We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Sonnenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parkhotel Sonnenhof to your Saves list
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mareestrasse 29, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vaduz
Certificate of Excellence
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
“A truly excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in late October for one night while travelling through Switzerland enjoying the discounted offseason rates in 4 and 5 star hotels. The hotel itself was wonderful, the view from the room, the location... but what I remember the most was the restaurant. The dinner was fantastic. I had a pesto, spinach, and veal ravioli that rivals most of the food I have eaten in Italy. The soup was phenomenal. For desert, the sorbet sampler was heaven. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful. I have never been to a breakfast buffet that had champagne chilling around the room for mimosas.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for this excellent comment! We are delighted to hear that you like our make-over and enjoyed your meal in our Restaurant “marée”. We would be pleased, to welcome and spoil you soon again. Best regards from the whole team of Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    38
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
158
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Park-Hotel Sonnenhof for two nights in September, 2013. Our room (Double room Deluxe) was very clean and comfortable, and walked out to a very spacious patio, with incredible views of the mountains, the castle, and the town of Vaduz below. The room had a large king bed, a desk, and a small eating/relaxing area. The patio had several chairs and a table, and a large lounge chair - perfect for reading and enjoying the view. The bathroom was spacious, modern and very clean. The service was very attentive, from the front desk to the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was extremely generous and varied, and the cooked-to-order eggs were tasty. We had dinner in the hotel one night, which, while pricey, was extremely tasty and the service was impeccable. The owner of the hotel came to our table and greeted us by name, and spoke to us for awhile, which was very much appreciated. The location is quite good, a short walk down to Vaduz, and we walked across the pedestrian bridge into Switzerland as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chemyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for this excellent comment. We are very happy to hear that you like our make-over and enjoyed your stay here. We would be pleased, to welcome and spoil you soon again. Best regards from the whole team of Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel. It is located on a hill overlooking Vaduz. Off to one side is the famous castle. The service & accommodations were first class.

The rooms are not air conditioned. Whether or not that is important depends upon the time of year and your personal tastes. Our only complaint was that in our room the wireless internet was rather weak. They offered to move us to another room on account of this.

The restaurant connected to the hotel is absolutely outstanding and should not be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comment on trip advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again. Best regards from the whole team of the Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to arrive to a beautiful beautique hotel. The staff were great, perfect English, very friendly and helpful with all our questions. It is a little way from downtown, you do need a car. The room was large and great, with a great view. The pool and sauna were just right. The restaurant was fabulous, great food, although the service was a little slow. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atmast3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comment about our hotel!Hopefully, we have the pleasure to welcome you again! In the meantime, we send you best regards from Sonnehof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaroslavl, Russia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we spend weekend in this wonderful hotel,everything was perfect, our room was named Norwegian Cottage and as we find out later its was the best( we saw others while lady clean.) this one was most cozy and romantic.everything was so clean and nice, so perfectly decorated. location was perfect also , breakfast was super tasty and feed us so good. we had some room service food also which was very tasty. all the hotel territory was so beautiful and clean. i wish to stay more days in this paradise corner,it is perfect place for honeymoon as well. i had massage there its was ok, ( had better) spa area great also but i wish water was a bit warmer..so we enjoyed very much,this hotel and i would like back one day:)advice everyone if go there to chouse this hotel if u can afford it:)also i would like bathroom to be more spacy:Pbut was ok. thank u very much for our great stay:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
What a great comment, thank you so much. It was also a great pleasure for us, to accommodate you. Hopefully it won’t be long until your next visit. See you soon and best wishes from the whole team of Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I joined friends for dinner at the Michelin-starred Sonnenhof recently. Having stayed there some eight years ago I knew this was going to be another memorable experience. My scallops were among the best I've ever tasted... and the accompanying melon cubes marinated in white balsamic vinegar really hit the spot. Rowan opted for the more adventurous marinated tuna which he said was sublime... And Shirley had the very large ravioli in consommé. My main course of medallions of venison was, again, among the best I've ever tasted. We tried the Liechtenstein Chardonnay for accompaniment which was excellent. And my cheese board, lovingly described by a lovely waitress, completed this fabulous meal. The Sonnenhof is not cheap but it is among the very best. My friends' suite cost around £500 a night and the meal about £100 a head but with THAT view of the Swiss Alps, who could fault it? Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Facing the Swiss Alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment. We are delighted to hear that you like our house and enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant “marée”. Hopefully it won’t be long until your next visit. See you soon and best wishes from the whole team of Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although not much to see here in Vaduz (a lot in the sorrounding area), the Sonnenhof is definitely a place to come visit and enjoy. The hotel is just as close to perfection as you can possibly imagine. And make sure you don't miss breakfast at the amazing Eagle's Nest terrace

Room Tip: Try to have the suites in the garden level with direct access from it and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier_d_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and also for your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best regards from the whole team of the Park Hotel Sonnenhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaduz
0.5 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#2 of 5 in Vaduz
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Landhaus am Giessen
Landhaus am Giessen
#3 of 5 in Vaduz
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Meierhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
b_smart hotel
b_smart hotel
#1 of 2 in Bendern
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landgasthof Muehle
Landgasthof Muehle
#4 of 5 in Vaduz
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Schatzmann
Hotel Schatzmann
#2 of 4 in Triesen
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Sonnenhof

Property: Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Address: Mareestrasse 29, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein
Phone Number:
Location: Liechtenstein > Vaduz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vaduz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkhotel Sonnenhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in a charming mountain setting overlooking town & Rhine valley, 10 km from Buchs train station (Switzerland). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Parkhotel Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Sonnenhof Vaduz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing