We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for one night as we couldn’t check into our villa until the Saturday and flight times were much more sociable on the Friday.

We wanted to be in Kyrenia as we didn’t get the hire car until the next day.

The British Hotel was very reasonable (about £55 per room per night) and included breakfast. Breakfast was ‘fried/poached/scrambled egg on toast’ and a nice fruit/cheese/meat/jam selection.

The room was nice and the bathroom huge and looked recently done up. Air con and a nice balcony.

All in all it was great for one night, not sure about spending a whole holiday there but if you are looking for a reasonable, clean, handy hotel in Kyrenia you can’t go wrong with the British Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPBisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

nice and clean hotel located on the harbour. restaurants, shops and all the touristy things at walking distance. super view from the roof terrace and from the rooms from the 2nd floor up.
being this close to the harbour the rooms can be a bit noisy sometimes.
average breakfast and good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giomagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo Elephant National Park, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Brilliant view of the harbour. 3rd time we stayed in this hotel. The owner was very helpfull getting our car parked right in front of the hotel. Very well situated only a few meters from the harbour and restuarants.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyriakos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel could be fantastic if it were to be totally refurbished. We found it very dreary and shoddy. We had a good view of the harbour being on the third floor (although we paid a premium for this). With no form of shade, and uncomfortable chairs, sitting out on the balcony in the daytime would not have been an option. Had to boil the kettle on the floor as no plug high enough for it further up. Water system not very effective this far up. Shower drizzled and loo v. poor flush. : ((((. Towards the end of the week water stopped altogether, although guy on reception seemed to know how to fix it in 5 mins. Breakfast adequate I guess, although anyone who enjoys a good cooked breakfast could be very disappointed. Began to find the welcome to breakfast with the words "Egg - boiled, fried or scrambled" every morning quite amusing.
Lacks creature comforts and style, and sells itself on location only. Sorry, but we definitely wont be back, either to this hotel or N. Cyprus. Know far more attractive and relaxing places to go for less money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dellwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Centrally located. Lovely rooms but breakfast leaves much to be desired. Make sure you get there before 3 if you have a car otherwise you'll find the road leading to the hotel closed! Parking is not far away for those with a car and it's relatively cheap €5

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bajapor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The nice, quite small hotel right in the center of Kyrenia and just two steps from the harbour. This location is just perfect to stay in the city. The staff were friendly and helpfull. The room was quite big and camfortable with all I needed drung the 3 days stay. Clean, comfy bathroom. The simple breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Best location ever with a stunning with over the petite harbor in Girne, (Kyrenia). Small hotel, friendly staff, very British, good rooms but - the view! It is so wonderful, make sure you have a room with an ocean or harbor view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
0.2 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,129 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
3.5 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Property: British Hotel
Address: Kyrenia, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — British Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The British Hotel has been delightfully transformed to bring it into line with the high class and quality level expected by the worldwide tourist. It's location is unique, in particular. Effectively, whilst in immediate reach of the historic and sought after area of the yacth harbour and the castle is surrounded by mountains. It's precise location has the added attraction of it's approached being cobbed side street with only minutes of access to cafes, restaurants, shops and casinos. It is on four floors a lift and 18 rooms (45 beds) all with ensuite bath or shower, WC, air-conditioning, telephone, minibar, remote control sattilate TV, kettle, hair dryer, tea and coffee facility. Most rooms have a balcony or terrance, with superb views. It has a bar, terrace restaurant, 24 hours room service, night porter and breakfast area serving between 8 - 11. Special attention is paid at the British Hotel to the needs of the client. Since this is a family owned and run with special emphasis at all times on personal attention by the proprietor and staff a like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Kyrenia
British Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing