We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambelia Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyrenia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambelia Village
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We have visited this hotel a few times before for short stays and absolutely love it! It is above the village of Bellapaise and built on terraces giving fantastic views down to Kyrenia. The owners & staff are so friendly and welcoming. The studio rooms are very clean & comfortable with a full size fridge and a kettle. There is no TV or radio! If you like it busy then dont come here! It is so peaceful and relaxing...its heavenly!

Room Tip: Studio rooms have balconies with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalypso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

The Ambelia village is situated on the Kyrenia mountains and has the most beautiful panaromic view of the Kyrenia cost. You are surrounde with nature and wildlife, and only walking distance to Bellapais Abbey.

Ambelia Village Reasturant has a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. The food is fresh and of a very high standard preaperd using their organically grown produce The staff and owner have a great knowledge of the area and places of interest.
The restaurant is very clean and has a lovely ambience.
We were made to feel very welcome at Ambelia Village Reasturant and thoroughly enjoyed dining outside with it's spectacular views.
Ambelia Village Reasturant comes highly recommended and we will most definitely be going there again when we next visit the Ambelia Village.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgokcezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

High on the hill overlooking Kyrinia is Bellapais Abbey a most beautiful place full of history and enchantment.
Just a few minutes’ walk higher is Ambelia holiday village.
Ambelia village was recommended to us and it certainly lived up to our expectations.
Every room has a view of the sea and the village below. (At night the views of the Abbey are wonderful)
The gardens are a joy, everywhere is a perfusion of colour and beautiful scents filled the air.
We swam in the pool every day, walked the hills, and followed the Crusaders path down into Ozankoy village, where we found a second-hand bookshop and the local version of W.I, selling jams, cakes, and pies etc.
Here you can catch the bus into Kyrinia and mingle with the crowds and visit the castle and the harbour.
After a day in the bustle of the town we were happy to be back in the peaceful grounds of Ambelia where we swam again before dinner. Here with a pre-dinner drink in the cosy bar /restaurant we discussed and swapped information about the day’s events with other guests.
The restaurant serves all locally sourced and home-grown, homemade produce this made for varied and very tasty meals that were excellent. (The apricot jam is a must for breakfast)
After dinner a quiet evening stroll took us through scented lanes to the Abbey then back for bed.
Our accommodation was excellent clean and spacious with the facility of air conditioning and room heaters, without extra charge (we stayed early May and some evenings could be a little chilly.)A small kitchen area with kettle, toaster &fridge was useful to make a snack or drink.
Iris, Agnes and Caner our hosts were everywhere nothing was too much trouble
They work tirelessly to make Ambelia a welcome refuge from the madding crowds
And they have certainly succeeded
A little late, but a big thank you to you all for sharing your home with us
Lizzy and Ian

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinlizzy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polis cyprus
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

We've been visiting the place since 1985 so it cann't be bad. !! The complex sits high up on the hill side above Bellapais with absolute spectacular views. Breakfast on the balcony looking down to the coast beatiful. Breakfast is buffet style and fine nothing fancy. We have never eaten there in the evening preferring totry various local restuarants. When booking ask for a low a lower level apartment or you mightend up with one of the higher ones reachd by 60 plus steps -try carrying your cases up there !! Good swimming pool and bar area beginning to show its age in places. Biggest moan was no hot water in the morning for a shower. Morning 1 caught the owner at 730 or so just switching the heating on. Day 2 cold water raised it with one of the staff " I will ensure it will not happen again" Day 3 wonderful hot shower in the morning !! Cann't ask for better than that. Agnes does a wonderful job but seems to be doing most of it alone.
Would I return -most certainly ,providing you keep the hot water on

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikePolisCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Ambelia village is a charming quiet hotel on the mountainside close to the coast (Girne). It has hotelrooms, studio's & villa's & a good restaurant with organic food, grown in the own garden. They even make their own olive oil.

Everything happens at ease & the staff is very helpfull.

Don't expect the service and the accomodation of a 5 star beach hotel, which it is absolutely not, but if you want to feel at home, far from the noise of big hotels, you will be at the right place.

You get absolutely value for money !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greet_ans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

You have to smell it, feel it, and taste it to understand what makes Ambelia so special. It is like going home. I feel pity for anyone who hasn't been there. This is a resort for those who want privacy and peace, it could be 2010 or 1974. It is a resort for quiet, polite families and intimate couples who appreciate value for money. You could spend a lot more at a "luxurious" resort, but you're smarter than that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#1 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Arkin Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel
#7 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#13 of 29 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
6.2 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambelia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambelia Village

Property: Ambelia Village
Address: P.O. Box 95 | Girne, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambelia Village 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Ambelia Village Cyprus/Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing