We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give you the freedom effect”

Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Vaduz
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 2000, the Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein is a leading exhibition institution with a special focus in international modern and contemporary art. It is also the national gallery of Liechtenstein. The stunning architecture in the centre of Vaduz also hosts a café to sit and relax.
Balzers Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Give you the freedom effect”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Big spaces fill out with modern art. I visited the Museum when they had the Dont Smile exhibition. The staff were extremelly helpful, as I do not speak German, they provided me with an English written information about the exhibition. It is big on size but quite small in terms of content. Then you can enjoyed some Sushi or browse for some souvenirs. It is worthy to give a visit as it is right at the center of Vaduz.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank polita_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eschen, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A weird Sushi place”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Who would think that you could find a Sushi place inside the Museum of Art of Liechtenstein? I had a few times sushi for lunch there, and once at night. Honnestly, avoid going there at night. You would feel very lonely inside this huge space.
Sushi are not bad at lunch, but having had sushis in other countries, this is not our favourite, even if the restaurant is spacious, clean and quiet.
So far, my best sushis-for-foreigners were served in South Africa at the Waterkant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2nisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Constantly changing Art exhibits”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Liechtenstein Kunstmuseum (Liechtenstein Museum of Fine Arts) has regularly changing exhibits, mostly displaying modern art and modern art installations. There is also a permanent exhibit of the Prince's own collection, but it is only a very modest part of his large collection.
Don't expect to see cultural or traditional items in this museum. You will have to go across the street to the Landesmuseum. The Kunstmuseum is to display art and not reflect the traditional history of this small country.
The Kunstmuseum in itself is very interesting from an architectural point of view. It is a “black box” of tinted concrete and black basalt stone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank posemuckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“interesting architectural studies display”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the exhibit concerning architecture and envirnonmental furniture. I toured the Kunstmuseum for approximately one hour. I'm glad I visited Kunstmuseum, but I was much more impressed by the Landesmuseum of Vaduz where I spent around two hours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kwansaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level Contributor
412 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein was rather poor”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The museum was a disappointment. The Prince of Liechtenstein has a large collection of old art, but this collection is situated in Vienna. In this museum they have only some modern art pieces and they had only 2 rooms open.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank leffex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein also viewed

Vaduz, Liechtenstein
 

Been to Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing