We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worlds lovely hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a stunning hotel, really tastefully decorated with opulent furnishing, staff that most certainly go the extra mile, with rooms relaxing, contemporary, with amazing bathrooms beautiful furnishings and gorgeous place to relax. I spent some time in the bar which again had a great atmosphere, staff that were very attentive, interesting to talk to, with their knowledge of the city, and the bar had lovely views of the city. This is one of the hotels that I will remember for a long time, for all the right reasons. The cost was high, but worth it for such a hotel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Matt,

We would like to thank you for considering the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal during your stay in Luxembourg.

Your compliments about the staff are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the decoration of the hotel which combines modernity and luxembourgish culture.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and its is our hope to offer you a memorable experience as the previous one.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel was all you would expect from Sofitel. The room was spacious with a funky rain shower in the bathroom, large comfy bed, great nights sleep! The staff were friendly and very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was superb, lots of choice with good quality options. The view from the bar and restaurant of the old town was superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Angela,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review on the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the quality of the breakfast and the professionalism of our staff.

We will definitely share all you beautiful comments among our team by way of encouragement.

Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience as the previous one.

With my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We got a lovely room with a nice view towards the old town. The room was big, a big shower with a colorful rain shower in the middle. The minibar was free, and got refilled every day, a nice surprice! :) Good nespresso machine. There were a restaurant and a bar at the top floor, with fantastic panoramic views. After a day with lots of walking, sightseeing and shopping nothing`s better than a GOOD cocktail at the bar. Perfect! The hotel is a small walk from the shopping area, where you`ll find lots of nice shops and restaurants. Breakfast was a large bufeet with great selection, served at the top floor restaurant.
As always you get very good service at the Sofitel hotels, and this is no exception. Nice and friendly staff. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GourmandKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

It is with great pleasure that we receive your compliments especially about the cocktails at the Coco Mango Lounge Bar. I'll share your comments with our team and this will be a real encouragement to all our ambassadors because we strive daily to improve the quality of our services. Your satisfaction is our greatest reward.

I once again want to thank you personally for taking the time to share with us your experience. Indeed Luxembourg has plenty of beautiful sights to discover and therefore I hope that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the previous one.

With my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a lovely luxurious and spacious room with very comfortable bed, large bathroom with rain shower. Fantastic views over the valley to Luxembourg city centre, especially from the bar and restaurant on the 8th floor. The Hotel staff were all extremely friendly, cooperative and helpful. Dinner and service at the Hotel restaurant was excellent. Location is good, an easy walk to the main scenic sites around Luxembourg city. Despite the minor annoyance of some noisy construction works outside the Hotel (by public works dept.) our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. This Hotel is all class!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the valley and old city have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip_dover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Your compliments about the professionalism of the staff are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the stunning views and the idyllic place in which the hotel is situated.

I would like to thank you once again for sharing your concerns and I am looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. It is my hope to offer a memorable experience as the previous one.

With my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived to Luxembourg after an 8 hour flight and a 3 hour train ride. We walked to the hotel; it was only a short walk from the train station. We were really surprised by the great reception we got from the staff. Besides being really helpful somebody came to the room with us to show us the room. Our stayed was really nice at this hotel. The location was perfect, only a few minutes’ walk from the main sights in Luxembourg City. The hotel is very clean, our room was spacious and we had a good view of the Grund and Luxembourg City. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Your compliment about the toughtfulness of the staff is highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the room and its view. Please, rest assured that we will share all these comments among our team!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience as the previous one.

With my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Superior rooms have a good size and liked the view over the old town and "grund". Bed super comfy with nice linen and down mattress topper. Some internal refurbishment happening, as was woken up by drilling of sorts (but was at 9am so not terribly early). Massive building work happening next to hotel so no drive / lay by area in front of hotel at present to pull in to drop bags if in own vehicle. Can park underground but due to reserved parking you end up a block a way so a bit of a trek. Very elaborate room service breakfast for 27 euro (for 1, but 1 is more than enough for 2 people). Bar on 8th floor has spectacular views but seriously smelly due to the fact that you can smoke there which is a shame. Hotel is 10 min from town so not bad on a nice day, but with bad weather would probably be nicer to in old town. They offer 30 euro transfers to airport which is apparently what a normal taxi would cost (per the hotel so not sure if that is right or not :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for considering the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal for your stay in Luxembourg.

We are pleased to read that you globally enjoyed your experience at the hotel especially the breakfast and the stunning views at the Coco Mango Lounge Bar.

Concerning the inconveniences you met with the refurbishment and the road works next to the hotel, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Nevertheless, rest assured that it remains temporary and will disappear in the near future.

Concerning the smoke at the Coco Mango Lounge Bar, we would like to inform you that a draft bill will be passed on January 2014 to prevent tobacco in public areas.

Thank you once again for all these constructive comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience.

With my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are massive, my room had a bedroom with large plasma TV, a toilet room, closet, and bath/shower room. The views from the panoramic windows are absolutely stunning, with views right out to Grund District and the European Quarter. Free Wi-Fi access, satellite TV, relatively friendly staff... All it needed to make it perfect was free breakfast!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the higher floors as the views are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-Worthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the stunning views on the Petrusse valley. Please, rest assured that we will share all your beautiful comments among our team.

Thank you once again for sharing your concerns and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

With my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
806 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#4 of 49 in Luxembourg City
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,946 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $163 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing