We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!”
Review of Am Tiirmschen

Am Tiirmschen
Ranked #55 of 778 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $59
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Am Tiirmschen proposes a typical Luxembourgish kitchen however some dishes have been adapted to be more refined and lighter. We use only best quality fresh products of which more than 50% are of Luxembourg origin, for example our Beef Carpaccio is made from Luxembourg beef. In parallel we also have some fish dishes and other seasonal suggestions as well as a selection of dishes without gluten and/or without lactose.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our concierge recommended this restaurant, and he earned a gold star for doing so. It's tucked away behind the ducal palace, and is a bit hard to find (it helps to remember the street number -- 32 rue de l'Eau), but well worth the hunt. It's located in a 500-year old building, and the main dining room has an ambience to match, without any stuffiness or pretension. Very friendly and efficient staff, excellent food. It was a high point of our visit to Luxembourg.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    65
    34
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Visited here on the recommendation of our concierge as wanted to try some local food.
It’s a bit tricky to find, but worth hunting out as whilst is a little pricey (but hey, so is almost everything in Lux) it was worth it.
Good food, but not too fancy & decent service. I’d go back

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenCab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Intimate restaurant in lovely old building”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is a great place for a romantic dinner but not for a business meal in the evening as it is so dark and candlelit. The food was good if pricey. Service was good and attentive.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent place, must visit”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We found this place by pure accident - it's one of 5 restaurants located in the same building in older part of town. There are also 3 more other restaurants and night clubs nearby, but this was the only place that has original enough food selection (and pretty affordable comparing to the other nearby places)
The food and wine selection was amazing. Service was great. We managed to get in without reservation by luck after us the place got crowded real quick.
Although it might be little bit hard to locate this is the one place I strongly recommend to choose - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank al3xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meh. Nothing to write home about.”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Oddly, most of the top-rated restaurants listed here were CLOSED on a Saturday night. Go Figure. So we went here based on ranking on TAdvisor and ignored other suggestions by Concierge.

Brusque wait-ladies; Tasty food, but waaaaaay overpriced.

Great location surrounded by fabulous bars/clubs totally packed and rockin!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EightOneGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Am Tiirmschen also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Am Tiirmschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing