We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We are currently staying at the ship in and location wise it's absolutely beautiful, although a little way away from most things!! But nothing a ride in a dolmus for 2.50 ytl or a taxi on tarrif 1 for 12 ytl! Taxis to kyrenia after 10pm (tariff 2) cost around 13 ytl so not much difference! The hotel is clean with average rooms consisting of a bed, bathroom wardrobe a couple of chairs a mini fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar which is expensive! Would suggest you go down to the bar!!

The currency is Turkish lira so dont get confused with the euro like I did! They have 3 pronged plugs so no need to bring adapters!

Reception is 24 hrs and as we took the half board option, we had breakfast and lunch, breakfast is buffet style with cheese, ham, bread, fruit and tomatoes and cucumber! There is also a choice of cereals and yogurt -and sausages, scrambled egg, beans, tea, coffee and juice!! And lunch is 3 different options per day, always something different!

If you come here you should not be disappointed! The only thing that let it all down was the fact that there are no direct flights here and you have to touch down in turkey before carrying onto ercan airport, so a 4.5 hr flight plus a 45 min wait in Antalya then a 45 minute flight to ercan! Enjoy and have fun in the 33 degree plus heat !!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    219
    54
    17
    3
See reviews for
82
271
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

First time my son, wife & myself have visited N.Cyprus we had 2 wks of sunshine to really chill out. we booked our holiday through Direct Traveller, great service and good price.
On arrival at the Ship hotel, our suitcases were taken up to our rooms while we checked in. We were given a card that had our room number written on it, this was to be used to charge any meals or drinks we had while staying at the hotel and, we then paid at the end of the holiday. We would have been more careful had we have used cash instead.
The holiday was booked as B&B with free lunch, to have a cooked english breakfast you have to pay for this useing ( the card) otherwise it was cold meats, rubber cheese, hard bread, lettuce & tomatoes all uncovered and flies abounding. In all fairness, you could order fried, poached or omlet at no extra cost and help yourself to baked beans, hotdog sausages,scrambled egg and the occasional tinned sliced mushrooms.
Lunch you are offered a choice of three meals from the list that was displayed each morning, on most occasions, we preffered to go for something from the main lunchtime menue and use (the card) all drinks during the day including lunch time go on (the card)
After 3 days of eating evening meals in the restaurant, we needed to look for more choice and better quality outside of the hotel. The menue didn't change throuout our stay and those meals we did have, were very poor.
Most of the staff were very pleasant and always said hello, Zubi the head waiter and, drinks waiter Yuri were first class. (Here we must congratulate Zubi and his wife on the birth of their daughter Beryl, born June 23rd.)
The beds in our room were some of the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on. It is time some money was spent to bring beds and rooms up to date, everywhere was looking a little tired.
Yes, we would go back there because of it's location and the friendliness of the staff but it would most deffinately be on room only basis and without (the card)

Room Tip: Ensure the aircon works
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry01626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is a lovely hotel with beautiful gardens and a nice pool. The resturant was really nice and the food excellent and value for money. We booked this holiday as a last minute deal and you always worry what your going to get and after checking trip advisor we booked and all the good reviews were right, it really is a lovely friendly hotel with a family feel about it. My only critisim is that the storage in the rooms is poor, not enough draws or hangers but that my only moan. The hotel is quite away out from the town but the public transport is very good if you dont mind putting your life in their hands but it is cheap, the hotel does offer taxis and car hire which i would recommend as it really is far to hot to try and get any where walking and far cheaper than booking the trips. The beaches in kyrenia are poor and you have to pay to go on the private beaches but the sea is beautiful and clear and warm and i would really recommend a trip to Karpas where the beaches are really beautiful but it fair journey to get there but worth it and if you are as lucky as we were you will experience one of the most stunning sun sets i have ever seen that alone was worth the drive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We arrived late evening & were very tired after a long journey from the UK, we were greeted warmly with a speedy check-in. Our room although a little dated was cleaned with fresh towels every day. There was a good mix of age groups but definitely not the place to be if you want to live it up, which suited us! The backdrop of the mountains was quite something! We were on a full board basis and the food was good but not exceptional, but the service from Zooby (Head Waiter) and his team was excellent. We also hope by now that Zoobys wife has had the baby!!! We will definitely return to the ship Inn, the lazy days around the fab pool make it a great place to unwind and relax .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views overlooking the mountais
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patjh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My girlfriend and i spent one week here relaxing in the sun. This hotel is the ideal spot to slip away from the stresses of working life. However, there are three important things to point out: 1. The average age of the other guests is very high, but if you are looking for R&R this is not a problem. 2. Dinner can be rather hit and miss. 3. The WIFI area is rather small, the lobby and a small corner of the pool area are the only places with coverage. Breakfast and lunch are perfectly fine and with a regular and very amusing bus service the amazing Escape Beach is only ten minutes away. If you are looking to chill out by the pool and not be bothered by rowdy late teens early twenties, this place is for you. The book exchange counter in the section i was staying in was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlombardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Just got back from a weeks holiday at the Ship Inn and wish I was still there! We stayed in the new annex of the hotel but as it's a small complex it was only a couple of hundred yards to the main part. The room was very clean and unlike a lot of places we've stayed, very well lit so there was no problem seeing when I was getting ready to go out.
We stayed half board and there was a very good choice of food for breakfast and the evening meal. The staff were fantastic, especially Zube the head waiter and Nuri who I'm guessing was the head barman. They made a point of introducing themselves the 1st night and always greeted us by name. Another waiter (i don't know what his name was though!) was also very cheerful, he ALWAYS had a smile on his face. I must give a quick mention to the Direct Traveller rep, even though we booked direct through the hotel he was always willing to give a hand with directions etc when we needed them.
The pool is a good size and if you're a sun-worshipper there were plenty of beds.
We hired a ford focus from the hotel at a good price of £18 a day and if you want to see the island you'll definitely need one. We went to the Salamis ruins which is a facinating site and also Famagusta. If you do go to Famagusta, one place you have to go into is Peteks Patisserie, even if its' just to have a look, the cakes, sweets and pastries are unbelievable!
Other foodie places you need to try: Niazis restaurant in Kyrenia harbour, fantastic for a Turkish kebab( 35TL per person) and the African Queen. We went on the curry cruise. It cost £20 each but was definitely worth it!
There's nothing really in the way of entertainment on the evening, a singer on 2 nights, but for a peaceful holiday, it's a brilliant place to go.
personally, I can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirasmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Just come back from a week at the Ship. I want to write a balanced review as I feel that many of the comments on here paint an overly-glorified picture of the hotel.
Positives: room was clean and quite spacious, if dated. Air conditioning, although noisy, worked well. Plenty of hot water, tea and coffee facilities, although water from the tap is revolting. The pool area was adequate, with plenty of room for lounging about. Towels are provided for swimming. Food at the pool bar was good, and the restaurant a la carte menu was also fine. We ate there twice. Chinese restaurant opposite is calmer and more civilised, however, although a bit pricey.
Now for the negatives.
Many people on here rave about the service and attention to detail, which we just didn't see. Reception staff (except for the nice man who is on in the evenings) seemed put out when we asked for anything. We wanted to check out the sauna, asked for it to be switched on (you have to wait 15 mins and pay) and it wasn't done. It then turned out that there was a problem with the electrics in that part of the building, which nobody seemed bothered about. So we gave up. Don't bother trying to use it. Gym equipment dates from 1850 and doesn't work, although I guess most people don't go on holiday to exercise anyway. Indoor pool and jacuzzi are freezing. There was building work at 9am (banging and drilling), and people asked to move rooms. Some clever person has had the foresight to put a massive loud peacock in a cage outside the rooms. Bar area is brown and depressing, and desperately needs updating. Some of the waiting staff were quite rude. Breakfast is limited, ok if you get there early, but grim leftovers if you get there just before it finishes. Hotel is full of British package holiday crew. And over 60s. If you want a nice cultural mix of nationalities, don't go there.
It is on a bit of a depressing main road with lots of B&Qs and DIY stores. You need a car to see the lovely bits of the island - some of the countryside is stunning and very unspoilt. (Hire car from the hotel is quite good value). Some of the tourist sites are not particulary well signposted. We also found many locals to be unfriendly and unhelpful, as if they are not quite used to dealing with tourists. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,130 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
4.0 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Girne-Karaoglanoglu Road | Via Mersin 10 Turkey, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive holiday complex in a tranquil setting. Splendid views of the Kyrenia Hills, directly below St.Hilarion Castle. owned and run by Anglo/Cypriot family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Kyrenia
Ship Hotel Kyrenia
The Ship Inn Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing