We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit for the Museum alone”

Mudam Luxembourg Modern Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$8.30*
and up
Modern Art Museum Luxembourg (MUDAM) Entrance Ticket
More Info
$17.78*
and up
City Sightseeing Luxembourg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mudam, musée d’art contemporain au Luxembourg, se veut attentif à toutes les disciplines artistiques et ouvert au monde. Sa collection et sa programmation reflètent les tendances de la création actuelle et rendent compte de l’émergence de nouvelles pratiques artistiques à l’échelon national et international.Le bâtiment, œuvre de l’architecte sino-américain Ieoh Ming Pei, dialogue à merveille avec son environnement naturel et historique. Adossé aux vestiges du Fort Thüngen dont il épouse le tracé des anciens murs d’enceinte.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Visit for the Museum alone”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Art for Arts sake? It's difficult with the Mudam as the building in itself is simply breathtaking - airy, contemporary, inspiring and yet the collections really vary. It is modern as modern gets and will allow you to discover new artists in an interesting setting. As regular visitors I guarantee you will still be thinking about it a week later, but maybe not all for the right reasons.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RuthMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    120
    50
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boom, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“the current exhibition is not my cup of tea”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was not very impressed by the current exhibition to be honest.
The building is nice and the location superb (although quite far from the other museums).
With another temporary exhibition I would probably have liked it a lot more, this one was just not the right one for me.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tommyvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Every design lover must see this museum”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The museum is a design lover's paradise. First, subscribe to their newsletter so that you can adjust your stay in Luxembourg to one of the many awesome (and free) workshops or a fantastic exhibition opening. You may want to catch one of the art history lectures or some other lectures on design. Or you can party with the artsy gang and change the world.

It is an amazing museum with one of the best staff. I usually feel quite lost and they're always very nice and polite.

I have attended both art history and design lectures and I have yet to try their photography workshops.

The museum shop is also one of the bests.

You can visit the museum for free every Wednesday from 6-8pm.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not quite what I expected”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Coming from Oxford, I suppose my expectations are raised - with Oxford Modern Art hoisting prize winning exhibitors - but here, I just felt a bit sorry for the curator. Not what I expected. Sorry, but not impressed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Relentlessvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“The first time I paid for empty pictures and walls”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We are visiting a lot of modern art museums around the world. These one was the worst so far. There was a big hall with a lot of paintings. White but empty. Black but nothing. A few furnitures in another room, prototypes only. A few kids from a school class visited the place. The kids were bored, bored, bored. The first time I paid for empty pictures and walls. Disapointing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Werner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mudam Luxembourg Modern Art Museum also viewed

 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Mudam Luxembourg Modern Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing