We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dress code”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Famagusta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dress code”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Notice outside Restaurant says Hotel has quite a strict dress code for Dinner, however, customers dine in shorts & sandals even though notice specifically mentions that these items are forbidden.
If no dress code is upheld notice ought to be removed as we felt under duress to wear suitable apparel & ended up not dining in hotel at all even when booked on half board basis as I felt quite strongly that if there is a rule, uphold it, or previously stated, remove notice!
The hotel then offers an ' on the beach,under the stars' movie evening( in your trousers & shoes presumably?)!
Staff try hard but not 5 star due to lack of staff & poor management.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    120
    31
    17
    15
See reviews for
91
248
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ceredigion Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just arrived home from our 2 weeks stay at the Arkin palm beach the hotel is lovely and modern with up to date features. We arrived late and we were ushered quickly to our evening meal before they closed which was very prompt of them, we then checked in that's where we first encountered the sullen faces of the women receptionists it never changed much during our stay I'm glad the rest of the staff didn't go to the same charm school! Our cases arrived to our lovely suite which overlooked the sea with a lovely double balcony which made our friends jealous but it was our 25th wedding anniversary.
The maids were on the ball every morning your rooms were done sometimes while you were down for breakfast. We found the breakfast OK, Dinner of the evening was excellent we always tried to eat outside where the waiters always sorted a table for 6 out for us quickly and Osman always looked after us when he was on duty. We always enjoyed a pre drink before Dinner where Fatima always looked after us with a nice table for us we used to call down to her from our balcony to say we were on our way and she remembers what you drink as well, if she's not on duty it all goes to pieces long waits and wrong bills is order of the day. There seem to be a lot of men in suits walking around ordering the staff around which is sometimes a bit off putting!!
We lay on the beach the first day but we cooked so we retired to the pool for some reason had a nice breeze which seemed to start around 10.30 to 11 every day we seemed to get the same sunbeds everyday and some nice rockers there were a couple of day beds around too they seem to be in the shade and too heavy to move around, but the pool staff were very accommodating if you wanted anything they did have a few weddings around the pool while we were there which didn't put us out but some guests had a moan, we enjoyed seeing the bride and their wedding tradition of pinning money on the dress! The hotel made a massive effort of laying Cypriot night around the pool with good food,music and dancers but the hotel guests seemed to disappear quickly and it all fell a bit flat.
Like many reviews before there isn't anything close to the hotel only a few bars in a square down the road where the locals used with young kids and stray cats everywhere.
There is a Casino connected to the hotel we had a look around but it was too Smokey for my liking.
All in all lovely hotel a few language barriers,if you're looking for a quiet relaxing peaceful modern hotel for a couple weeks away look no further, would return.

Room Tip: Try and book a suite looking over lovely beach and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay at Arkin Palm Beach hotel.

Your kind word regarding housekeeping, restaurant and cuisine, rooms and beach personnel are greatly appreciated.

As mentioned in a previous reply, other than the bars / restaurants opposite the hotel there are plenty of places to visit both in the old city of Famagusta and also in the new town.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Have just returned from a two week stay at The Palm Beach Hotel. First impressions very good the Decor is excellent, very tasteful and subtle. You feel comfortable as soon as you walk through the main entrance. The reception staff were a little unfriendly but advised us that we were still able to have dinner.

Our bags were taken up to our rooms, which were wonderful. Very spacious and beautifully decorated, Our bathroom was huge ! bigger than some hotel rooms and had very nice touches of Molton Brown toiletries which were replaced daily if needed. Bathrobes and slippers were also available for the guests to use. Maids changed the towels twice a day. They also laid a small cloth by the side if the bed at night ( never found out what this was for) and turned the beds down for you. We had a stunning view from our balconly, we had junior suites which are well worth the extra. The hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere.
Had a fabulous massage in their spa which is very well equipped.

We were staying on a half board basis. They had a good variety for breakfast, and someone there to cook a variety of eggs if you wanted them.
Dinner at night was excellent and there was something for everyone. At both breakfast and dinner the waiters poured you water for which you were not charged for.
If you eat lunch in the resturant rather than the snack bar the variety is better and you will also be given little extras like, bread with olive oil and balsalmic vinegar and cherry tomatoes in pesto and free glasses of water all included in the price of your lunch, so much better value.

We found some of the staff excellent Osman was extreamly helpful and attentive as was Fatima. Around the pool Abrahim and Jahun were good but the service at the pool and the snack bar was unfortunately quite slow.

The pool area was excellent. Towels provided, always beds availiable and wonderful rockers and a couple of day beds, enough umberellas or shade from the trees which you definately need in August, 37 degrees most days.
The beach was also good, the sand was raked most days and the beds and unberellas there were also very good. Beach bar served drinks and snacks and the staff there were good fun.

A couple of negatives, we found the language barrier a bit of a problem as some of the staff didn't always understand what we were asking for and some did need to smile a little more.
There were quite a few men in suits walking around as some people had previously stated, some did ignore the guests but others were quite friendly. One invited us down to a charity event to raise money for handicapped children which was lovely to watch the kids dancing and the wedding fashion show.
They do hold weddings there and guests are asked to vacate the pool by 4pm to set it up , but this really wasnt a problem and you could move to the beach. The wedding were also wonderful to watch. There were three while we were there.
All in all we had a wonderful time at the Palm Beach. The main dissappointment for us was that there was no where to stroll in the evenings. There was a couple of cafes in a square a short walk away or you had to get a taxi to somewhere. We travelled independantly so didnt really a rep to tell us what there was around the Hotel.

Would definately return , but would do a split ,Famagusta 1 week and Kyrenia the other. All in all had a wonderful relaxing time at the Palm Beach and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ugrade to junior suites facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at Arkin Palm Beach hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to share a review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor and also for your positive remarks regarding our restaurant, rooms, cleanliness, beach & pool.
We are pleased that you found Cypriot weddings interesting and you also enjoyed the charity event which we held at the hotel.

The old city of Famagusta is a 15 minute walk or 3 minutes in a car/taxi and there are plenty of sites, cafes, bars and restaurants to visit there, 5 minutes further afield there is also the Salamis Road district where there are shopping facilities, bars, restaurants and coffee shops.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from three nights in Istanbul followed by a week at the Palm Beach. We holidayed in Kyrenia last year but wanted a beach hotel for a lazy week this year. We found the Palm Beach really excellent. Interior design was very much to our taste. Excellent housekeeping. We had a standard sea view room which was compact but had an stylish bathroom. Needed to get more clothes hangers - we don't travel light. Having read good reviews of the food we chose half board and were very happy with the food in the buffet restaurant. There is a new a la carte restaurant but it seems very under used. We cancelled our reservation fearing we would be the only customers. The beach and pool area is superb. There was a wedding at the pool one night and some sort of corporate event another but this did not bother us at all although I know some other guests were annoyed. The hotel is generally very quiet which suited us fine. The location - alongside Varosha - seems to divide opinion. We found it an endless source of fascination. It is a 15 - 20 minute slow walk (in the searing heat) to Famugusta. Perfectly doable but probably easier to have a car which are cheap to hire and gives you the opportunity to explore the area - which we were rather lazy about doing this year. We were enjoying relaxing too much. The hotel organised a couple of evening events for guests - one of which was cinema on the beach which we absolutely loved. It would be good for the hotel to try and put a few more events on for the guests and to recommend some local places - we only discovered a beautiful little bar/cafe called the Palm House which was adjacent to the hotel (but hidden round a corner) on our last day. The staff in all areas of the hotel were friendly and helpful and made a real attempt to talk to the guests. We particularly enjoyed talking to Osman in the restaurant. Although we enjoyed our holiday at Pia Bella Hotel in Kyrenia last year we felt that Palm Beach was in a different league and we very much hope to return.

Room Tip: Obviously nice to have a sea view room. We changed from 115 which looked out onto the restaurant ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmgLowFell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at Arkin Palm Beach hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we very much appreciate your time in sharing your positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you again next year at Arkin Palm Beach hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family and I have just had the most fantastic holiday at this hotel and we give it 20 out of 20 in all areas
So clean,
Great room.fantastic staff every need was anticipated in all areas ,Fatimi who looked after us in the evening should be made a manager as she is so good .

We will go back again .

Room Tip: Sea room as fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that your enjoyed your holiday with us and your kind words regarding our hotel are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Arkin Palm Beach hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

our second visit to palm beach. the hotel is very clean with excellent service from Duygu and Indris on reception. we experienced problems again this year as per last years visit and thought matters would improve but they had not. Local weddings are big business for the hotel and on a Saturday we were advised that from 2.00 p.m that day we were not allowed to use the pool area because of a wedding. Also lots of noise from wedding party and the after wedding party on the sunday. They also use the beach bar for other local singing and dancing events again we complained and asked when this music would be stopping so we could go to sleep. There was a dress code notice displayed advising guests that for dinner no flip flops or shorts but the management ignored this and allowed guests to where whatever they like. If this hotel is trying to be a 5 star then flip flops and shorts at dinner is not in keeping with 5 star hotels. The men in black suits need to smile and actually engage with the paying clients. The lobby bar is extremely bad service waiting for a drink, sometimes you have to go to the bar to ask for a drink again not a 5 star. On the wedding day on Saturday, there was only one waiter in the dinning room for dinner and we were not asked if we wanted to have a drink as all the waiters were serving at the wedding. As a paying customer we expect first class service and not second class because the hotel is pampering to local people. Also local people are using the sun beds and not paying for this, we saw this with our own eyes again as a paying client this is not what is expected of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for choosing to stay at Arkin Palm Beach hotel again this year.
Weddings are a big part of the local culture and as with most five star hotels we also accommodate for local weddings. We do inform guests the day prior to any event which may affect the pool area. As well as the outdoor pool area we also have a beautiful sandy beach with ample sun loungers which our guests may use. On the day of any such wedding only some seating areas of the pool area would be affected until 4-5 pm. The events which we hold on the beach during the week are part of our hotel events and are open to both hotel and outside guests.

When we hold events we always have extra personnel working to cover the workload and this should in no way impact on the service we offer to other areas of the hotel, we continuously strive to maintain and improve our service levels and we are sorry that you were not happy regarding some aspects of your stay.

We do have a dress code for dinner which is in place to create a pleasant atmosphere for all of our guests. Under no circumstances should beach/sports shorts or flip flops be allowed into our restaurant during dinner service but being a hot country and a beach resort we do allow smart/tailored shorts as well as smart sandals.

As you will see from the majority of reviews on Trip Advisor the majority of our guests are very happy with the service they receive.

We hope the above mentioned points will not affect you returning to Arkin Palm Beach hotel and we are sure that your comments regarding our service were a one off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I spent two glorious weeks at the Palm Beach hotel with my parents and teenage daughter. This was such a relaxing holiday with a beautiful beach and a hotel fully deserving of its 5 stars. The hotel is contemporary but comfortable with good size rooms and modern bathrooms.
We had half board so ate in the hotel every night and the food was varied and high quality in the lovely beachside restaurant. Cyprus nights around the pool were particularly good with traditional entertainment and local food. Of particular note was how this hotel managed the challenge of catering for my daughter with coeliac disease. Led by the excellent guest relations manager, Idris, the chefs provided my daughter with a beautifully cooked gluten free meal for breakfast, lunch and dinner and as a result she left the holiday looking and feeling better than she has in a long time.
Thank you Palm Beach!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAZZY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us at Arkin Palm Beach hotel and that you were happy with the service you received as well as enjoying the Cyprus Evening.

Your comments regarding our personnel, hotel and that your daughter enjoyed her stay with us here makes us all very proud.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Arkin Palm Beach hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
0.0 mi away
Altun Tabya Hotel
Altun Tabya Hotel
#8 of 15 in Famagusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.7 mi away
Port View Hotel
Port View Hotel
#9 of 15 in Famagusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
5.2 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#41 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
7.2 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#10 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkin Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkin Palm Beach Hotel

Property: Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
Address: Nadir Yolu | Deve Limani, Famagusta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Famagusta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Arkin Palm Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkin Palm Beach Hotel is located in the ancient port city of Famagusta, North Cyprus. The Hotel offers "a Heaven on Earth Location" where the turquoise hues of the Mediterranean sea, the magnificence of its private golden beach, nature`s own beautiful greenery, and amazing sunsets all come together in a truly idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Arkin Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing