We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay There”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dome Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Stay There”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dome for 10 nights returning on 12th September 2013. the first room we were given was very small without a safe,so twice daily I had to go to Reception to find jewellery, money etc from our safe 'box' which was most irksome. We spoke to our Tour Rep who arranged for another room.This one had a safe and was a larger room. the bathroom was so small that when sitting on the toilet the wash basin overlapped onto our laps (I am size 12). In both bathrooms there was thick plastic sealant around the baths, and in this second bathroom, there was black mould around the bath, which was most unappealing, and in fact I dreaded going in to the bathroom. There was a long shower curtain which trailed long into the bath and goodness knows who had previously trodden upon it. The whole hotel looks tired and in need of a complete overhaul. The door to our bathroom was 2 inches above ground and all the paint at the bottom was chipped, with large cracks and needed replacing.

The pool area was well maintained and very clean with plenty of loungers and parasols. There were no tissues anywhere. The pillows were like bricks and I requested soft ones which were provided. Very few of the waiters spoke English. The 'dining room' was like a canteen and the one redeeming feature was that one could eat outside which was very pleasant. This is not up to the standard of a 4 star hotel and should be downgraded. I will never go there again. A very disappointing holiday.

Room Tip: Have a look at the bathroom first before you accept a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    130
    97
    39
    28
See reviews for
70
169
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good rooms, clean and comfortable, good breakfast. Amazing location (3 min. walking to blue mosque) and view from terrase ( you can have tea and coffe at any time). Wery nice staff, helpful and friendly.
2 girls on reception speak russian, owner speaks english and turkish.
No doubts, recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Dome for 5 nights wef 6 September. Having stayed there before we were under no illusions regarding the tired rooms and public areas, but now 4 years later, the tiredness is becoming very close to exhaustion. I honestly do not think the building has been decorated, repaired, furniture replaced or indeed the curtains in the dining room changed for at least 40 years or more. If this is not the case I would appreciate the management replying on here to tell me when it was last touched. Perhaps they are relying on fashions eventually returning back to 60's or 70's retro....
It is a great shame as the location is first class, and indeed my room's outlook, facing the sea and the distant barracks together with a large terrace was excellent. Sadly the room itself was of course very shabby and over tired. The terrace had two cheap plastic chairs which could be replaced in Ikea for a very small sum and make some difference.
Given previous reviews I was expecting surly staff but I am pleased to say this was not the case at all, most being friendly. However we took a look at the breakfast which together with a sip of the “fruit” juice and coffee ensured we gave it a miss.
For those that say it is not 4 star I have to disagree, it is 4 star – unfortunately the problem is that the star system awards on a checklist of facilities (lift, swimming pool, massage facilities etc) rather than on modernity, rooms and public spaces fit for purpose or indeed decent food and so on.
Overall then I would say to future guests, if you want a hotel close to the harbour definitely stay here, but don't expect anything plush whatsoever. Indeed, if any guests want to see what an East Berlin Hotel was like in the late 1970's the Dome is for you.

Room Tip: Ground floor, sea view facing the Barracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The waiters here either don't know english or don't like the english. It took us 3 hours to have a main meal and having asked for the bill twice, after an hour we had to go to the till. The waiter practically ignored us and placed an industrial fan exhaust by our table, so it was very hot! Do no go here - it is not as cheap as some other places on the harbor and you'll come away with the wrong impression of the locals as in general they are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMN26414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyrenia hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We dined here for lunch and was met by a waiter who quite frankly looked like he wished he was elsewhere. We ordered the full mezze which was of both hot and cold starters. This was 30 lira each and some of the cold plates consisted of a slice of lemon which I do not regard as a mezze and a slice of tomato. Before we had finished the cold mezze the main arrived. We asked where the hot was and was advised that it would come soon. The majority of the group ordered sandwiches which were ok but nothing to write home about, a bit meagre. One of the group had sea bream which was delicious. As the service was so poor and the hot starter mezze arrived after we had started the main we sent it back. I would say that overall this restaurant is in a great location but everything else is sub average and I would advise you to spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The common parts of the Dome Hotel still retain some charm but the rooms are very old and badly kept. Especially the carpet on the floor is so filthy to make disgusting to walk in. Old towels and bed linen of very poor quality. The mini-bar was very dirty inside. Selling this hotel as a 4 stars hotels is really a way to cheat clients, 2 stars will even be too much. We got two small cockroaches in the room. The outside pool is used as a drinking fountain by pigeons who then leave their excrements all around, very disgusting. This hotel should be closed by the health authorities. Avoid this hotel of you do not want to ruin your holidays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabrizio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Dome, not a great experience! The only thing in its favour is the location This is one tired Hotel with not a lot going for it. We booked a superior room and if what we got was superior heaven knows what the standard ones are like. Bathroom had sorted of been refurbished but not to a great standard bedroom area really dated and tatty also be warned the pillows are like bricks we asked housekeeping for softer ones and to be fair they did bring 2 additional pillows which were slightly better but not great. Dining room shabby with usual buffet type breakfast ( I never touch Buffets ) and yet again it proved to me why - people touching all the food with their hands and even shoving their fingers up the cereal dispenser Shute to get them out Ugh! Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
3.4 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Arkin Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kyrenia
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#4 of 30 in Kyrenia
460 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dome Hotel

Property: Dome Hotel
Address: Kordonboyu Street, Kyrenia 34435, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dome Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a past stretching over a period of 80 years, The Dome Hotel is built on the most beautiful and central coast of Kyrenia, situated in the city center within walking distance from main downtown attractions while providing the peaceful atmosphere inside the hotel. Combining the traditional architecture and contemporary design, providing the nostalgic experience with a touch of future. Fully educated and experienced staff will strive to make your stay a pleasurable and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, GoNorthCyprus, Hotel.de, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyrenia Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing