We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bags of Character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Loewen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof Loewen
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vaduz
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Bags of Character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had the pleasure of a night here recently. The oldest hotel in Vaduz - it has bags of character. My large room was full of antique furniture and was very comfortable. A nice place to stay. Only gripe was the water temperature.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeinsterAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
8
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel or "gasthof" has only 8 rooms but despite the size the family running it offers very professional and excellent service. The room that I stayed in was very nice with beautiful furniture. The bathroom was big with a bathtub and a shower in the tub. Nice and big towels. Everything was very clean. The room key is also the key for the front door if you go out very early or come in late. The breakfast was good although the selection was not very big, but you don´t really expect that in such a small hotel. The family that owns the hotel produces their own wine and I can highly recommend the Pinot Grigio. I did not have the opportunity to try the restaurant. The only drawback is the road just outside of the hotel - there was so much noise from the road that if I hadn´t used the earplugs (provided by the hotel) I would not have slept much. But with the earplugs it was fine. The hairdryer is the "old hotel style" hairdryer that has no power and it took forever to use.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gudrunjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Don't look further if you are looking for an authentically stay in Vaduz. One minute walk from shops - a great restaurant in the hotel ( visited by locals which proves the quality ) Only use earplugs in bed for the morning traffic jam (which wasn't a problem for me)

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Antwerpen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on April 18th. On that day, it rained. I walked town and went to Vaduz castle. I came back early in the evening and took dinner at the restaurant in the hotel.
There was nothing to do, then I went to bed around nine o'clock.
On the next day, I waked up early in the morning.
And the terrible experience began when I was gouing out to walk town.
I came down to the reception but there was no one and yet door of the entrance was locked.
I rang the bell, knocked the door of the restaurant and shouted "o-i".
At the beginning I knocked weakly, but strongly gradually and screemed at last.
Of course I checked everywhere in the hotel, but every doors were locked.
It elapsed almost one our and it became near seven o'clock when breakfast would be served.
I expected someone came to cook for breakfast and noticed the very very strong door knocking, but it was no succeed. I was confined completely and I remembered the movie "The collector".
I thought I can't go out from this hotel forever.
I noticed to try to insert my room key to the key hole of the door.
And the door opened miraculously!!
The outside was very fine and It was a fine view that mountains were covered with snow.
I walked town for about half an hour and cameback around 7.15a.m.
I took breakfast in a great hurry and checked out to take 8.06 bus to Feldkirch
at the bus stop just in front of the hotel.
The hotel was homelike and people were all nice and friendly,
but I have to say there's a ploblem in management.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadahiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Now first things first. Liechtenstein is HORRENDOUSLY expensive. That said, this hotel is not. The ordinary Holiday Inn equivalent down the road was 50% more expensive than this! You will feel as though you've stepped back in time to 17th Century Europe. The rooms are spacious, luxurious in terms of genuine antiques and gorgeous in an Olde Wolrde way. The original part of the Hotel was built in the 14th century so if you're after 'authentic' then this is it! A stone's throw from the main center of town and a short drive to the castle, the hotel is perfectly situated. The restaurant is delightful both for breakfast and for dinner - which was quite impressive. We ended up in Liechtenstein by accident when we took a wrong turn on the Swiss border; this was a very happy accident indeed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiraBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
457 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

The usual hotel I am staying in Vaduz was full so I tried the Lowen. While it is mostly known as a restaurant, it has a few rooms and actually claims to be the oldest hotel in town. The Lowen is slightly outside of the city centre. But given Vaduz' size, it is only about a ten minutes walking distance...
Check in was quite fast. I got a big room (probably a form of upgrade) that made me feel like at my late Grandma's: the smell of the wax, the old (and well maintained) furniture, an old big key, ... Nice. No business amenities were available though. The TV screen was smaller than in a plane and that was the only piece of the modern world in the room. Breakfast was all right. Food is good in general at the Lowen's.
In short, if you go there for leisure, trying the Lowen might be nice. But for business, stick to the great Residence Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaduz
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#2 of 5 in Vaduz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Landhaus am Giessen
Landhaus am Giessen
#3 of 5 in Vaduz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Landgasthof Muehle
Landgasthof Muehle
#4 of 5 in Vaduz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Meierhof
1.5 mi away
Hotel Schlosswald
Hotel Schlosswald
#4 of 4 in Triesen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Loewen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Loewen

Property: Gasthof Loewen
Address: Herrengasse 35, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein
Location: Liechtenstein > Vaduz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vaduz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gasthof Loewen 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gasthof Loewen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing