We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything brilliant but a few set backs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Majestic Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Apart from the builders digging away at the so called 'Majestic Beach' which im sure it will be lovely in a few months time, the Majestic Beach hotel is in a lovely spot right on the sea front. There are two large swimming pools, one in the front of the rooms and one in the front of the apartments. Having been given a suite for our family we were very impressed with what we recieved. We had a TV which had BBC world news on channel 13 or higher so look for that when you go! however we found that there were no bed lamps! The managers/owners are turkish - english and are very helpful and speak english very very well. The rooms were well equipped with an en suite and had one large double bed in one large bedroom and another single bed in the living room area (bearing in mind we were in a suite and paid no extra for it! ) Bogaz is a short walk along a rather busy road with hardly any footpaths or along the hotel beach. in Bogaz there are some extreemely nice restaurants by the sea but be careful the waiters see you coming and almost drag you into their restaurant not literally! The breakfasts in the hotel is a mixture between continental and english/ turkish, there is a lot of fresh bread, cheese, boiled eggs sometimes scrambled egg, turkish sausage in scrambled egg they do a potato dish aswell for the morning. The food in the hotel in the evening is lovely too. They lay out the table with wine glasses and table cloths - the lot. However, i do reccomend that you have a hire car as many tourist places are a fair distance from the hotel, not too far but way too far to walk! Famagusta is around 25 - 35 minutes from the hotel and there are many lovely beaches surrounding there... if your looking for a really nice quiet beach head to silver beach or a more adventurous and busy beach head for Famagusta Municiple beach which has a banana boat and water sports for you to try out. But be warned a lot of the residents do not speak english but they always take you to someone who does so if you get lost no need to panic! i found the hotel to be very nice and definately 4* possibly higher.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melly93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2009

Right, let's get my ONLY negative (with a silver lining, I might add) out of the way first - the beach. When the owners of this delightful little family-run hotel took it over at the end of last season, the beach was a bit neglected and needed some work doing to it. This was immediately arranged, but due to situations that were way beyond their control, this was delayed considerably and the work wasn't able to start until May 2009 (3 days before the end of our trip). The work on the beach was progressing nicely so it's my understanding that it should be very near completion at the time of writing. Once this is done, I can see this hotel becoming a very popular little place indeed.

We were more than happy with the cleanliness of the hotel. Rooms were cleaned every day and bedlinen and towels were changed daily. The hotel has two lovely, clean pools - one at the front and one at the rear of the hotel. The pool at the rear is great to sit around if you want the wonderfully cooling sea breeze to take the edge off the heat!

The atmosphere at the hotel was great. Peaceful, friendly and laid-back. If it's sunshine, rest and relaxation you're after then this is the place for you. The staff (from the management to the waiting staff) were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. We were half-board, which consisted of a wonderful, buffet-style breakfast and an evening meal. The food at the hotel was fantastic and we didn't have one bad meal. We did have one or two cock-ups with our meals though, but these were rectified immediately.

In a separate building, at the front of the hotel, is The Pub. The warm welcome and hospitality we received from Mus and his trusty band of barstaff was fantastic. The cocktails, should you wish to wish to try them, are expertly concocted and wonderful to drink... If you pride yourself with a strong constitution, ask Mus for a '77' and see how long it takes you to meander back to your hotel room! The hotel is wonderfully located - right on the beach and a 10 minute stroll away from a little cluster of fantastic restaurants, which we visited for lunch.

If you drive, hiring a car and taking a drive North to the beautiful, sometimes deserted beaches of The Karpaz region is a must. We went to Turtle Beach which took our breath away - it was beautiful. Keep your eyes peeled on the way to The Karpaz though as there are also one or two hidden little coves... sandy, deserted and beautiful. A car-hire place is conveniently situated right opposite the main entrance of the Hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Majestic Beach Hotel and if you're looking for a holiday to just kick back and relax, then I'd wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vern63London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We booked this hotel from 17 to 24 May 2009.
On arrival noticed car park & paths needed weeding.
The room, wardrobe door handles missing. No bedside lamps. Floor grubby.
Restaurant no table linen, no buffet and no half board menu, 2 choice starter, 2 choice main, no veg or salad. Chicken leg, roast potatoes timbale of rice, was main course.
No dessert.
Buffet breakfast mediocre. Cleaner mopping floor as we were eating. No smoking signs but manager & staff smoking in these areas.
No swim up bar as advertised, beach in front of hotel unusable due to concrete anti-tank blocks. Adjacent beach dirty.
This hotel is promoted as a 4*, but would struggle to make 3*.
There is only 1 restaurant & 1 bar which is in restaurant.
Overall very shabby.
We asked to be moved along with 6 other guests. Moved to 5* in Kyrenia.
Very disappointed. Owner. not really bothered.
Would steer well clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Majestic Beach Hotel is on the outskirts of Bogaz, about 5 to 10 minutes walk max on the road or along the coast. The beach starts a few yards towards Bogaz. Quite long and backed by a largegrass/corn field. Occasionally locals come to bathe there. Its OK really but basic. Fairly clean, no tar just a bit of seaweed on soft sand and pebbles. No sun beds, though. If you are fussy, the Bogaz restaurant (at the harbour) has a beach club with swept sandy beach, straw parasols & sun beds, free to customers.The hotel is presently importing a lot of sand for its own foreshore.

Handy for the beautiful Karpaz peninsula and Famagusta (We went by coach.)

There is an excellent spirit in the Hotel. The manager and staff are all very friendly and eager to please, Good wines, varied menu with generous portions of good food. Plenty of room in the large dining room, bar and paved terrace with sun shades. Large en-suite rooms with private balconies, good storage facilities, A.C. & constant hot water. Strangely, no bedside lights. Couldn't get Sky News but who's bothered anyway?

Two excellent large swimming pools with plenty of sunbeds & sturdy parasols. Occasional waiter service there.

During our stay the hotel hosted three functions: A Police dinner/ dance (extremely well behaved) a happy family engagement party and a get-together for Cypriots who originated near the Black Sea. Everybody was well behaved, with much enthusiastic dancing by many of those attending, including children. The Manager gave us warning of these events which rather than being an intrusion added to the interest and charm of the holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank homer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Having stayed at the Palm Beach near Famagusta for the past few years we were disappointed it was closing for re-furbishment but having discovered the Majestic Beach was open in Bogaz we were delighted to be returning to this part of North Cyprus. Yes the hotel staff were friendly but like other visitors found the hotel not quite ready for the season.I do wonder if they could cope with lots of guests. Requested the deads flies to be swept up and the pigeon mess cleaned off of the balcony and yes we did know it was beach front but a ploughed up field was hardly inspiring to sit beside the back pool which was dirty and needing the water changed. Undeterred we found some lovely empty beaches nearby and nice restuarants in Bogaz and Famagusta. I might return if only I could be guaranteed things had improved.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PattilouSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Went for a week here with my daughter, we had a super time.
A lovely family-run hotel, very friendly manager and his wife, always ready to help, all the staff friendly, excellent chef, food very good.
They arranged car hire for us very reasonable, lovely clean car. All the visitors were friendly too.
It was fairly quiet when we were there,which suited us fine, but hope for the managements sake it picks up a bit. Would definitely go there again. One drawback---- the beach, isn't majestic!!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biggles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We just had a pleasant week at the Majestic Beach Hotel but don't believe all you read in the brochures. It has one restaurant with a bar and a seperate pub. It doesn't have a pool bar or a beach. The beach is coming later in the Summer according to the manager, but check out my pictures as it is presently rocky scrubland. Even so, we quite liked the hotel and had a good time. The staff were generally friendly and helpful and happy to make you fresh eggs, Turkish coffee or omelettes on request at breakfast.

Bogaz is pleasant with a few bars and restaurants serving fresh fish and grilled meats only a short, if slightly unpleasant walk away from the hotel (there are only intermittent paths so you walk on the busy road).

The weather wasn't great during our stay but we hired a car and found plenty of sights to see, Famagusta, Salamis, castles, monastries etc.
So a good holiday overall, the hotel could be a bit cleaner, (picking up used cups and litter around the pool within 3 days would be a good start) and they could be more honest about the facilities, but I would still recommend it for a peaceful break.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
0.0 mi away
Altun Tabya Hotel
Altun Tabya Hotel
#7 of 16 in Famagusta
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balci Plaza
Balci Plaza
#5 of 16 in Famagusta
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Beach Hotel

Address: Bogaz | Mersin 10 Turkey, Famagusta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majestic Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Majestic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Beach
Majestic Beach Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing