We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Luxembourg American Cemetery Memorial
Book In Advance
$9.00*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A memorable and inspiring way to honor those who fell in defeating their enemy. Solemn and triumphant. Gorgeously maintained. God bless these soldiers and their families - may they sleep in peace knowing their job was accomplished.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLeonard_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    259
    31
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Township, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sobering Reflection on One's Freedom”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Walking through the cemetery where so many soldiers are buried is a most somber experience. General Patton is buried here. We walked into the visitor center building and we were the only ones there. Not a big room, but big enough to display many photographs and documents relating to WWII. My wife and I were questioning the origins of Luxembourg to each other and we were overheard by the women in the adjacent office (can't remember her name)and she came out and gave us an extensive explanation of how Patton ended up being buried there-pretty interesting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,302 reviews
362 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
“Must stop when visiting Luxembourg City”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

There is not a huge volume of tourist attractions in Luxembourg so take the time to stop here. The cemetery is expertly maintained and easily accessible from Lux City. Just take some time to tour the grounds and see Gen Patton's marker up front. Great history lesson for your kids.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pay a visit”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As Americans living abroad we are making it a point to visit as many American Cemeteries in Europe as possible. We owe it to the fallen heroes. This cemetery has just undergone many renovations and looks great. You will be moved. I recommend attending one of the ceremonies held there as well. We attended the Memorial Day ceremony and we very impressed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gwoodlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Can't Miss This”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This site is so well laid out. Truly pays tribute. Moving. Americans must attend these grounds. Does not take too long to take it all in. But, do plan for 30 minutes to walk around, read, and spent a few minutes appreciating the men and women who've served.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RADeForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luxembourg American Cemetery Memorial also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Luxembourg American Cemetery Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing