We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Break”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our first trip to Cyprus, and we weren't sure what to expect. We don't normally go away in July as we find the weather too hot, and with the temperature touching 40 c while we were there, it not surprising we did little else except float in the pool, or laze under one of the olive trees around the pool edge and read books.
There is nothing fancy in this hotel, small and simple, with very helpful and curteous staff, the meals enjoyable and certainly better than the fare we normally encounter in the Canaries.
The only entertainment supplied 2 nights a week is sadly disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Middle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 549 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

My boyfriend and i stayed here for a week, 6th -13th July. We had a standard hotel room and stayed on a BB& lunch deal, it’s a long review but I hope detailed…

There was a mixture of people staying, young, old, singles, couples, children…some people return here year after year, i can see why.....but i wont be going back.

Hotel / room –
The room was small, but has what you need and has good air conditioning unit. Our toilet was a bit rocky, and they ask you to put your used toilet roll in a bin and not down the loo (we didn’t, oops). The sink and toothbrush holder had toothpaste remaining from people in before us and the shower was rubbish!! The bed wasn’t too comfy but then again I have a memory foam mattress at home, and the boyfriend didn’t have any complaints. The benefit of a smaller hotel room means a quiet balcony with a view of the mountains which was lovely, especially at night when it’s all lit up.
The hotel advertised a strict policy on not allowing to eat or drink items that were purchased off site, however they were charging 3.5TL for bottled water when the supermarket 5 minutes’ walk away sold it for 1, so most people just brought that back in their bags. A large beer is 6TL each, the local brew is Effes, and was rather nice!
Good location, the hotel is in a quiet area but is only a 5 minute bus drive away 2.5 TL pp, a 12 TL taxi drive away, and if you fancy it in the evening a 30 minute walk, we did this a few times coming home (in flats!!) wouldn’t even attempt it during the day as its way too hot…
The pool - Sun umbrella’s disappeared very early in the morning, with most of the loungers reserved by 9am. At the end of the week there weren’t enough loungers for people staying at the hotel, which could be because there simply wasn’t enough room to have every customer sun bathing.
Entertainment – Twice there was entertainment, a Greek night which was a guitarist / singer, we only caught the last of on our return from the harbour, the atmosphere wasn’t great and we didn’t stay for long. There was another singer on the Tuesday night that we heard on our way out for tea, that wasn’t great either and it didn’t get great reviews from people who were there.
The pool, and grounds and rooms are very clean.
The food –
We only ate there for the first night because our flight was delayed so we got there at around 1130pm. It wasn’t great and we soon found out the night after at the harbour that there is better out there for pretty much the same price, with MUCH better scenery and atmosphere.
We found out the day after that BB& Lunch consists of a very limited cold & hot food buffet for breakfast, scrambled egg, boiled egg, beans, some fake pepperami style sausage, some warm fruit cereal and warm milk, cheese, olives. Turkish coffee and once it even featured chips….
Lunch was a choice of 3 dishes, usually a toasty, usually a salad and then something authentic to the Mediterranean, one day a moussaka, one day a pasta…etc however these were always ‘sold’ out first. There was an additional snack menu at an extra cost.
We heard from other people on full board that the evening meal was also a choice of 3 meals, again though there were additional at an extra cost. There are a few restaurants nearby, a Chinese restaurant over the road, we didn’t try it but saw a few people going in each night.
If you come out and turn left, 10 mins walk away you have a burger joint, very similar to burger king we didn’t eat there either but it always had families inside.
Just passed the burger place was Morellis, we ate there (outside) twice as it was delicious! If you like soft goats cheese you have to try there starter! And there tandoori shish was fantastic! The chef comes out to meet you and the waiter is so nice and authentic! If we’d have eaten there on our first night I imagine we would have gone back 3- 4 times!
Jasheens is an Indian a little further up from Morellis, this was nice too! Chicken chat starter wasn’t up to much but everything else was lovely.
Both of these were very reasonably priced, I think working out around £30 - £40 for 2 courses and beers.
We ate at the harbour for 3 nights, a Mexican literally on the sea edge, had an amazing view and was probably the cheapest meal we had, it was good but they played it safe with the spice level so if you like it Mexican spicy, let them know!
We ate the restaurant closest to the castle on the harbour, this was really really nice and they didn’t harass you as much as the other restaurants when walking past, their chicken Kiev was really nice!!
The Italian, where you can sit on an upstairs veranda, my least favourite meal of all and the most expensive – Typical!!!!

Staff – Very attentive and there’s always someone there to help.
There are tours available to see the local sights, these range from £20 - £35 pp the travel rep arranged for us to have a car for 3 days which worked out at £60, we then put about £30 petrol in, we intended on going everywhere ourselves but the rep wasn’t able to tell us where the sites where and when we visited the tourist info centre at Kyrenia castle we left with a very basic tourist map which was no help, we went back but the woman there was so unhelpful she was bordering on being rude, so unhelpful! So we basically drove to where we thought they were and looked which meant we missed a lot! So make sure you research what you want to see and where everything is, unless you spend £20-£35 pp per trip.

Overall it was a very pleasant and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: i emailed the hotel to ask for a mountain view room after it was recommended on here, they got back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chelle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in the new self catering apartments this year at the ship and thought we'd write a review as we struggled to find a review about the apartments - plenty about the hotel rooms, but none about the apartments. We've stayed in the hotel before, but the apartments were, I have to say, better. There is a separate living/kitchen area which has no air-con but a ceiling fan, and a bedroom with air con. The balcony is absolutely enormous, with views of the sea, with a large table and 4 chairs plus umbrella provided. Much better than the tiny hotel balconies, plus you can have ice in your G&T while sitting out there! Lovely views of St Hilarion too from the rear balcony and windows. There are 3 flights of stairs to go up, and the apartments are a short walk from the pool area, across the car park. Maid service daily too.

The kitchen area has a double electric hob, fridge with ice box, microwave, couple of saucepans, frying pan, decent knives, bottle opener, cork screw but no tin opener. A hair drier was fitted in the bedroom while we were there - v heavy, and a long way from the mirror!

We preferred the apartments for a number of reasons - you're in no danger of being 'had' for food/drink in your rooms, like other reviews have stated; hotel breakfast was a bit odd and boring after a few days, and the lunch menu wasn't very good - tends to be nasty burgers and pizzas mainly. There's a fruit and veg shop opposite the apartments (so nice salad for lunch), and Lemar supermarket 10 mins down the road - my husband enjoyed going for a morning stroll for a loaf of bread and a paper. Bit hot for me, but he liked it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

myself and wife were at the ship inn which we booked through the owner tony in london everything was done by tony who booked our flights arranged our car hire hotel room and also our pick up from larnica airport it all went like a dream the hotel is a bit tired looking but the rooms were cleaned to a high standard everyday with new towels the staff were also very friendly and very helpful zobby and the head barman were so helpful while we were there also congratulations to zobby and his wife on there little girls birth our only gripe was the day we arrived we were givin a room i think the number was 411 when we got to the room it was so very small the bathroom door was hanging off also there was a really fowl smell i think from the drains below we had at this time just unpacked some of our clothes and thought what the hell its not like we would be in the room all the time but the smell really did get worse and what with the heat my wife said she could not take this smell for the 2 weeks we were going to be there so off we went to reception and told them about our problem they sorted out a new room for us 105 which was really nice much bigger and with a really nice bathroom only little problem was no one on reception asked us if we would like any help with our suitcases we are both in our 60s we had to bring our cases down 3 flights of stairs then walk through the garden past the swimming pool then into reception and then up another 2 flights of stairs and the reception staff just watched with not a hint of help in sight we felt that the reception staff were the only thing that let this really nice hotel dowm as i have stated the rest of the hotels staff wery really happy we eat at the hotel a few times the food was ok but the menu was the same every night and just got very boreing and we also thought quite exspensive for what we got now for the entertainment side of things there was a local singer who used to try and sing english songs like tom jones music if you know what i mean not his fault he was awful but at least he tried. it surely would be better if the dinners could here some turkish music while they eat and drank after all they are on holiday this was not only us but also other people who moaned about the singer and music now as for northen cyprus this was myself and wifes 1st visit the this part of cyprus the north we came really looking for what we thought would be a little bit of turkey but were we dissapointed the only way i can reall sum this place up is it really is nothing but one big building site everywhere you go cement mixers half finnished buildings myself and wife went from one end of northen cyprus the pan handle to the other over to famagusta then into nicosia and meny more places also right over 5 fingers mountan and everywhere you came to yes more building works going up im not going to bore you any more just to sum up we went into the local supermarket in kyrenia and guess what puka pies in the freezer this place is just for ex pats we went to guzelyurt for the day to see some ruins at a place called soli we stopped at a locat food place beside the sea it was a really nice setting anyway up comes the young waiter who we got talking to he had come from antalya in turkey in the last week or so he told us as soon as he could he was heading back to turkey as the turkish cypriot wery really un friendly he also could not belive every shop shuts around say 8 30 pm in the evening and he also found it to a very dirty place with quite a lot of rubbish around everywhere and like i stated this young fellow was from turkey not just like to add myself and wife have been to turkey 13 times stayed with many turkish people been from one end to the other and never have we seen anything like we saw in northen cyprus for a start in turkey you can shop till you drop eat the most wounderfull foods with lots of things to have see the most wounderfull sights bath on pure sandy beaches of which you dont have to pay for and last but not least meet the most friendly and heart warming people you will ever meet i work with a turkish guy and what he told me was when northern cypriot has got a problem all the people regard them selves as turkish but when the have got no problems they just become cypriot again please do not think i am being to unkind aboute northen cyprus im just letting people know how i found it maybe 20 years ago this would have been a nice place to go before the puka pie people came all i say is try it and see on a very last note zobby at the ship inn was telling us that he tried to buy a cot in kyrenia for his baby who was due and the shop told him it would cost 820tl he went home and found the self same cot in antalya which is in turkey for just over 400tl he then asked one of the guys he works with in the hotel who was going to antalya if he would not mind getting it for him which he did as i said turkey is half the price of northen cyprus

Room Tip: hotel good northen cyprus not so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reds008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We are currently staying at the ship in and location wise it's absolutely beautiful, although a little way away from most things!! But nothing a ride in a dolmus for 2.50 ytl or a taxi on tarrif 1 for 12 ytl! Taxis to kyrenia after 10pm (tariff 2) cost around 13 ytl so not much difference! The hotel is clean with average rooms consisting of a bed, bathroom wardrobe a couple of chairs a mini fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar which is expensive! Would suggest you go down to the bar!!

The currency is Turkish lira so dont get confused with the euro like I did! They have 3 pronged plugs so no need to bring adapters!

Reception is 24 hrs and as we took the half board option, we had breakfast and lunch, breakfast is buffet style with cheese, ham, bread, fruit and tomatoes and cucumber! There is also a choice of cereals and yogurt -and sausages, scrambled egg, beans, tea, coffee and juice!! And lunch is 3 different options per day, always something different!

If you come here you should not be disappointed! The only thing that let it all down was the fact that there are no direct flights here and you have to touch down in turkey before carrying onto ercan airport, so a 4.5 hr flight plus a 45 min wait in Antalya then a 45 minute flight to ercan! Enjoy and have fun in the 33 degree plus heat !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

First time my son, wife & myself have visited N.Cyprus we had 2 wks of sunshine to really chill out. we booked our holiday through Direct Traveller, great service and good price.
On arrival at the Ship hotel, our suitcases were taken up to our rooms while we checked in. We were given a card that had our room number written on it, this was to be used to charge any meals or drinks we had while staying at the hotel and, we then paid at the end of the holiday. We would have been more careful had we have used cash instead.
The holiday was booked as B&B with free lunch, to have a cooked english breakfast you have to pay for this useing ( the card) otherwise it was cold meats, rubber cheese, hard bread, lettuce & tomatoes all uncovered and flies abounding. In all fairness, you could order fried, poached or omlet at no extra cost and help yourself to baked beans, hotdog sausages,scrambled egg and the occasional tinned sliced mushrooms.
Lunch you are offered a choice of three meals from the list that was displayed each morning, on most occasions, we preffered to go for something from the main lunchtime menue and use (the card) all drinks during the day including lunch time go on (the card)
After 3 days of eating evening meals in the restaurant, we needed to look for more choice and better quality outside of the hotel. The menue didn't change throuout our stay and those meals we did have, were very poor.
Most of the staff were very pleasant and always said hello, Zubi the head waiter and, drinks waiter Yuri were first class. (Here we must congratulate Zubi and his wife on the birth of their daughter Beryl, born June 23rd.)
The beds in our room were some of the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on. It is time some money was spent to bring beds and rooms up to date, everywhere was looking a little tired.
Yes, we would go back there because of it's location and the friendliness of the staff but it would most deffinately be on room only basis and without (the card)

Room Tip: Ensure the aircon works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry01626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is a lovely hotel with beautiful gardens and a nice pool. The resturant was really nice and the food excellent and value for money. We booked this holiday as a last minute deal and you always worry what your going to get and after checking trip advisor we booked and all the good reviews were right, it really is a lovely friendly hotel with a family feel about it. My only critisim is that the storage in the rooms is poor, not enough draws or hangers but that my only moan. The hotel is quite away out from the town but the public transport is very good if you dont mind putting your life in their hands but it is cheap, the hotel does offer taxis and car hire which i would recommend as it really is far to hot to try and get any where walking and far cheaper than booking the trips. The beaches in kyrenia are poor and you have to pay to go on the private beaches but the sea is beautiful and clear and warm and i would really recommend a trip to Karpas where the beaches are really beautiful but it fair journey to get there but worth it and if you are as lucky as we were you will experience one of the most stunning sun sets i have ever seen that alone was worth the drive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 31 in Kyrenia
2,237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 31 in Kyrenia
474 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 31 in Kyrenia
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jasmine Court Hotel & Casino
2.9 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#1 of 31 in Kyrenia
438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Girne-Karaoglanoglu Road | Via Mersin 10 Turkey, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#5 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: $44 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive holiday complex in a tranquil setting. Splendid views of the Kyrenia Hills, directly below St.Hilarion Castle. owned and run by Anglo/Cypriot family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Kyrenia
Ship Hotel Kyrenia
The Ship Inn Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing