We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run Turkish restuarant”
Review of ByDostlar

ByDostlar
Ranked #208 of 274 Restaurants in Kyrenia
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Turkish
Description: Dostlar prides itself on it's friendly family atmosphere. We provide a high standard of quality food and drinks and aim to please as and when we can . We look forward to welcoming old and new faces each year. Why not give us a try.
Restaurant details
Description: Dostlar prides itself on it's friendly family atmosphere. We provide a high standard of quality food and drinks and aim to please as and when we can . We look forward to welcoming old and new faces each year. Why not give us a try.
London
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Family run Turkish restuarant”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Huyla, her mum & dad run this little gem, this year with help from a lovely student from Pakistan. We love this place & the welcome is second to none. We have eaten here often over the years. Simple menu but all fresh ingredients & very well cooked to order. Kleftico is to die for but you need to pre order. Don't expect anything fancy, it is more like sitting in a friends garden enjoying their home cooking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxed, amazing honesty.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dostlar is everything that is good about a small family run restaurant. There is a simple Turkish menu with no pretentions or frills. Just simple, home cooked food served fresh from the wood fuelled stove. Kleftico available when pre ordered and repeat customers recognised and welcomed.
We mistakenly overpaid on our first night - befuddled by lack of sleep, mixed up Liras and Euros and possibly a little too much red wine - but were told of our error as we entered the restaurant on our second visit and given a refund. I don't think that we would ever have known that we overpaid, so were very impressed with this honesty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“DO NOT BE PUT OFF BY THE EXTERNAL APPEARANCE”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in Kyrenia during which we spent two nights dining at the Dostlar. We also frequented the restaurant two years earlier and it does not appear to have changed at all. Menu is limited but everything appears to be cooked to order. Kleftico unavailable this time but tried it in 2010 and it was excellent. Obviously a family concern and service is friendly and efficient. You can get an excellent meal for around 25 to 30TL per head. It does not look much from the outside but it has its own special Cypriot atmosphere inside (complete with cats!!). Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claud59music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Lovely food, especially the lamachins, lamb chops and chips! Great value. Lovely staff and always made to feel welcome. Would recommend to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmitten84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,276 helpful votes
“Generous portions but not special”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I think possibly this restaurant was not having a good night when we called. It was very quiet and actually looked closed up. Anyway, the first couple of dishes we ordered off the rather small menu (perhaps 4 or 5 choices per course) were not available including the kleftiko which apparently has to be ordered in advance. We eventually settled for lamb chops. They were quite nice, served with salad and chips and cost 20 ytl. It was a pleasant meal albeit in uniinspiring surroundings. We discussed it afterwards and would go back again as the food was quite nice.....but..... there are many more restaurants around the area that actually offer better value for money than this in a more enjoyable and decorative atmosphere. Charcos in Lapta for one - very comparably priced but far better food and mult coursed. Also just up the road - Tervecula offers a full multi course meze including brandy and coffee for about 25 ytl. So.... on the whole... not a repeatable experience unless something changed. They either need to bring their price down or they need to increase their offering to be more than a simple plate of food for the price of a full meze elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ByDostlar also viewed

 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to ByDostlar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing