We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Cyprus and THE SHIP in Kyrenia”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“North Cyprus and THE SHIP in Kyrenia”
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We are a family of 4. We have been looking hard to find a suitable place to stay from Last Christmas. We have searched the Internet and looked various National newspapers .We wanted to chose our first holiday together as a whole family, somewhere that we had been not to before. We made a choice and chose North Cyprus and THE SHIP in Kyrenia.This was in 2005 – we have been going there every year and we are going again in July 2008


The complex is good and the 2 bedroom villas fine. We have the same villa (No. 201) - we go self catering –not that we do much cooking, but the excellent open space ground floor area with a fully fitted kitchenette with all amenities and mod cons are there – in case. The bedrooms are air-conditioned and the spacious sitting room has ceiling fans. The villa is only few yards away from the large swimming pool.

The facilities are excellent - 2 great pools (one indoor – not heated and one outdoor), Fitness Room, table tennis, Billiard table, tennis, very very good BRITISH BAR and staff out of this world.

The main restaurant food is one of the best in the area (these are also mentioned in THE ROUGH GUIDE 2008 Edition). The menu is wide and the quality is of high standard. The number of people dining there (many guests from outside also use the restaurant) reflects the popularity of this place.

We have arranged our own flights from BRISTOL to LARNACA. The HOTEL will pick us up by a high-class air conditioned (MERCEDES) vehicle. By doing this we have a saved around £50/person
We understand the whole place has been thoroughly totally refurbished (not that it needed!) and the new traffic arrangement in the area will make the location even more attractive.
We are really looking forward to going to the NORTH CYPRUS and to all our friends at the SHIP. We cannot wait!


Best Regards,
Sedat

  • Liked — +A+ Perfect service
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SEDAT35SEDAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    211
    53
    16
    3
See reviews for
78
255
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
261 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We travelled in July 2007. On the island for 3 weeks, 8 days at the ship inn and the remainder with family and at the vouni palace in kyrenia.

The hotel is very popular, basic, clean and noisy. Found it difficult to relax at the pool - too many screaming children and silly adults who throw basketballs around the pool - hitting people who are sunbathing.

Pool was clean but difficult to get a sunbed after 10 am.

We were on a half board basis - breakfast was disgusting - i only ever had a slide of bread/toast. Never ate from the half board menu wasn't very nice but the a la carte menu was very nice. Lunch was cheap and staff were very nice.

The tempertaure was almost unbearable outside but our room did have air conditioning - a must in cyprus!

The bill for 2 people: 8 days half board, lunch and drinks every day & evenings, and 2 nights from the a la carte menu - was about £250/280.... I thought that they had made a mistake!

The hotel was basic when compared to other hotels on the island but this was reflected in the price!

I wouldn't go back to the Ship Inn in July as it was just too busy/noisy. October is apparently a better time.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — noise - this was due to other tourists not the hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

The hotel is pleasant, and comfotable if you are in the new block, away from the main road. The weather was very hot -an unbelievable 43 with 90-95% humidity! The main problem was that along with several other guests I contacted an ear infection after using the outdoor pool. The treatment cost £100 from the local Doc, who gave an injection, tabs, cream and drops! The management did not apologuise, or admit their fault; but by the next day the pool was dramatically "chlorined". So be warned.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank happy-roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

This Hotel is situated on the main road to Kyrenia from Nicosia and unfortunately the traffic has grown in proportion to the over development that is ongoing. Therefore if you get a room near to the road, expect about 5 hours sleep a night, maybe more on Sunday! However, the Hotel in the main is a very good 3 Star one, with a good, large swimming pool and tennis courts.

The Restaurant is certainly well appointed and although I declined evening meals, it was always quite full of diners. I had booked on a B&B basis and the buffet breakfast was very acceptable. The Rooms were fine and well maintained and one problem I had with a light was fixed within a very acceptable timescale.

Management and staff were friendly and a wholly relaxed atmosphere was prevalent throughout. I couldn't face the location again, but if I had to, I would stay at this hotel again. It is worth adding a number of expatriates frequent this hotel because of it's good standard and also for the limited entertainment it provides.

  • Liked — the above average standard
  • Disliked — road traffic noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdnutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saffron walden essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

the ship hotel is small and very friendly. The focal meeting place is the pool!We were there in september and the temperature was 30/34c every day so the pool was the sensible place to be!Good pool bar and lunchtime menu in the pool bar eating area.
Most people are bed/breakfast and the a la carte menu was good. Eating on the terrace at night was great. Our room faced the mountains, the views were spectacular.Hotel is very clean and all the staff very helpful. I had forgotten my hairdrier, borrowed one at no charge for the fortnight. As I said in my review with photos, the only drawback is the road past the hotel which is very fast. No noise from this in the hotel but makes walking a bit hazardous. This was our second visit and we would return

Helpful?
2 Thank mallorcagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

The Ship Inn lies on the busy main road to the west of Kyrenia, a road also runs along the side and rear of the property used by construction traffic for the numerous villas under construction on the slopes of the Kyrenia mountains. Our room was on the third floor(no lift) of the newest block at the rear of the property. Our small balcony had a super view of the mountains but got all the afternoon sun and directly overlooked the side road, with speed humps which shook up the cement mixers! So no sitting out. The room was furnished with dark chipped furniture, the bedspread was faded as were the curtains which had shrunk in the wash. The bathroom was ok except for the 3rd world sanitary arrangements which required you to put used toilet paper in a bin beside the loo. Towels were threadbare, holed or stained and were only changed if you put them in the bath.
The pool and grounds were pretty and well maintained but the Ship is for early risers as by 7.30 virtually all the sun beds around the pool had been "reserved" with towels. I even saw sun umbrellas being reserved, a first for me!
We had one evening meal at the Ship, dinner is served on an unattractive patio near the main road, the food was fine and reasonably priced. Breakfast is served inside in the main bar area and is unexciting especially the watery orange and grapefruit squash made from powder and labelled as juice, this is in the island that produces the real thing! Lunch is served in an open sided "shed" by the pool, chips with everything and HP the condiment of choice.
Having read the reports I was disappointed - just The Queen Vic in the sun.

  • Liked — The grounds and gardens
  • Disliked — Sanitary arrangements and scramble for pool beds
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiltshiremoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Returned from the Ship Inn on July 13th after two weeks of total relaxation. We were part of a party of 19 staying in the two bedroom villas. I have nothing but praise for the Ship Inn, the staff, the pool area, the pool side bar and restaurant and everything to do with our holiday. This was our third stay in the Ship and each holiday has been better than the last. The ship have both hotel bedrooms, six two bedroom villas and garden rooms. We have stayed in all and had no problems with any of them and were cleaned everyday. The pool is crystal clear and clean though could be a bit deep for non swimmers but there is a children's pool. Food in the night time restaurant is very good but there is a huge choice of top quality restaurants within 10 Min's taxi in either the harbor area or surrounding areas. All in all if you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday Kyrenia is the place to go and the ship is the place to stay.

Anybody who stayed in the Ship at the same time as us I hope our enjoyment did not spoil yours

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Irish26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 31 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
2.2 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 31 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#19 of 31 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#5 of 31 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Girne-Karaoglanoglu Road | Via Mersin 10 Turkey, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#5 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive holiday complex in a tranquil setting. Splendid views of the Kyrenia Hills, directly below St.Hilarion Castle. owned and run by Anglo/Cypriot family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, GoNorthCyprus and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Kyrenia
Ship Hotel Kyrenia
The Ship Inn Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing