We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, cute but expensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landhaus am Giessen
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vaduz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a nice little room with balcony (too cold to use, unfortunately) with a view of the castle on the hill. The room was decorated in a rustic alpine knotty-pine fashion, the bed was two singles pushed together, and the bathroom was a bit dated.
The staff had varying degrees of English, but they were lovely and tried very hard to assist us in any way possible.
There was an indoor pool which we unfortunately didn't have a chance to use, but it seemed to be used by the locals as there were constantly people coming and going from the carpark.
Breakfast was adequate, but not extensive: a buffet of cheese, bread, meat, fruits, yoghurt and cereal. However there were a couple of fruit flies which crawled all over the exposed food, which was offputting, and as the staff did not check on the buffet they did not notice them.
There is a small charge for parking and it is a short walk into town.
For the standard of the hotel, the room should cost about half of what they charge, but it's expensive because it's in Liechtenstein: you pay (heavily) for the location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastalBreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September 2012. Firstly, a note of caution on getting there. We had lost our pre-printed maps of directions to our hotels and so arrived at Schaan-Vaduz station with just an address and the vague knowledge that if you follow Landstrasse and eventually turn right into Zollstrasse we'd be there. Not knowing which bus stop we'd need to get off (there are several called "Vaduz, something") we decided to walk with our 20kg bags so as not to go past the hotel. This is around a 5km walk and really not comfortable (although we did see a lot of the country) so to anybody thinking of arriving by this route or from either Buchs SG train station in Switzerland or Feldkirch in Austria I strongly recommend taking one of the Liechtenstein Buses to Spital, Vaduz bus stop and then its 2 minutes walk from there.
So anyway on to the hotel itself. The staff were very welcoming, being able to provide maps and directions to restaurants.
The breakfast was OK, nothing spectacular with a decent variety of options available but I've seen a lot better as well as a lot worse.
The rooms are very clean, comfortable and a good size. Ours had a balcony looking out over Vaduz including the castle and the cathedral which is a truly great view.
The price is hefty. We paid 165CHF for one night and anywhere else I would consider that extortionate but in Liechtenstein? That really doesn't seem to bad at all.
The location is great really, it's 5 minutes walk to the centre of Vaduz which we really liked, Liechtenstein is a quiet, pleasant country and is worth a visit. I'd stay here again if I were to return to Liechtenstein.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed with my son for one night and we were impressed by the warm and personal welcome that we received. The rooms were comfotable, but the bare walls and lack of furniture made it look very uninspiring. Having said that, the balcony and the view to the church and castle helped to make up for the inside of the room.

It was good to have a free car park and also free Wifi which actually worked well. Breakfast was of limited variety, but the bread, cheese and cereals were all tasty.

One note of caution - the wall sockets in this hotel are a shape that I have never seen before and do note fit UK, EU or US adaptors, which meant that I could not charge up any electrical items when I was there.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Stuart1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We enjoyed our two nights there. They even programmed our GPS! Very beautiful country...eat at New Castle a short walk from the hotel? During the day take a hike to the castle and visit the vineyards.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Enjoyed our two-night stay here very much. The room and bath were extremely clean. The bed was comfortable and the duvet and pillows fluffy. We had a small balcony from which we could see the Prince's estate and the city cathedral. These places were lit at night for a nice view as well. The breakfast wasn't spectacular, but had several types of bread, meat, and cheese, as well as cereals. Enough to make a satisfying meal. The owner was very nice and helpful, even looking up bus times for us. Everything was within walking distance for Vaduz and the bus stop is fairly close as well. Definitely would stay here again should I visit Vaduz again.

Room Tip: Get one facing the church and palace/estate, if possible. The other side overlooks fields with moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeddadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

On the bright side: very good breakfast buffet included in the room rate, very good wifi, sunny balcony with beautiful view of the Alps and the prince's castle.
Not so good: my king size bed is actually two single beds put side by side, with separated bed sheets, there is no top bed sheet and the soap is cheap and liquid.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennerSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Located at a ten minutes walk from the center of Vaduz. Quiet location (as all Vaduz is quiet). Room with view on hills, balcony !. Breakfast was plain, but for me adequate with nice bread and good coffee (what does someone need as well)... Room was extremely clean as was the - outdated - bathroom. What I did not like so much was that all walls in the room were white and there was a - I do not know the english word - " plastic" material instead of carpet or wood on the floor. Simple but real local gaststube restaurant at roundabout at 2 minutes walk. Overall adequate but not spectacular restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainriderUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaduz
1.0 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Landgasthof Muehle
Landgasthof Muehle
#5 of 5 in Vaduz
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#2 of 5 in Vaduz
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Meierhof
4.8 mi away
Hotel Turna
Hotel Turna
#1 of 4 in Malbun
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Schlosswald
Hotel Schlosswald
#3 of 4 in Triesen
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus am Giessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus am Giessen

Address: Zollstrasse 16, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein
Location: Liechtenstein > Vaduz
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vaduz
Price Range: $167 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhaus am Giessen 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Landhaus am Giessen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing