We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Matelots

Matelots
Ranked #20 of 946 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best place in lux city. If you don't know yet specialities from Brittany please give it a try.
Service is fantastic and will discover new tastes from the best country : Brittany !
Do not hesitate, please go ahead.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 249vincentp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatelotsLuxembourg, Responsable commercial at Matelots, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Vincent,

Thank you very much for your comment which give good energies to the team !

That's always a pleasure to show the specialities from Brittany to our visitors ;)

See you soon,

Marjorie,
Team Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you like galettes this is the place for you. A huge variety of them are here for you to try. The services spot on, and the staff speak good English for those who prefer it. Some of the galettes are very filling and some less so. Ask the server. Also a good choice of ciders are here. Best in town for sure. And beers too! It’s not a huge place so you may have to wait for an outside table. Smoking is prolific in Luxembourg at the outside tables of most restaurants though? So if this puts you off, choose an inside table.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank turgonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatelotsLuxembourg, Responsable commercial at Matelots, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Turgonuk,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are happy to see that the "Matelots experience" was good for you ;)

See you soon,

Marjorie,
Team Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Amount of food enough for breakfast definitely not for a lunch or dinner.
My ham was smelling really bad, and still the waitress did not change my plate.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank enzo3022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatelotsLuxembourg, Responsable commercial at Matelots, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2019
Google Translation

Bonjour Monsieur,

Nous sommes heureux que 9 mois après votre visite vous vous rappeliez de nous, même si cela est dans des termes négatifs.

Au vu de la durée que vous avez mis pour nous faire cet éloge, nous espérons que vous n'avez pas été gravement malade durant cette période.

Nous espérons que Trip Advisor demandera un jour un ticket de caisse qui prouvera la venue des clients dans l'établissement afin de pouvoir le critiquer de façon fondé.

L'ensemble de l'équipe du Matelots s'associe à moi et espère ne pas vous revoir de si tôt.

La Responsable de Salle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

Not the type of food we're used to but nonetheless delicious. The staff were attentive and helpful and the waitress explained the menu and different choices. There was a little taster to start. The galette (forestiere) was really tasty and filling. I managed a sweet crepe to finish with cream and ice cream. Not a cheap meal but well worth the experience.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatelotsLuxembourg, Responsable commercial at Matelots, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sue,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are happy that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Kenavo ar wech all ! (bye, seeyou soon!)

Marjorie,
Team Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Yes, Art on a Plate. We arrived and were greeted by 2 young women who seemed to be managing and running the whole place. We immediately ordered a bottle of Apple Cider. Yum. We then decided on two different crepes, a savory crepe and a sweet crepe. The Savoyarde with Reblecon Cheese, ham and potatoes arrived split into s servings from one. Absolutely delicious. It was beautiful. The chef is an artist. When we ordered our sweet crepe we were having a hard time deciding so I asked our server to surprise us. And once again the "Art" arrived on two plates. Class at its best. I think we got the Le Bateau Ivre. Don't ask what was in it. I just know it was fantastic and beautiful. Service was great. The atmosphere is lovely. Prices are very reasonable. Highly recommend and will certainly return.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chefluee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatelotsLuxembourg, Responsable commercial at Matelots, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cheffluee,

Thank you very much for your kindness :)

All the team is really happy to know that your experience with us was good !

Kenavo ar wech all !

Marjorie
Team Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matelots also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Matelots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing