We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views - Great Memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Views - Great Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Ecletic mix of hotel experiences, all under one roof; some of which are fab and others feel rather pretentious. The 'fab' and 'wow' factor is definitely the view over the old city from the bar and restaurant. The panoramic views are certainly some of the best you will find in town and the food and service were top notch.

On the pretentious side, the rooms are well appointed but quite quirky having also compared notes with other friends that have stayed here. A feature of our room was a glass shower that was effectively in the bedroom itself. The type of feature you either love or hate and would work better in a much bigger space, hence the pretentious comment.

All in all our stay was great and the hotel a high quality.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms on the front of the hotel enjoy the special views over the town. Rooms at the back face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Barry,

Thank you for your beautiful feed-back including your Fab & Wow effect comments and I am really happy to hear that "All in all our stay was great and the hotel a high quality".

Looking forward to welcome you back

Au revoir
Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    350
    95
    16
    14
See reviews for
129
716
91
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steenokkerzeel, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal offers, high standard accommodation, superb service and an excellent location with an unsurpassed view of the city of Luxembourg. What to expect more? Well as a frequent guest I do really feel at home with staff who recognise you when you walk into the lobby and who will make certain you feel home and each stay will go out of theri way to address all your needs. It is really a wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Jean,

Thank you for this value and positive feed back from a frequent guest. I am happy to read that you "really feel at home with staff who recognise you when you walk into the lobby and who will make certain you feel home and each stay will go out of theri way to address all your needs".

I am looking for to welcome you back once again in your home in Luxembourg.

My best regards,

Au revoir
Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The sofitel can be seen as one of the best hotels in Luxembourg. It just offers such unique service with an even greater variety of perfectly furnished rooms. The hotel is central and not to far away from the train station, thus allowing a stress free journey.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear florina d,

We are very pleased to read that you consider us as one of the best hotels in Luxembourg and like to thank you for this wonderful comment.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uberaba, MG
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

When I came into the room it was: WOW... then I opened the bathroom door and WOW, from the toilette seat: WOW. This corner room has huge windows and impressive views over the Old City and the Valley from everywhere! On top of that are the very good free WiFi, the Nespresso, and to my suprise, complimentary minibar. Why haven't other hotels thought of complimentary minibars before? It is a nice treat and I'm sure not at great expense to the hotel. (You feel a lot happier when your can of coke is complimentary than when they charge you 10 Euros for that!)

I would certainly return to the Sofitel Le Grand Ducal!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley are really worth the splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RodrigoHueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are impressed by your WOW comment! We are very pleased that your stay excedeed your expectations especially concerning the room and its various amenities!

We look forward to welcoming you soon and it is our hope to offer you a memorable experience as the previous one.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Zenone degli Ezzelini, Italy
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

As hard traveller, I pay high attention to the quality and details of my hotel accomodation.
This is my second time in this hotel.
Beautifully room, excellent cool design, comfortable soft bed, very clean, as uasual at Sofitel.
High attention to every single detail.
Free minibar, Nespresso, Wi-Fi.
Perfect breakfast place and food at the 8th floor.
The location not bed, just at walking distance from the center.
I suggest to everybody, for business and for pleasure. Enjoy it !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to tell us about your second stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially the room and its amenities.

As you are a hard traveller, I would like to recommend you our brand new offer at the Bar Lounge Coco Mango: "Snacking Chic and trendy food" for lunch and "Great food on the move" for evening. They both offer premium products to eat on the run (Jamon Bellota 5J, caviar, premium burgers...).

Once again thank you for sharing your comments. I look forward to welcoming you soon in Luxembourg!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Luxembourg is a jewel. A beautiful city blending past, present and future with such style.
The hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are spacious. What's not to love? The room temp. Hey it's an extremely personal thing but we like things a little cooler at night. Walking distance from city center and quick cab to modern shopping malls and restaurants.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lcdinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am more than happy to read a beautiful comment like yours and I will definitely share it with all my team as an encouragement.

I shall take note of your comments concerning the temperature to improve your next stay and to offer you a memorable experience!

I look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing