We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Pass it by”

Whiskey joe's Bar Kyrenia
Ranked #14 of 269 Restaurants in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant/bar serving fresh homemade english food including old favourites, Liver Bacon and Onions, Fish Chips and Mushy Peas. Daily Specials available. Every Sunday Traditional Sunday Roast Live sports all shown and music/karaoke
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't Pass it by”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Best fish and chips I have ever had. The mussels in cream sauce were also to die for. The service here is fantastic. Brian and Linda are great hosts, and look after you, making you feel welcome. This is truly a hidden gem in Kyrenia. Thank you both for a great evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeyjoes, Owner at Whiskey joe's Bar Kyrenia, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, We had great pleasure in serving you. Looking forward to your next visit to Kyrenia.
B&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    32
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
begijnendijk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average London pub, but nothing more than that!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The number 1 ranking is a practical English joke! Now way! We where there last friday at the start of the weekend. Sorry no lamb chops. Sorry no calamari. Sorry no rose wine. To many "no's" for a top ranking. The fish and chips where good but that's is. The medium steak was well down chop. The prawn cocktail was swimming in the sauce! If you want excelent steak go to "The Steak House" at the main road. We had to ask for napkins, sald,.... A good restaurant knows what's needed on a table so that the customer does not has to ask for it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Filafreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeyjoes, Owner at Whiskey joe's Bar Kyrenia, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for visiting us @ Whiskey Joe's Bar, Sorry you felt disappointed, But in fairness (as you know) you turned up when the food tables where full, claiming you had made a booking, but had not, The only call was a taxi driver looking for directions to us, But as we don't like to disappoint people we made amends as some customers kindly gave up there table, (Maybe the reason for the missing napkins,) Sorry no Lamb chop's?, Yes we only had one portion left, which we served to your table, sorry no calamari?, correct unfortunately it was sold out, No rose wine ?. Plenty but not the brand you asked for, I even asked a nearby restaurant if they had that brand for you, but to no avail. Prawns swimming in sauce ??? (preference to taste) The steak?, apologies if it was slightly over cooked on a very busy evening. But please! we don't claim to be a top restaurant, we are a family run bar serving good wholesome food, Best to take us for what we are, not what you want us to be, Certainly not a London Pub, Being Half Scottish/Irish and have never been to a London pub. However, Thank you very much for your review it was a pleasure to serve you, Regardless. B&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely bar in the old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stopped in for a drink with my Mum and partner whilst we were passing through the old town. A lovely place with a courtyard to sit and enjoy the sunshine. Would definitely come again next time I am in Kyrenia and visit in the evening :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeyjoes, Owner at Whiskey joe's Bar Kyrenia, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, We had great pleasure in serving you.
B&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lived up to the reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We were not disappointed. The service was excellent the food was terrific. The price was good. The place was packed when we left. Would advise you book to avoid not experiencing this delight. Was it me or was everyone in the restaurant having fish and chips tonight?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cyprusgaz1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeyjoes, Owner at Whiskey joe's Bar Kyrenia, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to serve you.

B&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Whiskey Joes run by husband and wife team Brian and Linda, originally from Scotland, have extended their warm Scottish charm to this little hidden gem in Kyrenia. On a small street up from the harbour Whiskey Joes is a must to visit, for either a meal or just a drink. The specials menu includes fish and chips with mushy peas for 15tl, if eaten between 5 and 7pm, or liver bacon and onions, but my husband and I opted for the beef stroganoff, served with rice and Chips - delicious, and our friends had the other option of Irish chop, which she said was very also excellent. There is something on the menu to suit everyone, and the well stocked bar provides plenty of choice of beers, spirits, wine and of course whiskey, all competitively priced. A great atmosphere at any time, and if you like karaoke they even have this on a Friday night at 9pm! Closed Sundays but Whiskey Joes certainly has to be on your "menu" of places to visit during a stay in North Cyprus.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Barnyard166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeyjoes, Owner at Whiskey joe's Bar Kyrenia, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, We had great pleasure in serving you.
B&L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey joe's Bar Kyrenia also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Whiskey joe's Bar Kyrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing