We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible! possible food intoxication”
Review of Academie

Academie
Ranked #501 of 778 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible! possible food intoxication”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I ve been eating there yesterday with friends. despite of expensive prices which is though normal for this location, the card was promising
i ordered"tomates crevettes"- bad choice. I felt really sick after having eaten it. I also ordered some side mayo which might also have been the source of my sickness.
Also for the price, the portion was very small.

i can also confirm the mentioned coke problem by a former review; my coke had barely any gaz.

it s a very touristic place; be careful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Studentlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    42
    8
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We found this place by accident, when our first choice turned out to have changed hands and menus. This is right on the main square in the old town, and we had a very enjoyable dinner. Two had the entrecote, while one had salmon, and each dish was very well prepared. The service was efficient. It was fairly busy, so the noise level was up a bit, but not too loud. It was quite a cold evening, so sitting outside wasn't really an option. I would eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious - like grand mere used to make”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I had an excellent meal here - I sat outside and listened to the band in the square while eating delicious roast chicken which reminded me of dinner at my grandmother's house as a child! Service was attentive. I recommend it an would return if in Luxembourg again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzzym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Drink :)”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I enjoyed this restaurant very much...Surprised to see so many unfavorable reviews after dining at Academie this evening. Had the set 18 Euro menu consisting of quiche Lorraine, coq au Riesling and glacé for dessert. Each course was very good and an excellent value for the money!! The wine was also very good. I would definitely dine at Academie again when visiting Luxembourg city.

Helpful?
Thank Deanalika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
1 review
“Bad quality (of food and service) for a high price”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went 26-05-2012 for dinner to this restaurant to celebrate our 5-year of marriage.
Unfortunately the food and service was really terrible.
We had a very loud waiter who ran, instead of walked, up and down from terrace to kitchen and laughed about his jokes no-one liked. He did not even ask if we liked the food when we finished. He just asked if we were finished and grabbed the dishes in front of us. I think he knew what the aswer would have been.
After dinner I went to the toilet and was shocked again.
About the website of this restaurant, it doesn´t come near to reality. I didn´t recognise the restaurant on the site as the restaurant where we´ve been.

Next day we went to restaurant la Lorraine. The price we paid here was the same but worth every penny. Great service, beautiful tables with nice polished glasses, fresh food and nicely dressed waiters with good manners.

Next time we go to Luxemburg we will eat there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Academie also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Academie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing