We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boat trip in the North!”

Aphrodite Boat Tours
Ranked #2 of 14 Tours in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you're looking for a relaxing day out around Girne, you can do no better than to book a boat trip with Musa, on his traditional Turkish built Gulet - the Aphrodite (Afrodithe, as the boat is officially named). He has even been mentioned in the Lonely Planet tour book, for Cyprus! You can book as a boat trip, or he is set up to go out as a dedicated fishing charter if you like. Musa can arrange for either a mixed group booking, or even a private trip, and there's no booming music! just tastefully picked background tracks. Musa arranges the food of your choice, freshly cooked by himself, which is included in the booking price. His cooking is excellent and easily matches that of any restaurant in the area. Drinks are available at a very reasonable price too. Don't miss out on his brandy sour, it's his speciality. Gorgeous. If you're in luck, Musa will cook whatever's caught as you travel along the coast, as he'll generally have the fishing lines out even when it's a tour. There are usually two stop-offs along the coast. Snorkeling equipment is available, but we usually take our own anyway. Don't miss out on the opportunity to swim in the warm crystal waters along the coast. He drops anchor in areas usually busy with a variety of fish to swim among. Then to finish, there is champagne and fruit when you get back to the harbour. Please note: some of the videos on Trip Adviser are several years old now and do not give the correct price. Please email/phone for the up to date price. Thank you.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best boat trip in the North!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I spent ages trying to pick the boat tour that would suit us best along the harbour. Most promised a limit of 15-20 people, visiting touristy beaches and lots of meze. We couldn't make up our mind so had a look on tripadvisor for the best boat tours. The only one that came up was Aphrodite, which we hadn't even seen on the harbour. There was talk of fishing, a real personal feel since there was only you and your friends on the boat, and even champagne and fruit at the end.

We sat on the harbour, determined that we had to find Aphrodite and secure it for the next day. As if by magic, Aphrodite suddenly came sailing into the harbour, right in front of us. We sent the boys racing along the harbour to have a chat with Captain Musa, who was returning from a trip out with his family. He agreed to take us out the following day (the price is higher than the other boat tours you'll find, but it is totally, totally worth it - you'll understand when you're about to head out of the harbour and see the other boats packed with people)

Next day we left the harbour, feeling slightly smug, perched at the front of Aphrodite. We were out for around 6 hours, and had two stops off for snorkelling, some beautiful food including meze and freshly caught mackerel and tuna, which Captain Musa cooked over a BBQ (and his Brandy Sours cocktails, which were amazing), plenty of sunbathing, and finally a big plate of fruit with a bottle of champagne.

The whole trip felt so personal that I'd recommend it to anyone staying in Northern Cyprus. Definitely the highlight of our trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MacaronLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    9
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic boat trip & Captain - highly recommend!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Having arrived that evening in Kyrenia walked to harbour & decided on boat trip. After being bombarded with offers from various boats we decided to go with Captain Mussa - his boat being lot smaller & taking fewer people! Turned up for day trip & only 5 of us on board. We stopped at various bays for swim & also saw a turtle then had lunch prepared by Mussa himself also he was catching fish (3 puffa fish!) On our return to the harbour we sat chatting on boat with a glass of champagne & fruit! We loved the experience so much signed up to an evening trip with our new found friends & captain Mussa! If you are planning a boat trip please book with captain Mussa - a fantastic experience all round!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank nobbybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boat Tour”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Was lucky to have an amazing boat tour with Musa an his team May 2013. Wonderful weather, blue sea, snorkeling, fishing, tasty meal, drinks and pleasant atmosphere! Highly recommend to try! Especially private trip (with your friends or family). Great time to forget about routine (finally no Gsm and Internet access):)

Thank you , Musa, from all of us!!

Greetings from Latvia!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank VeraIvanova_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“musa'd”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Pretty good tour, but no fishing involved! Also, cd was on repeat. Good memories though! We got musa'd

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a relaxing day out around Girne, you can do no better than to book a boat trip with Musa, on his tradition”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a relaxing day out around Girne, you can do no better than to book a boat trip with Musa, on his traditional Turkish built Gulet - the Aphrodite (Afrodithe, as the boat is officially named). He's even mentioned in the Lonely Planet tour book, for Cyprus!

We've visited the area for the past four years, and never miss including a day out with Musa on one of his coastal tours. We generally book as a boat, but he is set up to go out as a dedicated fishing charter if you like. We've seen and heard about some of the fish he's caught....some big fish to be had. He can arrange for either a mixed group booking, or even a private trip, and there's no booming music!...just tastefully picked background tracks.

Musa arranges the food of your choice...freshly cooked by himself, which is included in the booking price. His cooking is excellent and easily matches that of any restaurant we've visited there. Drinks are available at a very reasonable price too. Don't miss out on his brandy sour...it's his speciality. Gorgeous. If you're in luck, Musa will cook whatever's caught as you travel along the coast, as he'll generally have the fishing lines out even when it's a tour.

There are usually two stop-offs along the coast. Snorkeling equipment is available, but we usually take our own anyway. Don't miss out on the opportunity to swim in the warm crystal waters along the coast. He drops anchor in areas usually busy with a variety of fish to swim amongst. Even spotted an octopus one year.

We highly recommend dropping by the centre of the harbour, and looking out for Musa in his boat, and book a trip. Our holidays in Cyprus wouldn't be complete if we didn't. He's a genuinely friendly guy, who speaks excellent English, and I'd consider him more as a friend than an acquaintance.

Thanks for giving us some fantastic memories Musa. We look forward to catching up with you next year.

Cheers,
Dave & May.

Helpful?
14 Thank Boothy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aphrodite Boat Tours also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Aphrodite Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing