We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We are just back from another wonderful stay at The Ship .We were well looked after as usual and it was lovely meeting up with the staff. This time we had the pleasure of the Filipino cleaners who did a wonderful job keeping the place clean. It was good to see people who we had met there before as many like us return each year .If you are looking for a friendly Hotel this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HeatherHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 536 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a great hotel. Its not cheap but its fantastic. We stayed in a junior suite and possibly one of the best rooms we've ever had. Unbelievably spacious, huge bathroom and great decor. We had afternoon tea that was also excellent. What makes this hotel are the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, they constantly seek to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We spent each night in the drawing room and library bars with the honesty box. Absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at the Ship Inn for 3 weeks returning on the 20th November and I must say I really enjoyed it, the hotel is friendly, the staff were very helpful and the food was acceptable, a special mention must go to Zubi the resteraunt manager he worked tirelessly keeping the guests happy, the hotel was very clean and has just a nice feel about the place.
The pool area was very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds available and hotel towels after 10am, there is a sauna, gym and jacusi at the hotel, there is a small charge for using the sauna though.
It's a good half hour walk to the harbour area of Kyrenia but the hotel is on a main route and you wont be waiting too long for a dolmus which will take you to the centre of Kyrenia with it's shops and cafe's for 2 lire, all in all a very good value for money hotel and I would consider returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbergeleGruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just returned from 3 weeks staying in the Ship Inn, what a lovely friendly hotel, the staff were marvellous, extremely friendly and very helpful, especially Zubi the restaurant manager, Azeel who always had a smile on his face, Kamazan who is always cheerful and who kept the bar open for us when we had a cracking thunderstorm, we eventually paddled to our rooms at 1.30 am and Ahmet who made us laugh. The rooms are big enough and cleaned daily, the Filipino girls do a very good job.The safe and the air conditioning is free, unusual in most hotels now. There is an indoor pool which opened on November 1st, the day after we arrived, it wasn't used much but it is an asset.
The pool is lovely although quite cold and it is surrounded by pretty well kept gardens with chickens (and cats) running around, there are other caged birds to look at.
Although just off the main road, it is very easy to get into Kyrenia centre, as soon as you walk towards the road, if a Dolmus is passing it will toot its horn and stop, we never had to wait longer than 5 minutes.
There is live music on a Thursday night, the Gypsy brothers, who were quite good.
The food is acceptable, not enough meat for my husbands liking but you couldn't fault it. They varied the menu as much as possible and you can also eat from the a la carte menu at an extra cost. Wifi is free in reception and also at the pool bar.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have views over the mountains and St Hilarion Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie21NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been here for 9 nights in Nov 2013 and have been pleased with my stay here.

It has it's quirks as others have mentioned, but a few chickens and cats running about isn't a big deal in my opinion.

The staff and management are friendly and efficient.

The food is perfectly acceptable and they do make attempts to vary things for you.

I stayed in room 406 which was fine. They have employed new Filipino cleaning staff and needless to say I doubt they'll go on strike.

As regards location, you can cross the road and wait a few mins for a Dolmus to take you into town - the city centre can take less than 10 mins if there is no traffic and minimal pick ups, so hardly in the sticks.


It makes me laugh sometimes when I read reviews on here, if you want everything to be exactly the same as in England stay in England lol!!

I'm staying in the TRNC for a few months after leaving here, and it does have it's quirks, but it's a great place so just enjoy it!!

Hope that helps.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank ShaunMadden1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here recently for 7 nights and we had a fantastic time! The staff here were extremely friendly and made us feel truly at home! The food here was also excellent & we also enjoyed the evening entertainment which was a added bonus. The hotel grounds are also very pretty and well kept. Our stay here was very relaxing and we will certainly be returning, in fact we have booked again to stay this christmas and new year!

Room Tip: Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackharrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 great nights. Lovely hotel. Beautiful pool. Staff can't do enough for guests. Excellent menu and food. Some great evening entertainment. We used the hotels transfer service to and from Larnaca. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Will definitely be going back

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank mattfishr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
5.7 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
355 reviews
6.8 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Girne-Karaoglanoglu Road | Via Mersin 10 Turkey, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: $40 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive holiday complex in a tranquil setting. Splendid views of the Kyrenia Hills, directly below St.Hilarion Castle. owned and run by Anglo/Cypriot family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Kyrenia
Ship Hotel Kyrenia
The Ship Inn Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing