We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aphrodite Boat Tour, Best Meze in Cyprus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aphrodite Boat Tours

Aphrodite Boat Tours
Ranked #2 of 14 Tours in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you're looking for a relaxing day out around Girne, you can do no better than to book a boat trip with Musa, on his traditional Turkish built Gulet - the Aphrodite (Afrodithe, as the boat is officially named). He has even been mentioned in the Lonely Planet tour book, for Cyprus! You can book as a boat trip, or he is set up to go out as a dedicated fishing charter if you like. Musa can arrange for either a mixed group booking, or even a private trip, and there's no booming music! just tastefully picked background tracks. Musa arranges the food of your choice, freshly cooked by himself, which is included in the booking price. His cooking is excellent and easily matches that of any restaurant in the area. Drinks are available at a very reasonable price too. Don't miss out on his brandy sour, it's his speciality. Gorgeous. If you're in luck, Musa will cook whatever's caught as you travel along the coast, as he'll generally have the fishing lines out even when it's a tour. There are usually two stop-offs along the coast. Snorkeling equipment is available, but we usually take our own anyway. Don't miss out on the opportunity to swim in the warm crystal waters along the coast. He drops anchor in areas usually busy with a variety of fish to swim among. Then to finish, there is champagne and fruit when you get back to the harbour. Please note: some of the videos on Trip Adviser are several years old now and do not give the correct price. Please email/phone for the up to date price. Thank you.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Aphrodite Boat Tour, Best Meze in Cyprus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

After reading the comments on the Aphrodite and Capt Musa we decided to book a trip. We found his advertising board in the Harbour and booked a trip for the Friday 27th September for 6 people.
On arriving on the Friday Capt Musa told us the gearbox in his boat was broken, but did not want to disappoint us so he had rented a boat for us (which was bigger than the Aphrodite), with its own Capt for no extra charge.
He then told us that he will come with us for the day to ensure that we get his personal service.
We were the only people on the boat which was nice and Capt Musa was the perfect host.
He took us to the little bays that were deserted for some wonderful snorkeling and I must say we all agreed that he served the best meze myself and our friends (some who live in Northern Cyprus) have ever eaten. He prepares all the food himself the day beforehand so was all very fresh and the hake he cooked was to die for.
It is hard to believe that someone would do what Capt Musa did for us, which must have cost him personally, but as he said he did not want to let us down, how different to all the other boat trips on offer...
When we return looking forward to a trip on the Aphrodite.....
If you want to book a boat trip in Kyrenia forget the rest Capt Musa's the best.......

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    9
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nobody does it better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been visiting Kyrenia for several years and we always book a boat trip or two with Captain Musa on the Aphrodite.

If you are looking for loud music, noise, and crowds of people this is not the trip for you. However, if you want a private hire, or a trip with no more than 8 to 10 people, with relaxing music, a charming and friendly host, and a lovely lunch, then this is by far the best trip to be had in Kyrenia.

The Aphrodite is berthed more or less in the middle of the harbour. If you want to book with Musa you will usually find him in the evenings sittting by the boat on the Quay. There is no hard sell from Musa and you may not even notice him, but persevere, it is worth it.

Each trip is unique in its own way, but you normally leave Kyrenia at 10.30 and return at around 16.30. The trip usually consists of 2 stops for swimming/snorkelling and lunch, prepared and cooked by Musa himself (Fish, chicken kebabs, meze). When you arrive back in the harbhour you are served fruit and a glass of champagne, which is also included in the price. Musa also serves drinks, including his famous brandy sours, on board which he keeps a tab for and you settle at the end of the trip.

It is just a wonderful relaxing day out and by the time you return to port you will have made some new friends.

The trip is marginally more expensive than the other boats but the quality and experience explains this.

Musa himself is charming and friendly man who speaks excellent English. If you are on Board and you want something, just ask Musa, if he can do it he will. He can also recommend excellent local restaurants and is very knowledgeable about Kyrenia and North Cyprus. He is also an excellent raconteur and he will often have you luaghing with some of his stories.

Forget the rest, this is easily the best boat trip in Kyrenia.

Phil and Sarah

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than your usual boat trip ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you want a boat trip that's just a small number of people, with the chance to get to know the other passengers, and the charming captain Musa, then Aphrodite is for you. When we sailed with Musa, we had 2 stops for snorkelling/swimming, and he knows exactly where and when to go to avoid the big noisy boats, and to see the best sea life.

Musa speaks very good English, and is a charming and gentlemanly host. He's also very witty and entertaining in the stories that he tells, having us all in laughter.

A previous reviewer mentioned that there was no fishing. Well, If you ask, Musa will organise fishing for you. He is very accommodating.

He also cooked us a lovely lunch with meze and fresh barbecued fish. The whole day was rounded off fizz and fruit.

A really excellent day and very good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank meeow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb experience. We met as customers and parted as friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The first thing you encounter as you enter Girne (Kyrenia) harbour will be a boat trip agent, working on commission only and making any promise necessary to persuade you to part with your money and book a trip. If all you're after is a large boat with hordes of other people, loud music, sunburn and plenty of booze then go ahead and choose one, there are loads of them. If the sea is too rough for a proper trip then they'll keep your money and just take you around the corner to spend the entire day moored in Girne's large modern shipping harbour.

But if you're after a much more civilised experience on a smaller boat carrying typically 6-8 passengers with a maximum of 10, with a discreet classical/jazz/chill-out musical accompaniment (or none at all if you prefer) then seek out Musa and his Aphrodite. It's usually located at the harbour opposite the Set Fish restaurant (also very good). Musa charges just £30/€35 per person including lunch (fish, chicken or meat, at your per-booked request) with freshly-prepared meze and keeps a bar tab for other drinks. It's not a lot more than the £25 charged by many other operators and is still cheaper than a half an hour rowing boat hire on the Thames at Hampton Court! The trip includes two stops for swimming (snorkelling equipment also available, but we always take our own), and at the end of the trip everyone shares a bottle or two of fizz and some fruit. Don't be surprised if further hospitality follows at no extra charge.

As the boat is so small, and as Musa employs no booking agents or staff, you'll get an entirely personal service and no false promises. If the sea is too choppy for a journey Musa will offer you a refund or to rebook for another day rather than scalping you with a useless trip into the shipping harbour. Trips depart at 10:30am and return around 4:30pm and he advises you to phone him an hour before departure to confirm whether sea conditions are suitable.

We enjoyed an excellent day with 6 other people, and we all got on like a house on fire. Musa is a great cook and raconteur, and so is a very entertaining host. His love for what he does really shows. On our trip we saw (and snorkelled with) a loggerhead turtle, and I spotted the largest octopus I've encountered in my 36 years of keen snorkel-diving. I'm certain that if we'd had enough time remaining on our holiday my wife and I would have returned to Musa to book a private trip: as Musa's boat is so small he can offer these at far lower cost than any of the larger boats.

If we could, my wife and I would award this 6 stars out of 5 :-D

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Obertelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, relaxing day out thanks to Musa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Musa/The Aphrodite was recommended by a harbour restaurant we were eating at and 10 minutes later our trip for the following day was all organised. No hard sell or pushiness. It was only our family of 4 but we had the boat to ourselves which was great in terms of privacy. It was a breezy day so Musa took us to the more sheltered bays where he cooked fresh fish and we all dived in off the boat and swam/snorkelled. When you saw the other 'fun boats' crammed with people it didn't half make you feel a bit smug! Musa rounded it off with his usual farewell champagne and fruit. His hospitality was second to none and was also incredibly helpful in recommending restaurants and hotels to visit. He's one of those people that you leave feeling like
you've genuinely made a friend.
Thanks from Steve, Vicky, Millie and Max.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sperrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aphrodite Boat Tours also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Aphrodite Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing