We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location - not much more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient location - not much more”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Clean, central. Friendly enough reception. Quite expensive for what is essentially a studio apartment concept without coffee/tea making or microwave facilities. Small TV, good shower, comfortable bed. Quite a bit of room noise due to a combination of tile floors and neighbours high heels, plus thin walls allowed neighbours ablutions to be clearly heard. Good free internet was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbmacster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    108
    58
    15
    9
See reviews for
27
68
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis. IN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We arrived on Friday and what a wonderful city. We spent that evening walking around this very friendly city enjoying the sites. The hotel is very well managed the staff went out of their way answering question and recommending restaurants. The lady at the front desk would not even let my wife carry her luggage back down the steps to cross the street to our room the evening we check in. The BWP has an annex building across which was quite lovely. The room was very large with a large Bathroom. I was totally surprise that phone calls back to the states were free, along with great wifi connections. The bed was so comfortable that I even took the brand name to look for the same back in the states If we make another trip back we will most definitely be staying at BWP Hugo.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for the annex building it was still part of the BWP but less foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-4-TheTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseppe D, Manager at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

had a room in the main building, on the 5th floor. Was OK, nothing too fancy, but decent and clean. Mattress was very hard. Remote did not work. The temperature adjustment of the shower did not work either. Free internet however worked well. Breakfast is wuite expensive for what it offers: no fresh juices, fruit salad seemed coming from a can (or it was just old), full self service (tables not even set up with napkins or silverware. Location is ok, some 10 - 15 minuted from the center. There is a large open parking 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chirri_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

- The Reception service is terrible. I was in for one night after a long travel and hoped to find in Western Hotel a 4 start service. It was a "pay-now or leave we don't care" service.

- The owner was also rude and purely business oriented. Money money money. The problem is that who brings the money are the Clients. As a Client I felt just that, like a number. There was no "welcome" feeling. Well, there was no feeling at all. Nevertheless, what do I know? I am a number.

- For this price I recommend DOMUS HOTEL (37 Avenue Monterey
Luxembourg +352 46 78 78) it`s a simple Hotel but just as near to the city center and the owner is just wonderfully...human!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseppe D, Owner at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We thank you for your comment.
We feel sorry that you didnt feel comfortable at our hotel.
The reception staff is usally very kind and tries always to satisfy the wishes of our clients, but for sure we will check the problem.
Unfortunatly, we remeber that you were looking for a hotelroom just for couple of hours and you were asking to get a reduction of 50 percent of the room and we dont usually offer this service, thats why we were asking for the money immediatly. It was just for security reasons.

BEST regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

the good : is clean
the bad:
-elevator not working (6th floor)
-no parking
-separate building , needed to cross the street to access to services
-low security in the building
-not an "hotel" service, more apparthotel concept
-tiny room
-expensive for the level of service

overall to avoid, much better other othel for the same class of price

Room Tip: don't take room in the separate building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoArdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is modern, so the room is nice and clean and so is the bathroom. I would have preferred a larger bed than the narrow twin beds that I had.

Breakfast was good.

There was really nothing special as for good or bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have nothing but positive review for this hotel. I stayed here a total of 5 days and during that time the staff were extremely accomodating. They were very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located in a great location and walking distance to the older areas of the city. It's also 10 min driving distance to the Luxembourg American Military Cemetery and Memorial. The breakfast they provided was healthy with many items to choose from. The room was very nice and it was very quiet. If traveling to Luxembourg City I would definitely stay at this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,538 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 51 in Luxembourg City
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
738 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo

Property: Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
Address: 3 Avenue Victor Hugo, Luxembourg City 1750, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing