helpful and informative. No stress. That's what I want.
We were booked in in record time. Bags in the room straight away. Room lovely with good lighting plenty of space (as usual), we were lucky enough to get a balcony (again) too. Not sure how I would be without one. We love the morning sun and people watching from the balcony.
The location is superb. Very stylish hotel. Unlike the sister hotel at Palm Beach the casino doesn't interfere with the hotel and there's lots of internal amenity space.
Had a couple of evening buffet meals. Nothing wrong with them. Suits us fine.
If I could plonk it on the beach I'd live there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank squeakgonemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely thoughts on our hotel.

We are extremely happy and proud that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All of your comments are greatly valued by us and we hope to see you again in the future at The Colony Hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having just returned from 7 Great days in Kyrenia, at the Colony Hotel , go there its lovely , great rooms, great service, good food , and the view from the pool is to die for . 41 YEARS since our last visit to Kyrenia , it is still just as good but bigger.

Room Tip: Have a balcony for the fun of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stouffer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Arkin Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony hotel.
Your kind words regarding our staff, service and food is much appreciated.
Comments like these always make us proud of the work we do and our guest’s feedback is always so important to us.

We will be glad to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again this year.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
0.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,143 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
5.4 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
311 reviews
8.3 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arkin Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arkin Colony Hotel

Property: The Arkin Colony Hotel
Address: Ecevit Caddesi Girne - TRNC | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus (Formerly The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Casino Hotel in Kyrenia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arkin Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Kyrenia, The Arkin Colony Hotel lies between the mountains of North Cyprus and the timeless blue Mediterranean Sea. Architecturally blending the colonial style of the island's past with the glory of the Ottoman era, The hotel is a haven of tranquillity and opulence amidst the bustle of this busy town and harbour. With a total of 90 rooms and suites, The Arkin Colony is justly proud of its reputation for stylish elegance and comfort in its surroundings, and attention to detail in its customer care. To stay here is to experience something special in the world of hospitality, and you know you deserve it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your The Arkin Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing