We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent command of luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent command of luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Fantastic from start to finish. A very warm welcome from Isadro, who valet parked our car (parking is 37 Euros a day, expensive) and we entered the lobby, which is modern and sleek, with very pleasant scents to compliment the design. Check in was friendly and efficient. We were upgraded to a room over looking the old city which was amazing. It had a very large and ultra comfortable bed. Two bathrooms, one was glassedin and had an amazing shower. The bath products are by Hermes, I liked them so much i ended up buying the cologne! The wifi is excellent and the fridge is stocked with free non alcoholic drinks. The service by all staff was very attentive, from housekeeping delivering more bath products to the waiter that camto open our wine who was aghast that we would use water glasses and returned with excellent red wine glasses! The roof top bar is very nice, amazing views of the city, and superb service. We had a bottle of champagne and savoued the view, service and our company. Our only complaint is at we had to leave and return to reality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feyenoorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for considering the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal for your stay in Luxembourg.

We are absolutely delighted to read that your experience was fantastic from start to finish. Your compliments about the professionalism of our staff are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the design, the atmosphere and the room with its amenities!

At Sofitel, we strive to provide the best service experience; therefore your feedback is fundamental to us.

We will definitely share all your beautiful comments among our team and it is our hope to welcome you as soon as possible for another memorable experience at Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal!

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    350
    95
    16
    14
See reviews for
129
716
91
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night for business. Luxurious hotel. Great facilities. Downside that smoking inside in the bar is still permitted in Luxembourg but that is not at the control of the hotel I suppose. The gym is a small space but functional and does the job. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann13Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for considering the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal for your stay in Luxembourg. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Your compliments about the fitness room and the facilities of the hotel are highly appreciated. We will share your beautiful comment to all our teams.

Concerning the smoke at the Coco Mango Lounge Bar, as you wrote in your comment, it is allowed by the luxembourgish legislation. Nevertheless, a draft bill will be passed on January 2014 to prevent tobacco in public areas.

Thank you once again for your kind remarks and we are lookig forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to stop in Luxembourg for two nights on our way driving from Spain to Northern Germany. We got a very nice rate at the Sofitel (€145) and decided to take it wishing for a pleasant and relaxing experience.

The hotel was just as good as it gets. Pleasant service and a fantastic room in every way:
- Extremely comfortable bed
- Complimentary cold drinks and coffee
- High speed WiFi
- High quality toiletries
- Valet parking
- Nice views of the city
- Cool bar in the Penthouse with live DJ

If I had to set something on the negative side it would be that the Parking is not a private facility but a public one. This was by no means an issue for me but it's worth mentioning.

Having that said I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Rooms with views to the valley offer a romantic sunset view. It could also be admired from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Javier V,

We would like to thank you for considering the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal for your stay in Luxembourg.

It is a real pleasure to read beautiful comments like yours! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially our service and your room with its amenities.

Please, rest assured that we will share all your comments among our teams.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience as the previous one!

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Apart from the fact that the top floor bar is smoking which is both unhealthy and uncivilised (though to be outlawed in 2014), this is an entirely respectable top end four star hotel. Superb restaurant, great wine list, excellent breakfasts, and beautiful rain showers in the en-suite bathrooms (though no bath). Gym and fitness facilities are poor.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms offer a little extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHMH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially our restaurant L'ETOILE du top floor and the variety of the wine list.

Please, rest assured that we will share all your beautiful comments among our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon and it is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and the staff is very helpful. The lobby, bar area and rooms are lovely although smoking is allowed at the bar which we didn't like There were several issues with our room. Some were resolved and some were not. Twice we had a maintenance man check our air conditioning in Room 314 because the room wasn't getting cool enough and both times were told that the issue was resolved. Neither time was that true. The weather in Luxembourg this July is very hot and we would have liked to be more comfortable during our stay. Our friends also had a problem with their air conditioning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Lana S,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially the professionalism of our staff and the atmosphere of the hotel.

As information, we would like to tell you that a draft bill will be passed on January 2014 to prohibit tobacco in public areas in Luxembourg.

Concerning the inconveniences you met with the air conditionning in your room, please, allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
Unfortunately, all the system was down in our area. Indeed, the failure has affected several firms situated in the same are as the hotel.

We would like to apologize once again but, please, rest assured that it remains very occasional and will not happen again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is our hope to recover your trust and your whole satisfaction.

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Simply put this was the best hotel stay I have ever had the pleasure to experience and as a frequent traveller in Europe this is no small praise! I stayed for four days on my own and your accommodation makes all the difference when travelling solo.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Check-in was swift and the receptionists were very glad to suggest Luxembourg's top attractions. The interior is tastefully decorated with a welcoming and fresh feel. The meal I had in the restaurant was well presented and appetising but by pure chance my meal coincided with the sun setting and with the views over the city it would've made the most humble meal a magical experience. On entering the hotel bar (Coco Mango) I was astounded by the atmosphere and futuristic décor. Their selection of cocktails are the wish list of any cocktail enthusiast and the added bonus of watching the experienced bar staff lovingly prepare such intricate drink decorations was a pleasure in itself. I would definitely recommend the Grand Ducal's house cocktail to anyone wishing to bring a 'kick' to their evening. The bar staff were incredibly considerate; even dropping my forgotten jumper back to my room when I accidently left it in the bar!

The room itself was perfectly presented with everything you could wish for in the way of amenities, toiletries and comfort. The shower made my stay particularly enjoyable with a monsoon shower head and the colour change lighting!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a taste of luxury in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hot_in_the_worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for considering Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal during your stay in Luxembourg.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your compliments about the professionalism and the kindness of our staff are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the quality of our Restaurant "L'ETOILE du top floor" and its idyllic view on the Pétrusse Valley.

At Sofitel we strive to provide the best service experience for every customer; therefore your remarks or suggestions are essential for us.

We will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thnak you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience as the previous one.

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing