We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Clean, efficient, business-oriented but also welcoming to families. It's realistically probably a 10-15 minute walk to the Old City, but we thought it was a beautiful walk across the bridge so didn't mind it at all. The rooms were small and without views but functional and pleasant. The corridors were dark and no-frills - should be brightened up. The restaurant was bright, cheery, modern and efficient. The better-situated more upscale hotels in Luxembourg seemed to have various issues which I would have found aggravating if we were paying a higher room rate (at least judging from the Tripadvisor reviews), but this seemed like a very good offering for what we were paying.

The hotel is easily walkable to and from the train station, but away from the commotion of that area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGosivetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We will use it again. We felt welcomed with children, family room large and confortable. Great customer service at the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear valued customer,

Thanks for your positive feedback after your stay with us. Happy guests are our best rewards !
Hoping to welcome you soon again at Novotel Luxembourg Centre.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is wonderful place to stay whether you are on a short trip or a long one. We stayed here with children and though we were told that this falls in the category of business hotel it was still very enjoyable place even with kids. Rooms were spacious and connected which kept us relaxed with kids. With comfortable rooms, beds and sofa and all other amenities like TV, Wi-Fi, Safe and robes our week long stay was soothing. Another fascinating part of this hotel is its location, hardly 10 minutes walk from historical city center, very convenient to visit places in the city. Restaurant and Bar was cool and children enjoyed playing Xbox. I liked it very much and will recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you are here on business and want an efficient, no frills hotel then the Novotel would be fine. It is in the business district with parking directly underneath the hotel. However if, like us, you are enjoying a Europe holiday with family then this is not a good choice of hotel in which to enjoy old Luxembourg and the extra comforts you might be looking for. The town is about 30 minutes away, walking, beside the busy road. The rooms can best be described as something equipped from IKEA. Simple, minimalistic furniture, firm bed with (I think) a foam mattress. Coffee cups were polystyrene, one sachet of instant coffee was provided. No iron or ironing board, and small bath towels. All very clean. No personality. Inefficient air conditioning for a modern hotel.
The 10 euro breakfast was one cup of coffee, one orange juice, 2 pastries.
The room was 160 euro per night. Expensive for what we got.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maythorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Maythorne,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay at Novotel Luxembourg Centre.
I am glad to read that your stay was comfortable with us. I am a little bit surprised to read your comment regarding the distance to town as our location is one of our major asset, being located right next to city centre; 10 minutes walk maximum to the main spots of the city and even less to the old city.

For your next visit please feel free to request an iron at reception as we deliver them for free at any time in your room.

As you mentioned, our “city breakfast” offer includes warm beverages, orange juice and pastries. As it is a “all you can eat formula”, you can always request a refill if you wish.

Feel free to contact me personally if you request further information (h5556-fo@accor.com)
Looking forward to welcome you again soon at Novotel Centre.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We, a family of 4 and a small dog, had very good stay with Novotel. Very close to the old town, which was around 10 min walk. very clean hotel and the room. The breakfast buffet was good, not to thrill with the dinner though.
The parking and bag drop off was little inconvenient.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Beside an excellent service during my stay, they were very helpfull send me by mail a passport that was forgotten in the room. Thanks for that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmiDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I agree with some of the reviews that the Novotel Luxembourg Center has a pretty good location. It's about two blocks away from one of the bridges connecting the newer side of Luxembourg to the older side. In that way, it's very convenient for tourists.

I imagine it's also a pretty good place for a business trip. I noticed it was one the same block as one of the Accelor Mittal buildings.

I also can't complain on the price, since I got a standard room in June for about $150/night.

The decor was okay. I can confirm the small, square tv mentioned in one of the earlier reviews. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom functional. My basic assessment as far of the quality of the hotel was like it was trying to be upscale and modern, but doesn't really pull it off.

To it's credit, the Novotel Luxembourg Center has free wi-fi and a pretty nice (but expensive) restaurant (The Red Square) and the staff seemed nice enough. But during my stay, for whatever reason the hot water just stopped working. I called the front desk and they blamed the city, but I was sort of skeptical. It took about 12 hours for the hot water to start working again, too late for me not to have to take a cold shower.

Also, I was on a "non-smoking" floor, but it still smelled like smoke everywhere anyway. This is why I would give this hotel 3 stars instead of 4.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alden-from-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,959 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
1.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Luxembourg
Novotel Suites Luxembourg
#8 of 49 in Luxembourg City
531 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#4 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Luxembourg Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Luxembourg Centre

Address: 35 Rue du Laboratoire, Luxembourg City 1911, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $115 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Luxembourg Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Luxembourg Centre is a 4 star hotel located in the UNESCO World Heritage listed historic centre of Luxembourg, 3 minutes from the train station serviced by the TGV East high-speed train. It features 150 modern and comfortable rooms, a bar and a restaurant, as well as 7 rooms for meetings and seminars. The hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays with your partner or family. Take advantage of the fitness centre and the many nearby tourist attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Luxembourg Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Luxembourg Centre Hotel Luxembourg City
Novotel Luxembourg City Centre
Luxembourg City Novotel
Novotel Luxembourg Centre Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing