We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of Cyprus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Kakopetria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of Cyprus”
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We couldn't have asked for more. The rooms are very nice - and the spa bath was a welcome treat after a day of walking in the mountains. The hotel is siuated by a stream with plenty of trees and is very picturesque. We stayed for three nights and would highly recommend it. We didn't end up eating in the restaurant for dinner as we discovered a trendy sports cafe up the road which has an extensive menu (worth checking out) but the breakfast buffet at the Mill was the best we had in Cyprus.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    47
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
114
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Limassol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I stayed at the Mill for a night and absolutely loved it. Would definately go back again. It's in the centre of Kakopetria. Has the river right underneath with views from the room which are amazing. Picturesque views. The room is comfortable, and very warm. The water for the jacuzzi was a little cold but still enjoyable. The only bad thing I could say about it was the breakfast. It was cold and looked like it was just thrown there. Dinner was nice at the hotel. Easy access to walk to old Kakopetria which is definately worth seeing.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Having read a review of this hotel in The Mail we decided to book a couple of nights in the middle of our holiday touring around Cyrpus.

The village is picture postcard and whilst in the Troodos we had a great walk at the top of Mount Olympus which ended in a spectacular thunderstotm with hailstones & fork lightening.

When we first arrived at the The Mill we were shown to our room - a very good size with what we expected to have fantastic views.
Unfortunately we on the 1st floor and only had the view of some trees!!!

After about 15 mins we heard some dripping to find that the there was a big puddle by the door as the air con was leaking badly. A man came to look at the problem (who we later found out was the manager) & explained that the air con on the 1st floor had not yet been connected. We asked to be moved to another room with a/c & he said he would contact Reception. Discussions with Reception proved fruitless as we were told that to get a/c we would have to upgrade to a junior suite & pay the full cost. Eventually we had a long conversation with the manager resulting in a discount and upgraded to a Junitor Suite which was on the 2nd floor.

The room was much larger than the first one & the view slightly better & the air con worked!! Only problem was the next morning there was water all over the bathroom floor. We found a bucket under the sink with the pipe from the air con!! and it had overflowed. During our stay we had to empty the bucket regularly to prevent further leaks.

The first evening we ate in The Mill restaurant. The views were fantastic. The trout was lovely & the service good.

Breakfast was good but as in other Tripadvisor reports, smoking was allowed & could have been a problem if the hotel / restaurant had been full.

On the second evening we ate at the Village Pub. What a lovely place - the husband & wife team were very friendly & the food (Cyprus dishes) were gorgeous.

Overall a lovely 2 day stay

  • Liked — Size of Rooms. View from Restaurant
  • Disliked — The air conditioning problems, Smoking in restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at the Mill Hotel for a week this August and had a really enjoyable stay. It is amazing that this welcoming place is only listed as 3 star. The staff are very friendly and very willing to share their knowledge of the area. The hotel is situated in a beautiful stretch of the Troodos Mountains and an ideal location from whch to explore the area. Your own jeep helps!
The restaurant is the crowning glory of the hotel - beautifully positioned on the third floor with lovely views over the old town -a delight in its own right - and every meal we had was well prepared and served. We did try out other places ot eat in the area but not one came even close to the Mill in standard and quality of service.
I would urge other travellers to experience a stay here and the experience of waking up in these wonderful mountains. Don't just stay on the coast and pop up for a few hours, you miss too much. We shall return!

  • Liked — The space and the balcony with superb views
  • Disliked — Not being able to get the Olympics in English on the TV!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tony-Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I've spent three nights on the New Years Eve with my family at this hotel.

The hotel is converted from 250 years old mill house and is very stylish and warm.

It has a very good restaurant famous for its trout.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

It seemed to me that over 80% percent of the hotel visitors come there for the New Year holidays every year! I can understand that because this hotel is probably one of the best in Cyprus.

  • Liked — The hotel building: 250-old converted water mill
  • Disliked — Its restaurant is very popular among non-residents
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aznakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend on the recommendation of Australian Ex pats and were not disappointed.

The building is a converted old mill made of stone and set along the creek which services the village.

The rooms were wonderfully big, with large balcony's overlooking the village, mountains and river. The rooms are well appointed and tastefully decorated. The mountain air and smell of the forest drifted into the rooms as we relaxed.

The food was excellent and the host a pleasure to speak with, sitting down with us when we had finished eating and chatting away like an old uncle.

The village was as I'd imagined Cyprus to be, but in my 8 months of living in Nicosia had not seen. We walked to the village from the hotel with ease and a casual friendly environment greeted us. The friendly, gentle natured people were a joy to be with, after the Nicosia hustle and bustle.

We lived in Cyprus just under a year and have to say as far as the south was concerned this was the best stay, and the nicest politest Greek Cypriots we meet.

If in Cyprus get there for some old style Cypriot hospitality.

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisey29226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

Just spent a terrific week at the Mill Hotel in Kakopetria Cyprus. We booked it directly with the owner Aris - and his lovely family. There are 13 rooms in all and we had a junior suite which was very spacious. We also felt the cost to be more than reasonable as we had a 20% discount on the price. This hotel is in the Troodos mountains. A central location and stunning views. We had a hire car, very handy especially for the English as they drive on the left. They also have an excellent restaurant at the Hotel which is open to non-residents as well. The reception staff Sofia and Dalia were more than helpful with Sofia's local knowledge coming in very handy. We saw most of all the sights on offer including a worthwhile trip to Nicosia to see the green line - a must for history buffs. Lots of churches and little villages just waiting to be explored.

The only downside to the hotel was the smoking - breakfast was particularly difficult as there were no NON smoking areas. I also found that our room was quite smoky on arrival which may have been due to the previous occupants or to someone smoking on the balcony.
Nether the less I wouldn't want this to detract from the rest of the hotel as our stay was just perfect.

Helpful?
4 Thank Woerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakopetria
4.5 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
53 reviews
6.9 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
103 reviews
4.8 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ekali Hotel
Ekali Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakopetria
71 reviews
7.4 mi away
Edelweiss Hotel
Edelweiss Hotel
#5 of 5 in Platres
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milos St.8 (P.O.Box 11533), Kakopetria 2810, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Kakopetria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kakopetria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing