We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mudam Luxembourg Modern Art Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mudam Luxembourg Modern Art Museum
from $9.13
More Info
from $20.55
More Info
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
218
161
77
25
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
218
161
77
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building natural light kinetic sculptures worth a visit old fortress few hours great architecture rainy day pei kudamm exhibits ink collection luxembourg kirchberg abstract galleries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 495 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

The building is an architectural gem and worthy of 5 stars. There is a ridiculously expensive cafe (€2.50 for a small bag of crisps) although it is a lovely bright and comfortable area to sit in. I did not rate the art on show and there is not much of it - if the building had not been so nice I would have rated this 1 star! However, when we visited they had a hands on section and my adult daughters had fun making stencils and ink prints. I should have joined them. Overall we had a fun 2 hours here. Do not go for the art though!!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank RobertJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Listen, modern art is not everyone's cup of tea, right? But this museum is a must. You may or may not like the art in the exhibition --or even call it art at all!-- but the place is an oasis of light and peace thanks to its exquisite internal design.

Don't worry much about comfy shoes because it is a tiny place, but make sure to have a freshly pressed orange juice or an espresso at the café, at the end of your visit, of course. That corner is beautifully designed, in such a way that if you sit by the wall you can have lots of natural light while not being hit directly by it.

For many, the charm of MUDAM is the museum building and its internal arrangement themselves, as much as the exhibition in turn. Bring a book and spend the afternoon there. It's completely worth it.

Also, once you leave, approach the end of the hill and enjoy the gorgeous view of the city's downtown. If not too hot or cold, stretch a towel or blanket and have a picnic.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank HappyCowMeatEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

The building, designed by renowned architect I.M. Pei, is gorgeous; there is a ton of natural lighting in the elegant and pleasingly spare interior. That alone is worth a visit. Unfortunately, when we were there, two of the large galleries were closed due to construction or changing exhibits. This meant that there was not a whole lot of art to see. When I mentioned to the guys at the ticket booth that they should have mentioned, prior to admission, that a large portion of the collection would not be viewable, they reacted in a haughty and, quite frankly, arrogant manner.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

Fantastic building and wonderful galleries and exhibits - visit, you won't be disappointed and also go next door to the polar opposite in terms of history to Musee Drai Eechelen

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Acciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

We arrived there walking from the city center. I strongly suggest you to arrive to the museum walking thru the green park behind it, avoid the bus.
The museum itself is beautiful to visit. Even if you are not keen in modern art you will enjoy the atmosphere and you will feel the attraction for the creativity.
Definitely worth to visit it.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank damianof207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews