We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My little piece of Heaven !!”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area
Courtyard from Above
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Pool area
Courtyard from Above
Master Bedroom Coco
Kings Size Master Bedroom in Chez Coco, Juliet Balcony and en suite shower room
full height window
Living space
View from balcony in master bedroom
there are two en suite shower rooms. Fluffy egyptian towels.
Bathroom Chez Coco, each bedroom is en suite with identical shower rooms
Living area with Flat screen, TV, UK TV, DVD and iPod docking
Pool in the evening
Play area
Garden and terrace with outdoor eating and BBQ, South Views
Main House
View from the South
Main house
Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rouillac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
James C
2 reviews
“My little piece of Heaven !!”
Reviewed November 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I am known for been hard to please with high standards, this was my third year in a row at this fantastic venue and have booked for a further 2 years, say no more !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2017
It now feels like summer wouldn't be the same without you and your lovely family. We love havign you here to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrstips
St Albans
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great hosts”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you want a place that feels like visiting friends in a beautifully restored former priory in rolling countryside and great facilities for children, look no further. Start your day by feeding the chickens and tortoises then walking the gentle dogs around the vineyards. Enjoy coffee in the sun while the kids play with the biggest tub of Lego in the world. Maybe drive the short distance to an activity like lake-swimming, pony- riding, accrobranche (like Go Ape but cheaper). After a spot of lunch laze around the lovely deep pool in the sun or shade on comfy loungers and beanbags. Then either fire up the BBQ or better still, indulge in the table d'hote: kids' version first with communal dining on gourmet spag bol and massive bowls of ice cream; then kids are whisked off to do football training or whacky art projects and the adults sit under the fairy lit pergola with blankets for the advancing evening chill and eat Steph's heavenly three course meal and enjoy getting to know one another.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for your lovely words. it was a real pleasure to get to know you both and your lovely boys. I hope there is a next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic R
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exactly as expected, a fantastic 2 week stay..”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

After reading the reviews it was great to see this place lived up to the comments from previous guests. I'll try to add to them but really this place is a must visit - we will be back I'm sure!
The gite was perfect for us, family of 3 with a 9mth old. Clean and tidy and most importantly very comfortable. Bedsheets etc all lovely quality and we all slept there well. Some BBC channels so we could even watch Wimbledon!
All baby equipment requested was provided, and more, and was great quality. The wee one loved the cot. The kiddies play area was great for energy sapping the baby, and the pool (perfectly heated) is clean and relaxing.
A lot of reviews talk about the food - rightly so, Steph the host clearly has a love for cooking and we took advantage of that 4/5 times! Varied menus and she clearly takes into account requests - go for the white chocolate cheesecake and thank me afterwards. Take expandable waistline clothes.
Steph and her family are all very welcoming and great company and they gave me the impression that whatever we wanted day or night they would do their best for us. Exactly what you want to hear when you arrive.

All in all, I'd recommend this to anyone, travelling with kids is not always easy but when this is waiting for you it's totally worth it.

Location is good, hire car or own car is a must for exploring, I'd advise visiting Cognac (30 mins) and Ille de Re (2hrs but easy drive).

I'm only just getting over my post holiday blues....

Thanks Steph and all, hope F is enjoying the phone!
Dom and Fi and M.

ps Having the BBQ ready and waiting to go with one stroke of a match was a great touch!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thank you for your lovely words! It's so worthshile with such lovely guests. We'd love to welcome you all back again and see Little Miss M growing up. Suzie misses her. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
A real pleasure to host you all again and hope to do so again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie1201...
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I stayed in the beautiful Chez Coco gite for the second time this year. Still faultless! We had a wonderful relaxing stay. The May family are just the best hosts, very welcoming & helpful. We took advantage of the home cooked 3 course dinners on offer which were second to none. Why would you want to eat out when you can have such superb food hand delivered to your table. The weather was lovely as was the pool which is now open for the season. We don't have any young children now but would highly recommend a stay during the summer months for anyone with a young family. The Courtyard is all very secure and very safe with the opportunity to be sociable or as private as you wish. We will certainly be returning later in the year to explore more of the lovely Charente region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole stay.
Liked least: What's not to like?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
A real pleasure to host you both again and we look forward to your return! Thank you for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gieta C
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Comfortable & Welcoming Accommodation”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We all thoroughly enjoyed our week at The Courtyard. It was very relaxing and private. Stephanie is very friendly and helpful and was there to make sure we all had a great time. Excellent serene location to get away from the busy everyday life we lead. Our accommodation was very well equipped offering a very homely luxury stay. Definitely would recommend to friends and family to stay here and we will be back too.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2015
It was a great pleasure to meet you all and spend time chatting with you. I am very much looking forward to a return visit from you and I've been practising with my spices!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie...
Mol, Belgium
1 review
“charming gite for families with little children and delicious table-d'hote”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful gite with magnificent view, kids loved the playground and the pool area. Everything stylish and spotless.
Stephanie was a wonderful hostess: what a pleasure to find a delicious meal in fridge upon arrival after a very long drive with the little ones, she took care of our kids special meal requests, she organized a pony ride, and she and charlie or suzy and layla are always in for a chat or a stroke, respectively, at the courtyard. In brief: Vacation with kids, while mum and dad could relax while enjoying pineau at our terrace or Stephanie's fantastic cooking in the company of the other lovely guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The concept: charming gite with table d'hote and ideal for little kids
Liked least: Poor wifi connection in the house, outside was ok
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing