We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house in a lovely part of France”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Les Martinets

Pool and part of garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and part of garden
Master bedroom Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Pool and part of garden
Master bedroom
Dining room
Part of Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Landing
Pool from balcony
Part of ground floor bedroom
Single bedroom with French bed
Part of lower garden
Lounge
Lounge
Part of Kitchen
Ground floor bathroom
Family bathroom
Lake,with sandy beach-Lac du Gurcon just below village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Villefranche-de-Lonchat, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy C
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in a lovely part of France”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The photos that advertise this house do not do it justice. It is spacious and the pool is fantastic. My husband, myself and two children stayed for a week with my Sister-in-law and her family and we had a really enjoyable time. There was plenty of room for 6 adults and two 17 year olds. The cooking facilities and kitchen are very well equipped, we made use of the barbecue as well. The village is very pretty and a two minute walk away, while the supermarket is an easy 10 minute drive away. Kim & Russ who own the house were very helpful and friendly, Kim even helped us plan a canoe boat trip on The Dordogne and helped us get some tickets printed from an email in the village. I can't recommend this property enough, we had a superb holiday.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything, the house, pool, village etc
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan E
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A French Gem”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed here 4 years ago and this return visit didn't fail to impress me again. The house is wonderful; furnished tastefully with antiques, ornaments and pictures, giving it a luxurious yet homely feel. It is spotlessly clean and has everything you need to self cater. The pool is beautiful and is a welcome addition to relieve the heat of the sun. (Towels provided!)
The village has a few shops to buy groceries, bread etc and a chemist. In August, the village square has a 'party' on Friday evenings with food and drink stalls. There is a local bar and hotel too; so it can be a quiet retreat with fun mixed in as and when you want it.
All in all, a fantastic place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair6
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice 2 weeks away in the Dordogne”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a really enjoyable 2 weeks in Les Martinets. Kim couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming and the location was perfect for us. A nice bar and restaurant in the village, baker and general store all in walking distance, and then close enough to drive to a lot of the sights of the Dordogne (Monbazillac, perigeaux, Bergerac, st emilion etc).

Only reason for not giving 5 stars was that there was music playing from the local salle de fete on one night until 4am (Kim complained to the Mayors office on our behalf the very next day), and the house had a few hazards for a crazy 18 month old child, something which we didn't think about when booking.

Overall, however, a very good holiday home in a very good location. We had a lot of fun and would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T
1 review
“Will stay again very good”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

If you like to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of a little place this is it.
There are a couple of shops to get local resources and a lovely lake.
There are local vinyards when you need to stock up.
But the place we stayed is fab

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
Thanks to you all, looking forward to seeing you all again.
Kim and Russ+Charlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Date of stay: September 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John C
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great house, village and weather.”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The situation of this house is excellent; close to all the village amenities but still quiet and private. We travelled around the area (Bergerac and Bordeaux), but we all enjoyed the house and pool, so spent a lot of time there. We didn't find a good weekday market, but the one at Ste Foy la Grande on a Saturday is well worth a visit. Locals and visitors get together to have dinner at the market on a Friday evening, something we hadn't come across before. It is very popular, so get there before 7pm! We were struck by how friendly the village is (and the boulangerie pastries are delicious). With kids, we would recommend visiting the lake which is a couple of miles away. With adults, there are vineyards every way you turn. The landlords were very helpful and hospitable. We needed to rent a wheelchair while we were there and the landlord arranged it all for us. Great holiday!

John & Ann Currie

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing