We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 31, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Luc67000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel in Luxembourg for a short get-away. We stayed one night and really enjoyed ourselves. We upgraded to a jr suite with an incredible panorama of the old town in Luxembourg. The suite, showers, and of course linens were all top quality we've come to enjoy at the Sofitel chain.

There is a French inspired restaurant on the top level we did not go to. However there is also an incredible lounge on the top floor with an even better view of old town. We had a few priey cocktails approximately 16 Euros each and enjoyed the view. We also very much enjoyed the room services for dinner and breakfast. Lovely choices and the prices were appropriate to the setting.

We live in the country and love giving into luxury every now and again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminijen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay especially your Junior Suite and the eight floor (L'ETOILE Restaurant and Coco Mango Bar) both with panoramic views.

Please, rest assured that I will share all these beautiful remarks among my team as an encouragement.

I look forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is my hope to offer you a memorable experience as the previous one.

With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Olivier B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

- Excellent location
- Stylish, comfortable room
- Friendly, professional staff
- Free mini bar & coffee machine
- Free fast WiFi

- Old Luxembourg crossing Viaduc Bridge
- Fashion shopping (Avenue de la Gare)
- HEMA, Alima for personal/grocery shopping

Stayed here in Nov. 2013
- Short walk from main train station (via a Avenue de la Gare, with lots of fashion shopping), also close to a HEMA (everyday department store) for personal shopping, and Alima (supermarket) for groceries.
- Short walk to historical Luxembourg on the scenic Viaduc bridge
- Many attractions within walking distance
- Hotel staff are friendly, well-trained and professional, speaks fluent English and French
- Hotel room is well and stylish-decorated, bed very comfortable, washroom was clean and bright and stocked with the typical Sofitel Hermes toiletries
- Free mini-bar & coffee machine restocked daily was a big plus
- Free fast WiFi
- Quiet neighborhood, with a nice community center (pool/sauna/gym) within walking distance (Piscine Municipale de Bonnevoie), the hotel has an exercise gym, but no pool or sauna, so the community center was quite handy
- Bar on top floor has nice view, but a bit over-priced
- Entrance is undergoing road-works, so the hotel is a little hard to notice, but it's right at the corner of the road (Boulevard d'Avranches)

Room Tip: Pick a room high up facing Viaduc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MingMingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. I am more than happy to read your complete comment which perfectly describe all your experience at the hotel.

Your compliments are highly appreciated, please rest assured that I will definitely share them among my team as an encouragement.

I look forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is my hope to offer you once again a perfect stay and a memorable experience.

With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the level of luxury the hotel offered for the price.
The room was well designed and spacious, very comfy bed although we never quite mastered the room temp which remained hot!
Complimentary mini bar, laundry service and great concierge. The gym was adequately equipped for a basic fitness.
Ideally positioned a short walk from the centre of the city.
Pricey bar and restaurant but then the whole of Luxembourg was expensive.
Overall a good visit and a recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucySF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review on Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your compliments about the room are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the quality of the Conciergerie.

Please, rest assured that I will definitely share all these beautiful comments among my team as an encouragement.

Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns. I look forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is my hope to offer you a memorable experience.

With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed with my wife only for 2 night during week-end trip to Luxembourg.The hotel is very conveniently located and so only 5-10 min walk to all main points of interest, specialy the Christmas village around Luxembourg center and shopping. 


Check in process was smooth and efficient, concierge staff was helpfull. Our room was great in size, while very comfortable, with nice view of the city. Room did have all amenities you would expect form 5 star hotel, tea/coffee facilities in the room was very convenient. Wi-fi is free of charge both in the room and in all public areas. its quality was very good. Bath amenities include Hermes bath products which are one of my favourrites among all hotels bath products. Bed - having stay in all major hotel chains in different countries I would rate Sofitel "My bed" as one of the most convenient of them all - so no surprises here it was "My bed". Hotel is spotlessly clean and service is according to 5 star standard but the diner was a full disappointment 
we got exclusively average to poor quality dish after 30 ‘ the food was mediocre and almost cold.
The food (diner) does not match with a 5*hotel, In other hands the breakfast was a great experience and very good, with wide variety of hugh-quality products perfectly presented. They can make you some eggs, omelette,etc…on order for no extra charge. Several types of juices, very tasty pastries and we got also very surprised by the kindness that we got from I thinks “ The manager ” this Asian lady give to as the level of quality of service and attention to detail that every guest/s should expect in 5 star hotels, this type of service knowledge make the guest/s feel welcome and this is unparalleled. …Wonderful and Enjoyable Breakfast Experience !!!
So we did can definitely recommend Sofitel Grand Ducal both for leisure and business trips

Room Tip: Front of the hôtel,City side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. I am more than happy that you enjoyed your stay. Your compliments about the quality of the staff are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the breakfast.

I would definitely share all these beautiful comments among my team as an encouragement.

I am sorry that your experience at the restaurant L'Etoile du top floor did not meet your expectations. Please, rest assured that I will share your remarks with both the Chef and the Food & Beverage Manager.

Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns. I look forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is my hope to offer you a memorable experience.

With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 50 in Luxembourg City
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,703 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#6 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,119 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $169 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing