We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly Disappointing”
Review of Midsummer - CLOSED

Midsummer
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Greatly Disappointing”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Guided by tripadvisor, we chose Midsummer when treating our visitors from the USA to a special meal out one evening this week. I wished we had gone elsewhere, as the overall experience was not positive. The grounds and setting were outstanding and there were many good elements to the meal (for example, the lemon sorbet served before the main course was excellent) but the management's attitude to some negative feedback about the food was appalling and left us with a bad overall impression of the restaurant. When the manager came to our table to ask if everything was fine with our main courses, we had to be honest and say that the meat in the Beef Wellingtons was tough. He did offer to cook fresh steaks but we declined, as our guests were already part way through their meals and we also figured that, as there were two of us struggling with the fillet steak, the same problem would exist with the replacement steaks. One of our guests had chosen pork medallions and they were tough, too. The manager's attitude then changed for the worse and he steered clear of us for the rest of the time we spent there. We ate very little of our main courses and none of us felt inclined to try a dessert, as we'd been made to feel uncomfortable.

There was no offer of a discount off the meal or any other form of compensation. Not wishing to make a fuss in front of our visitors, we decided to just pay the 300TL bill and leave. I must add that the waitress had been really good, despite the awkward situation, and any poor score in relation to service is no reflection on her contribution. Fortunately, we enjoyed delicious meals elsewhere this week, so our visitors have returned home with an overall positive view of local restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJD140215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erdinismail, Owner at Midsummer, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
All I can say is that "you can please most of the people most of the time but you can`t please all of the people all of the time" comes to mind with this reviewer!!
We had tried to accommodate you and your guests during your visit as customer satisfaction is very important to us.
As I am also the Chef,I do my rounds to all our customers after cooking their food.I did not steer clear of you after you complained about the toughness of your steak but returned to my duties and checking other customers and left the normal waitress duties to our waitress that you were happy with.

Of your party, 2 plates were clear except half a pork escalope ( not medallion) and the other 2 about half eaten with about third of the steaks left.After offering to replace your meals without any fuss and it didn`t have to be another steak,it could have been anything else, which you declined,I & another kitchen staff tested a piece of the so called tough steak in the kitchen and hey presto!! it was very tender,this also was the opinion of all the other customers on the evening that enjoyed their steaks & pork escallopes . I didn`t feel giving any discount would have been justified or made these customers any happier.The wellington meals in question is very popular and filling!!

We take our job seriously and customer satisfaction is important to us but in this case there was nothing more we could have done.Sorry,you didn`t enjoy your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    3
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited Midsummer for Sunday Lunch last week and it was absolutely delicious. So glad we managed to find it - it is well worth it! The whole dining experience couldnt be faulted. We had a beautifully cooked 3 course Sunday lunch followed by coffee and handmade chocolates. It made for a very pleasurable relaxing Sunday afternoon. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A truly special meal. NOT TO BE MISSED”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The setting was second to nothing we have ever experienced before. Hostess was extremely attentative, food was wonderfully presented and absolutely delicious. Good value for money and well worth a visit. Grounds and pool were very special.. A night that will stay with us for a long time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAULETTE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track but worth looking for!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have been visiting North Cyprus for almost 30 years and have owned a villa there since 2000, so we have eaten at hundreds of restaurants of all descriptions. However, we tend to do so on impulse and often at lunch times, which makes Midsummer House less than ideal, as it opens only in the summer season, for dinner, and for lunch only by prior arrangement, except on Sundays, when booking is strongly advised. We intended to give it a try soon after it opened but had some difficulty finding it (even though it is in the next village to our house) and when we did, it was closed. It is now very well signed, for miles around! Although the first impression is of a large house, on the edge of a housing development, once through the gates, you are in another world, with manicured gardens and immaculate restaurant. Generally, tables arranged around a swimming pool are not my ideal setting for a quality restaurant but here, it seems to work. The service and food are high class and the whole impression is of a 'special occasion' kind of place, justifying the higher than usual prices. Our next visit is likely to be for a birthday and then for an anniversary. Informal parking on an unmade plot adjacent to the restaurant or on the road outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomerturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“no murder here”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Exceptional garden restaurant setting with excellent service which complemented the fantastic food. Tucked away outside the village of catalkoy you need to follow the signs carefully to find this hidden gem. Expensive by Northern Cyprus standard it is never the less worth every penny as it is fine dining at it's best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dabar_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midsummer also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing