We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Bellapais Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.96*
and up
Kyrenia and Famagusta Excursion from Protaras
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Abtei von Bellapais Bellapais Abbey
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is well worth a visit to this beautiful monastery - the architecture is magnificent and the views outside in the gardens are beautiful.You have the mountains at one side and the sea onthe other. The spiritual energy of the place is extremely powerful Highly recommended

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngietHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    548
    107
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

An interesting monument presented as is with no fuss or health and safety restriction. Has a restaurant facility attached.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidwparker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“A tranquil place to relax”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

When we visited Bellapais it was a quiet January morning with few people. I can imagine on a hot sunny summers day that it must be lovely to sit in a shady bar sipping beer or coffee.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Exetergourmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
1 review
“Ancient History”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I visited this Ancient piece of forgotten history this year. It is my first visit to the village, I have read many article about this attractive village with beautiful scenery and breath taken views and despite the fact that it was on my doorstep I never took the time to visit, however what persuaded me to take the plunge was a project to I undertook to take some photos for a local company http://www.meholidays.eu. The village was every thing I imagined and read and even more, a quaint and desirable Greek style houses. The village centre very welcoming Turkish cafes and restaurants, And the ancient castle was beautiful and elegant well preserved and overlooking the most stunning piece of heaven on earth, a magnificent view of the cost line and Girne city.
It was a tripe worth while and to remember, and yes I took some good photographs, I love my job...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“peace and quiet”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I liked the slow pace of things around the Abbey, the building seemed well looked after and easy to get round ,plenty of nice views all round with shops and bars in the village for refreshments we took a taxi and strolled back downhill

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tramperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellapais Monastery also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Bellapais Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing