We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real Cyprus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karpas Peninsula

Ranked #173 of 869 things to do in Cyprus
Attraction details
Burnley
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The real Cyprus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Taken on a tour by Direct Traveller we travelled from Kyrenia on a minibus up to the very top of this last unspoiled region of Northern Cyprus. Since our arrival on the island we had been slightly disappointed by the overall 'look' of the area. The urban sprawl seems to go on for mile after mile, even along the coast on the way to Guzelyurt. The population seem to have scant regard for their environment and everywhere you look you see rubbish and debris scattered carelessly... ( why doesn't someone do something about this plague of tin cans and plastic bottles and abandoned vehicles?) And then, finally, we are taken north and the real beauty of this gorgeous island becomes clear! Mile after mile of unspoiled wilderness, interesting ancient ruins at Ayios Trias, and Saint Andrews Basilica, and the wild donkeys, which are like eating machines on legs! Take something for them to eat.... but Do Not stand behind any of them... they have a vicious kick! And the most beautiful beaches on the island, where turtles lay their eggs. Karpas restored my faith in the promise of Kyrenia being the most beautiful part of the whole island... Note to Government.... Clean this place up and you will retain one of the most beautiful islands on the planet!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wild golden beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The beach we visited has fine sand, great water for swiming and overall it is a peacefull place to relax under the sun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cristinabucuresti50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't do the day tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I went on a day tour of the pensinsula from Kyrenia in November. Having no car, this seemed the best option but we found it over long. The tour guide was initially interesting but he went on and on and we found it rather wearing. Having said that, the peninsula was beautiful. The tour guide insisted that the Greek communityof some 500 people living at the end of the peninsula exists in great harmony with the Turks. As I speak Modern Greek, I quizzed the priest in a church we went to and he didn't seem to agree that this was the case. He also told me that money for the restoration of his dilapidated church was available but that building work was being delayed by the authorities.

We only saw one donkey all day so if you go I hope you see more as they are trumpeted to be a big attraction of the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank nutellaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cyprus Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very nice beach ... one of the nicest beach in meditteran. I was there more times, in July - August is very hot there - more than 40 celsius. Water is clean and hot . Temperature of water in mid october was about 24 Celsius. Good for couples . Not for partying.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Golden Beach ( turtle beach)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This beach is absolutly the most wonderful beach on the whole Island. Beautiful sand, but extremly hot. Be sure to put your shoes on. The water is lovely - very hot and clean. The beach is normaly very quite with just a few sunbeds and umbrellas.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karpas Peninsula also viewed

Yeni Erenkoy, Famagusta District
Dipkarpaz, Famagusta District
 
Trikomo, Famagusta District
Yeni Erenkoy, Famagusta District
 

Been to Karpas Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing