We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't have to try hard”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Room given on arrival dull,stuffy, cold and in need of update. Showers next morning flooded the bathroom. Turned out they new that silicon around bath was leaking but put us in the room anyway as they did not have another one (maybe they should not have sold it to us). Were moved to another room after waiting for it to be ready for 2 hours (and would have waited longer if we had not asked). There was no apology at all. New room was ok, but mattress was not very comfortable and shower temperature variable.
Breakfast was ok, but on New Years morning was removed from under our noses by 10am as on any other day (would have been nice to have it a little more relaxed on that day).
Reason for two stars rather than one is the indoor swimming pool with jacuzzi, which was really nice. Also outside facilities are attractive - shame about the rest. Not recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helmon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for The Ship Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 527 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We took advantage of a 3 day Christmas break offer at the Ship this year. Welcome was good, convenient parking. We had a garden room which was pleasant but cold & damp when we arrived. We found duvets in the cupboard but they had not been aired and smelt musty. However using the air-conditioning on the heat setting solved this.

The hotel was busy with mostly British visitors who were very friendly. The staff spoke good English.

We were on half board. Food was plentiful, some really good, some not so good. It was mainly an international menu and we felt it was a shame that no local cuisine was evident. There was a good choice of cooked and cold food for breakfast with very nice bread.

We were disappointed by the Christmas dinner (supplement was charged). The salmon starter and pate were nice. We chose turkey with trimmings for the main. The turkey was cooked but the vegetables were hard and undercooked. For the rest, I think the chef needs lessons from someone British on how to roast potatoes, make mince pies and cook a Christmas pudding. I was also disappointed that the only sugar-free drinks available were water or diet Pepsi (which they said was Coke!). I do not appreciate being obliged to drink water all Christmas!

The main disappointment was the lack of Christmas - The hotel was decorated and there was entertainment on Christmas night but only one Christmassy song was played all evening. I hadn't realised that Northern Cyprus is predominantly Muslim and does not generally celebrate Christmas. As we had booked a Christmas special offer we expected I expected more than just a passing nod to Christmas this.

That being said, the hotel is conveniently positioned close to the centre of Kyrenia with local buses passing the door regularly. The staff are friendly and our break was not too expensive. I would stay at the Ship Inn again if I was in the area

Room Tip: We prefered the rooms around the pool to those on the first floor in the main hotel. Avoid rooms tha...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My first vist , will consider doing the same next Christmas . Very friendly staff the place is a bit dated but clean and very pleasant area you can overlook the pool or the mountains. If you do not like the set menu you can have the al a carte menu at a additional cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

TV upgrade since we last stayed with flat screens, with better reception. Used the indoor pool -due to season and it was always comfortably warm. As was said quirks- the menagerie, the old fashioned decor etc and the staff make it, with their team spirit and attention. New female Filipino staff- Ace and her partner were always cheery and worked non-stop to keep rooms and common areas clean and stocked. Availed myself of a massage this time, well worth it, with Romanian Adele. Handy for both Kyrenia and Lambousa direction without some of the bustle of Kyrenia. Would Rec. Cacao (on the left twds Kyrenia) for Italian style food incl. Pizza's and Amazing Icecreams , drinks and desserts as well as in opp. direction -near Chrystal Merit Casino , Kervans (Next to Kervansaray beach/bay) for their new Prawn Fajitas. Day Trip to Famagusta , Salamis et al with Yosef was extremely enjoyable, informative and VERY good value for money.
Room for Improvement : More changes/rotation needed to breakfast of heated food e.g. last time we had occ. mushrooms, fresh grapefruit, better sos I think and bacon? What about some female staff integrated into serving at tables etc? Sky channel in Rooms ?

Room Tip: 01 rooms are at the end -so more like apart-room with that bay window Xtra space
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickytweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed for 10 days at the ship and it was hard to fault for the price we payed. The hotel is kept clean and tidy at all times and the staff are very pleasant and nothing is to much trouble. We were bed and breakfarst and the breakfast was good the toaster was a bit slow but whats the rush. Transport to the town of Kerenia is easly reached from just outside the hotel and costs 2.5Tl.. The chinese across the road is good as is the krbab shop down oposit the turning for the American Uni. The pool at the hotel was a little chilli but a few brave souls had a dip but it was November to be fare. The indoor pool is wonderful and we had it to ourselves most of the time.
All in all a great stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hickiemoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We are just back from another wonderful stay at The Ship .We were well looked after as usual and it was lovely meeting up with the staff. This time we had the pleasure of the Filipino cleaners who did a wonderful job keeping the place clean. It was good to see people who we had met there before as many like us return each year .If you are looking for a friendly Hotel this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HeatherHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a great hotel. Its not cheap but its fantastic. We stayed in a junior suite and possibly one of the best rooms we've ever had. Unbelievably spacious, huge bathroom and great decor. We had afternoon tea that was also excellent. What makes this hotel are the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, they constantly seek to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We spent each night in the drawing room and library bars with the honesty box. Absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
5.7 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#4 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,175 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
440 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
352 reviews
6.8 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Girne-Karaoglanoglu Road | Via Mersin 10 Turkey, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#5 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: $46 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive holiday complex in a tranquil setting. Splendid views of the Kyrenia Hills, directly below St.Hilarion Castle. owned and run by Anglo/Cypriot family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Kyrenia
Ship Hotel Kyrenia
The Ship Inn Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing