We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some caveats”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed there from Friday to Monday and if you want to have good night sleep before 1am there could be a problem. We stayed at the 6th floor and on Friday there is DJ playing at the 8th floor bar which causes the music to be heard clearly at least on the 6th floor.

Overall the staff was friendly and competent.

Room was spacious and comfortable and free softdrinks and wlan was a plus.

Room Tip: if you want to have a good night sleep please ask for a quiet room where the music from the 8th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Mika M,

First of all we would like to thank your for your review on our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your compliments about the professionalism are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the room and its amenities.

Concerning the inconveniences caused by the noise, we would like to apologize. Please, rest assured that it stays very occasional and will never happen once again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal to offer you a memorable stay without any inconvenience!

With my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

The experience of the hotel and the staff was positive. They were very friendly, helpful, and professional. We had a small issue with the airco. which was solved quickly and had no further issues with it. The parking situation is a hot mess. The valet is 37.50 euros per day and it wasn't made clear to us what our other options were for parking. I find this price very high and we discovered that there was free parking on the weekend 2 streets behind the hotel. The continental breakfast was decent but was only served with jam and butter and didn't include any sliced cheeses or meats. So I basically paid 20 euros for a few pieces of bread with some jam. The drinks in the bar were also ridiculously priced. It is to be expected that a hotel bar is over priced but this bordered on the absurd. Overall the hotel is nice, clean, with a great staff but fails the test on value. For the price of the rooms they should be able to offer amenities such as a pool, sauna, etc. etc. I am a traveler that enjoys feeling like I am getting a lot for my euros and unfortunately felt ripped off on the food, bar, and parking situation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is lovely but my sleep was completely wrecked by the failure of the air-conditioning to lower the temperature in the room (despite being on and making plenty of noise). The hotel moved me when I asked to another room but this was just as bad as the first one (by this time it was well into the evening and I didn't feel like going through the process again).

That aside, I have absolutely no complaints whatsoever but the temperature makes this a four star rather than a five.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank SerenaGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear SerenaGuernsey,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

As you know, your comments and suggestions are essential to help us to continually improve the quality of our services.

Be sure that we took well note of your comment concerning the inconvenience you met with the air-conditioning and that we will take it into account to ameliorate your next stay.
Please, rest assured that this inconvenience stays occasional and will never happen again.

We would be honored to welcome you once again to correct that point and make your stay perfect.

With my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our third stay within the last 12 months and we will still return particularly as they are now putting in a lift to the Carpark .

Room and view over Petrusse Valley was superb and whilst the the road works are still on going (how much longer!) they didn't cause any disturbance. Breakfast continues to be amazing - love the omelets- and free wifi and mini bar all add to the ambiance. Plus of course it is so close to everywhere.Special word for the Concierge who was excellent!

Room Tip: Suggest an upper floor superior room over looking Petrusse Valley
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we thank you for your review on our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive wonderful comments as yours!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Your compliments about our amenities are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about our breakfast. We will share your compliments among our staff.

As you wrote on your comment, Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal is building a direct access from the lobby to the carpark for the comfort of its guests!

We would like to thank you also for your loyalty and we are looking forward to welcoming you once again in our hotel.

With my best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As we were passing through we just spend one night at this hotel. There were works on the street but the hotel personnel was friendly enough to drive our car to the parking space two blocks away. The rooms are modern but mine looked a bit worn out, traces on the walls etc. But the setting of the room was just marvelous, with the shower in the middle of the room. I was very surprised to find a Bose radio in my room, which I enjoyed very much. Also the colored lamp added up to the modern atmosphere. We went for a drink at the rooftop bar and found ourselves in a modern setting. The interior was amazing enough that we didn't even bother to have a look on the city. The bed was just fantastic, I fell asleep on a cloud and woke up the next day all recharged. Breakfast was also enjoyable, especially because I was just a few minutes late but the friendly staff still got me a coffee and everything I wanted.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T-Renske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your good review on our hotel. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the comfort of your bed. As you know the first preoccupation of a hotel is to satisfy the sleep need of its guests!

We thank you another time and we would be honored to welcome you back as soon as possible.

With my best regards,



Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a lovely family stay for 3 nights just after Easter. Room was a good size to fit my husband myself and our daughter. Free wifi very useful and mini bar soft drinks were also free nice touch. Breakfast was plenty and staff great. Very easy to walk tot he sites from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charbel-Dundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Charbel-Dundalk,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your family break in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal!

Please, rest assured that we will share your compliments among our teams. Your comments about the situation of the hotel and the variety of amenties in your room are highly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you again in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and to offer you a wonderful experience as the previous one.

With my best regards,


Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent hote in an amzing location with a view over old Luxembourg town and the new financial area too - excellent service from the minute we were greeted till we left. Great breakfast room and top food. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Roger G,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your good feedback concerning Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.
Your compliments about our staff are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the quality of our food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal,

Sincerely,


Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#4 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,958 reviews
0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: $168 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing