We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate in its finest!”
Review of Chocolate House

Chocolate House
Ranked #1 of 19 Dessert in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Belvaux, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chocolate in its finest!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

In a cold winter day or just because you love chocolate, this is the place to go for an excellent hot chocolate with so many uncountable variations!
The place is located in an old building just in front of the Palace, so it is a place you must visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrunoPinto1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    342
    116
    37
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“chocolates galore”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by this place to grab a little snack having woken up late and missed breakfast at our hotel. We were not disappointed. The cakes were lovely, and the hot chocolate was one of a kind. It was made by dipping their trademark Chocospoons into hot milk, with a huge array of flavours available. I highly recommend the Baileys Chocospoon, or the Caramel one for those who don't want alcohol. Great chocolate and cake, complemented by an authentic Luxembourg old world atmosphere. Ideal!

Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow - What a little gem of a find!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our friends who have just moved to Luxembourg found this little gem within a few days of arriving. What a wonderful idea, the moment you walk through the door the atmosphere is amazing, very cosy on a cold winters day and in front of you are the most to die for cakes, what does one choose!

Slightly off the beaten track but if you were looking for the palace you would find this wonderful place as it opposite, a must for all cake and chocolate lovers. Lots of different flavours to choose from if sitting in; however there is an even greater choice if you are purchasing to take away. Hazard a guess at around fifty. There is a whole wall with shelves that house all the different chocolate spoon flavours, even a little stall to reach the higher shelves.

A simple concept chose a cake, they give you a ticket with a number on, find a seat, chose a flavour, the waitress then brings you a mug of hot milk to which you put your chocolate spoon into, then let the chocolate melt in the hot chocolate, simple but divine!

A real little paradise and makes a change to your normal coffee shops, we will be back for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Popped in here for a nice warm drink over Xmas and yes it certainly delivered...a chocoholics paradise with massive slices of cake available as well as many other chocolate treats... Gets quite busy in the seating area but well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
700 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
“De-li-ci-ous”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

After passing a few different places that sold chocolates and wandering through the Christmas market with other sweet options, I made it to the tourist information centre and inquired about chocolates. I asked where the best local chocolate shop was, and without hesitation, they directed me here.

Located across the street from the palace, The Chocolate House has amazing chocolates. I chose about 6 different pieces, and every one was delicious. The prices, while not cheap, were better than high priced chocolate chain stores. The gentleman who waited on me was helpful.

I also liked the fact that the shop is beautiful without much snobbery or pretense. You can come in here and it just feels like a warm, special place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mbc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate House also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing