We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect one-night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect one-night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed just the one night during our weekend in Luxembourg City. Friendly service, easy check-in and check-out, SUPER COMFY bed and lovely clean room. We made good use of the free wifi, lovely L'Occitane toiletries and mini-bar service in our room and enjoyed the relatively close proximity to the town centre and the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    354
    96
    16
    15
See reviews for
130
721
92
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

The best bed we've ever slept in.
We stayed here twice for a short break and we will keep coming back. The staff are excellent, approachable, service with a smile and helpful.
It's a nice walking distance to the old town and the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriedCouple0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Our room did not have a working thermostat and the temp was 77 degrees the entire night--not comfortable. They said there was nothing they could do--no other rooms. They gave us a small discount on the room and free parking--which we did not find sufficient as we did not have a good night sleep. Besides this the decor was a bit weird and our room had water damage--not really 5 star. The restaurant was very nice and food was good. Bar was smokey.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Lovely room with interesting layout...the shower is the central feature in the room. I slept well with a very comfortable bed, and quiet room. Well worth checking out the hotel bar, it's got a fantastic view of the city. One complaint: I had trouble with the shower controls.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnynzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed in the hotel for a business trip. I had booked a standard room, but with the platinum Accor card I got an upgrade to a junior suite, which as you can guess was very appreciated.
The room was quite simply spectacular, with a separate dressing mini-room, huge toilets and a living-room area where you could easily entertain 5 guests.
Items available in the room service were a little bit on the sophisticated side, but the quality of the food was excellent.
In summary, a stay to remember!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boisdulac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The other reviews that I have read accurately reflect my experience. This is a supremely comfortable and well-run hotel, with the best views of the city across the Petrusse valley, either from the bar or if one books a room with a view. One could get lost in the beds, they are so sumptuous. The design is clean and very contemporary. At the weekend, however, the establishment seems rather dead: there is no bar or restaurant/cafe on the the ground floor, so people do not congregate in the lobby area. Housekeeping staff seem invisible, but are certainly there: rooms are serviced twice a day (as one would expect). There is HD television, and a BOSE sound system which can take an iPod. It is a shame that there is no pool or sauna, but it is otherwise hard to fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room or above, with a view of the Petrusse Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

When my partner announced a two week business trip to Europe with a long weekend in the middle, we planned for me to work remotely so we could spend the weekend together. Luxembourg City made the itinerary for my work days. I needed a strong in-room internet connection and a quiet place to sleep close to the city for exploration. I also needed to finish the last miles of hill training for a mountain run tomorrow here in the states. Sofitel was perfect. Easy access to running paths (both paved and trail), well-marked, right out the front door. Across the bridge, Old Town delights with the beautiful Grund river-valley, its trees on the edge of a muted greens soon to explode into fall colors rivaling the U.S.'s famed northeast. No problem free wi-fi throughout the hotel (including the stunning view front from the 8th floor restaurant and lounge.) A full breakfast is included daily and was enough to take me through the day until a late lunch. A great place to both explore the city and work remotely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoulderUltraRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing