We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Comfortable Gite”
other travelers have booked this property
Moulin Rompu panorama
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moulin Rompu panorama
The Cottage Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Moulin Rompu panorama
The Cottage
Dining area
Kitchen
Lounge area
Bedroom
Pool at night
Estuary view from front door
The beach at St Georges-de-Didonne
Sunset at the beach
Yacht Marina in Mortagne
Yachts in Mortagne port
Sunset view from garden
A nearby beach
Cottage and pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mortagne-sur-Gironde, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eric P
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Gite”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in this Gite for two weeks and have to say we had a very comfortable holiday. The Gite is equipped with very good quality fittings and has everything one would need on a holiday.
Internally the Gite is very user friendly and has all the mod cons you would associate with up-market properties and has an abundance of useful information leaflets etc about the area.
Externally you have your own private sunbathing and garden area set in the grounds of the owner’s garden. The swimming pool is beautiful and heated most of the time and, as we were very lucky with the weather, provided great relaxation after a day out.
The views are superb across the Gironde and it is always very peaceful and quiet.
We are a mature couple and have travelled France extensively over the years staying in many Gites, good and bad. We can confidently say that this Gite is one of the best we have stayed in and would recommend it particularly for people who like a comfortable place to stay with access to many nice places to visit.
The owners are lovely people to meet but are very discreet, striking the perfect social balance with guests in our opinion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very User Friendly and Location
Liked least: At times lots of flying insects! Some biting!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First rate accommodation in fabulous location with the friendliest of hosts.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to the cottage at Moulin Rompu and it certainly will not be our last. Everything about the cottage is first rate; from decor to design, everything has been carefully planned to ensure guests have a wonderful holiday. Visitors could easily spend their entire holiday relaxing in the immaculate garden and enjoying the beautiful view over the estuary, with an occasional dip in the pool, but make sure you visit the lovely sandy beaches close by. We had a delicious meal at 'La Table' in Meursac and the fireworks display in Mortagne was amazing. Howard and Liz do everything to make their visitors feel at home with their friendly advice and thoughtful recommendations. They are the perfect hosts for the perfect holiday and we loved every minute of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful view from the property.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colin H
Oakley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location, wonderful gite and superb hosts.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

When we first contacted the owners(Howard & Liz) regarding the property they could not have been more helpful They gave us lots of useful information regarding the gite and the surrounding areas, even supplying maps.. During our stay the owners were courteous and unobtrusively helpful.

The property is modern as are all of the amenities. Plenty of room for two people. It is wonderful to sit outside the gite and look at the wonderful scenery and wildlife. The swimming pool is a bonus.

It is about a ten minute walk to the village (a handful of shops) and a further ten minute walk to the Port where there are a few restaurants. However, there are many interesting places to visit nearby. You can choose to visit historical towns or spend a day on stunning beaches. This place has something for everyone.

All in all we were very pleased with our holiday. As reasonably seasoned travellers in France we felt that this was one of our best trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gite and it's location
Liked least: Not really a problem but ideally there would have been a bar/restaurant a little nearer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing