We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive hotel in Luxembourg - beware the building works though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good but expensive hotel in Luxembourg - beware the building works though”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel is slightly outside of the old city centre, across the bridge and has fabulous views across to it. My room was superb, I got a free upgrade also, and the bed was very good. Upstairs bar has great views and I enjoyed a nice but pricy meal in the restaurant. Only caveat was that you definitely pay I what you gt, and t they're building a railway tunnel right under the hotel and you could hear the hammering and drilling very loudly in my 5th floor room, it went on til abt 9pm an started gain around 8am. Overall nice stay for a business trip but you need a generous expense policy for this hotel. For couples I a, sure there are more authentic/ romantic hotels in town. Try to avoid til that tunnel construction has completed. If you don't, do not expect a better deal because of it!

Room Tip: Join the chain reward scheme when you check in, you might get an upgrade and a free mini bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy_oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear paddy,

We would like to thank you for considering the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal during your stay in Luxembourg. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience especially the minibar and the upgrade and we will share all your comments among our team.

We apologize for the roadworks. Unfortunately they are made by the town, but please, rest assured that they remain temporary.

Once again we would like to thank your for all these constructive comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    366
    96
    16
    15
See reviews for
136
744
98
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosario
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Even if Luxembourg is small city, this hotel have Good location, top design, this is a very good option for both tour and business travels.fine details. Attention is also very good, The only issue I had is the car parking. food is ok

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel is in a good location to explore Luxembourg. Very helpful staff. Décor in public areas is amazing and our room definitely had the wow factor. The complimentary mini bar with soft drinks was a lovely thought, as were the Hermes toiletries. We couldn't justify eating breakfast at the hotel for the 20+ euros each. Husband used the gym and he was impressed with it. My only gripe was the car parking. We used the valet parking at the underground car park and it cost 68 euros for a 2 night stay! As other reviews mention, there is major road works going on in front of the hotel and trying to get anywhere near the entrance was an absolute nightmare. Also like others, the bar where smoking is allowed was very off putting and so we didn't use the bar on the 2nd night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Debra,

Thank you so much for you kind review on the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your compliment about the idyllic place in which the hotel is located is highly appreciated as well as your compliment about the amenities in your room.

We will definitely share all these comments among our team by the way of encouragement.

Nevertheless, we apologize for the inconveniences you met. Concerning the roadworks, we try to combine them as better as possible with the comfort of our guests.

We would like to inform you that a draft bill will be passed on January 2014 to prevent tobacco in public areas.

Concerning the car parking, we totally understand your disappointment. Unfortunately the car parking belongs to the city and we have no influence on it.

Once again we thank you for all your constructive comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience.

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

It's a fantastic hotel, you can't fault the spotless, colourful plush rooms. The views are lovely, the facilities are good and the staff are helpful and friendly, but....

There is no warning of the major works going on at the front of the hotel on the public road. The huge digger and pneumatic rock breaker start at 0700 and don't finish until 2200, the sound and vibration are really disturbing. There is no warning if this when you check in and they allocated us a room (outstanding view by the way) that was obviously going to be affected by the noise and vibration.

On our first night the restaurant was closed (yes closed!) to patrons owing to a private function. There was no warning of this on the website or at check in... Terrible customer service as of course they would have known.

The bar and restaurant are smoking, pretty disgusting after having the pleasure of non smoking bars and restaurants in the UK for a while now.

Overall a great hotel spoilt by huge structural works, a stinking bar and a closed restaurant.

Not very relaxing and I would hesitate to book the hotel while the works are ongoing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback even if you met some inconveniences.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you met during your stay.

Concerning the roadworks, they are unfortunately made by the town and they were digging a hole which was not predictable. However we totally understand that these roadworks had affected your global experience at the hotel.

Concerning the privatisation of the Restaurant that day, please rest assured that it remains very occasional. Indeed, we try to limit these events to combine them as better as possible with the comfort of our guests.

Moreover, we would like to inform you that a draft bill will be passed on January 2014 to prevent tobacco in public areas.

Once again, we thank you for these comments and we apologize for the inconveniences you met. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon and it is our hope to recover your trust and your whole satisfaction during your next stay.

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I am currently sitting in the hotel's excellent 8th floor bar overlooking the old part of the city. For those of you that smoke, you can, there is even a cigarette machine hidden away. For those that don't, fear not, the design caters for both so we don't intrude on you.

To be honest I was a bit disappointed at first glance after the reviews I had previously read. The current building works don't help, my room (107) has a pretty dismal view and the wifi, whilst free, lacks umph for Skype etc (it is good for emails etc and covers the whole hotel) There is also no spa or pool ( my fault, didn't check this out, just assumed)

Now that's the bad bits over, now the good. The staff are truly excellent, helpful without being intrusive. The room whilst pretty standard has one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in and the rainforest shower is wonderful. The Hermes toiletries are a much higher quality than the usual no difference between the shampoo and shower gel variety. The free mini bar ( soft drinks only) is a good touch. Take time for the breakfast, the choice is superb, especially the fruit. All beautifully presented. Get a table by the window so you can experience the view ( also 8th floor).

Room service is prompt and again good quality, aside from the sauce on the rump steak, but now I am being really picky.

Whilst here on business, I haven't needed the business centre so cannot comment but suspect it is of same quality as the rest.

Would this go in my "stay again" list? absolutely.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you put our hotel in your "stay again" list!

Your comments concerning the professionalism of the staff are highly appreciated as well as your comments concerning the amenities in your room.

Nevertheless, for all the inconveniences you met during your stay (wifi, building works...) we would like to apologize. Please, rest assured that it remains very occasional and will be resolved in the near future. Concerning the smoke at the Coco Mango Lounge Bar, we would like to inform you that a draft bill will be passed on January 2014 to prevent tobacco in public areas.

Thank you again for sharing your concerns. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a great hotel. Cool reception, cool rooms, cool bar. We loved our overnight stay en route from Lucerne to Calais and we'll definitely use it again for a similar trip. We slept brilliantly in the as usual uber comfortable Sofitel beds, our superior room was well appointed with a really funky shower cubicle that formed a feature between the open plan bathroom and the bedroom. The only hiccup was the room service which having closed earlier than advertised meant we could only have a very limited selection. This was addressed and the items removed from our bill the next day. A minor quibble and dealt with quickly and to our satisfaction. The 8th floor bar was "happening", even on a Monday night, with a cool crowd. We enjoyed a couple of glasses of Luxembourg's sparkling wine - every bit as good as champagne. Non smokers beware though - the bar allows smoking. Quite a revelation for us Brits!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your compliments about the your bed are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the variety of the supply at the Coco Mango Lounge Bar.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Concerning the smoke at the bar, we would like to inform you that a draft bill will be passed on January 2014 to prevent tobacco in public areas.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a stunning hotel, really tastefully decorated with opulent furnishing, staff that most certainly go the extra mile, with rooms relaxing, contemporary, with amazing bathrooms beautiful furnishings and gorgeous place to relax. I spent some time in the bar which again had a great atmosphere, staff that were very attentive, interesting to talk to, with their knowledge of the city, and the bar had lovely views of the city. This is one of the hotels that I will remember for a long time, for all the right reasons. The cost was high, but worth it for such a hotel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Matt,

We would like to thank you for considering the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal during your stay in Luxembourg.

Your compliments about the staff are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the decoration of the hotel which combines modernity and luxembourgish culture.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and its is our hope to offer you a memorable experience as the previous one.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
755 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#5 of 49 in Luxembourg City
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing