We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good chinese in downtown LUX”
Review of Palais de Chine

Palais de Chine
Ranked #339 of 769 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good chinese in downtown LUX”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Restaurant is conveniently located in downtown near the Chamber of Deputies. They were open relatively late. Service was very good and food was good. Chicken chop suey was not fantastic but just OK; needed more chicken. Fried Rice was VERY good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    54
    32
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Très compliqué - Very Complicated!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Visited with Scottish friends who are Luxembourg Residents on Sunday 15th September, 2013.
First the good news - nice location, good ambience and clean. Now the bad news - food and service. Staff had no name badges, so in an effort to be amenable, I asked our Waiter (in my Schoolboy French) what his name was - he replied (in French) Very Complicated, then would not divulge his name. At this point I felt like re-assuring him that I was not with the Immigration Authorities and that he need not feel nervous about giving his name. The rest of the Staff were sullen and uncommunicative over the course of our visit. I chose for my Main Course a Seafood Noodle Soup from a range of Noodle Soups on offer - ranging from around 14 Euros up to 22 + Euros for mine. I enlisted my friends help in finding the "Seafood" in the bowl of noodles. The final count was three smallish prawns, several pieces of extremely chewy squid (we think) the remainder of the contents being vegetable in origin. If any of the staff, who appeared to be keen to close shop for the night had noticed - they would have seen that , almost all of the bowl was not consumed. In view of the almost complete lack of Seafood in the "Seafood Noodle Soup" I attempted to get a reduction in the bill on the grounds that the meal was not as advertised. This elicited a hostile response from our (still un-named) Waiter, advising that nobody else had ever complained and that I should pay up or he would call the Police. An extremely upsetting end to what had otherwise been a very good day visiting the National War Museum in Diekirch (it's excellent by the way).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocinante2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Forget it!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Resident in lux went with friends from Scotland, poor service no customer respect, a fair complaint about main course ignored completely and threatened by police action when requested reduction in bill. At your own risk !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank britman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good Food to Average Service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After 17 years living in Luxembourg we decided to try this restaurant. Food is good and tasty. Lack of coordenation within the service. The impression we had is that the restaurant team is in a hurry to have your table to another customer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WHL573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best chinese in Luxembourg”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! It's one of my favorite restaurants in Luxembourg:
quality food
friendly staff
nice place

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais de Chine also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Palais de Chine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing