We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The rooftop bar doesn't need a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The rooftop bar doesn't need a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

As we were passing through we just spend one night at this hotel. There were works on the street but the hotel personnel was friendly enough to drive our car to the parking space two blocks away. The rooms are modern but mine looked a bit worn out, traces on the walls etc. But the setting of the room was just marvelous, with the shower in the middle of the room. I was very surprised to find a Bose radio in my room, which I enjoyed very much. Also the colored lamp added up to the modern atmosphere. We went for a drink at the rooftop bar and found ourselves in a modern setting. The interior was amazing enough that we didn't even bother to have a look on the city. The bed was just fantastic, I fell asleep on a cloud and woke up the next day all recharged. Breakfast was also enjoyable, especially because I was just a few minutes late but the friendly staff still got me a coffee and everything I wanted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Renske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your good review on our hotel. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the comfort of your bed. As you know the first preoccupation of a hotel is to satisfy the sleep need of its guests!

We thank you another time and we would be honored to welcome you back as soon as possible.

With my best regards,



Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    353
    96
    16
    15
See reviews for
130
721
92
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kenilworth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a lovely family stay for 3 nights just after Easter. Room was a good size to fit my husband myself and our daughter. Free wifi very useful and mini bar soft drinks were also free nice touch. Breakfast was plenty and staff great. Very easy to walk tot he sites from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charbel-Dundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Charbel-Dundalk,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your family break in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal!

Please, rest assured that we will share your compliments among our teams. Your comments about the situation of the hotel and the variety of amenties in your room are highly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you again in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and to offer you a wonderful experience as the previous one.

With my best regards,


Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent hote in an amzing location with a view over old Luxembourg town and the new financial area too - excellent service from the minute we were greeted till we left. Great breakfast room and top food. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Roger G,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your good feedback concerning Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.
Your compliments about our staff are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the quality of our food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal,

Sincerely,


Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boortmeerbeek, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great hotel, magnificent bar and very helpfull people. When you get in to the hotel, the receptionists are really helpfull and warm. At the bar, you are treated like a king.
The beds are another area of excellence

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank wmarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear wmarien,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on our hotel. We are delighted to read that you felt like a king during your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal !

Your compliments about the skill of our team and the comfort of your bed are highly appreciated. I will share your comments among our team.
As you know, your comments and suggestions are essential to help us to continually improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal,

With my best regards,



Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We received friendly and prompt service for the hotel staff. Our room was large and quiet, with a contemporary bathroom. You will either love or hate the shower. It divides the sleeping area and the bathroom with frosted glass.
We had a room on the front of the building with a view of the old city.
We did not like the top floor bar as it was very smokey and we had to shower afterwards to get rid of the smell. The smell of smoke penetrated the restaurant so we did not eat there. Of our three city tour using SOFITEL and NOVOTEL properties this was the only on to allow smoking. None of the restaurants on our trip allowed smoking either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 22204traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay especially our amenities.

We apologies for the inconveniences you met with the smoke in Coco Mango Lounge Bar. Unfortunately, we can't do anything because it is allowed by the legislation.
We try to combine as better as possible smokers and non smokers.

Nevertheless, we hope that you don't hold these inconveniences on our hotel. We would be honored to welcome you back for antoher stay.

With my best regards,



Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrigento, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

lucky we had a special offer as there is a huge building site in front of the hotel
The staff are extremely nice, service is excellent, cleanliness is super and the hotel is close to the historic centre and the more vibrant area around the railway station.
The hotel does not have in-site parking at all but the adjacent streets have more than enough free parking. There is also an underground public parking lot at cost nearby. The hotel shares the building with the NOVOTEL, which another visitor has claimed offers better comfort for less cost.
The "standard" double room in the Sofitel is most suitable for narcissists - being small it is full of mirrors to make it look large.
The main feature of the room is the shower cabin which takes centre stage. The washhandbasin and its table occupy a good third of the space with the bed taking up a lot of the rest. Worst of all, there is practically no wardrobe. The minibar was offered to us free and held soft drinks and water which were replenished daily. It was dispappointing that there were only a few capsules and a newer model of Nespresso machine with limited amounts of sugar and milk. While staff were eager to refill the supplies, we do not like Nespresso.
The styling of the room is innovative and super modern though the maintenance seems to be falling behind and signs of use in this quite new hotel are evident and there are signs that the designer misjudged the interests of the clientele: the ipod dock for the bose wave radio has never been used - the power cord was still originally tied up. The radio also only received 6 Luxembourg radio stations - my car radio received very many more. Ditto the ambilight philips TV is a fad and money would have been better invested in ensuring clear strong TV signal on all channels, though the variety of channels is adequate (most are German free-to-air).
One of the best features was the wifi with strong signals. It is advertised as being free though PTHOTSPOT in Luxembourg is usually a paying public WIFI service.
The price of breakfast is high - about the same or more than the price of a good full meal in a standard restaurant in the old city or the "grund". Luckily there are many restaurants in the area of the "gare".
A very basic fitness centre with two cardio and two exercise machines, no spa, no pool.
All in all a very good but nor grand hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madrilena23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear madrilena23,

First of all, we would like to thank you for considering Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments related to your stay in our property.

As you know, your comments and suggestions are essential to help us to continually improve the quality of our services.

Be sure that we took well note of your comments and that we will take it into account to ameliorate the stay of our customers.

All the Team of Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal joins me to apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal,

With My Kindest Regards,



Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I were visiting family in Luxembourg. The Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal was an excellent base for our visit. Breakfasts in the hotel's eighth floor restaurant were fabulous. The views of the beautiful city of Luxembourg from the restaurant are breathtaking. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank EuroGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your good review on our hotel. We are pleased to read that your visit to your family was as enjoyable as your stay in Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

Your compliments about our restaurant and its view are highly appreciated. I will share your comments on our staff among our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,



Fernando LOPEZ LENS
Directeur Général - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing