We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious greek food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambrosia

Ambrosia
Ranked #15 of 744 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
152 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“delicious greek food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

i read about this place on trip advisor and decided to go check it out... both my friend and i were well impressed with the friendly prompt service, the delicious food and the wine selection...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    91
    23
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, but service could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went to Ambrosia for lunch in between business meetings. I arrived before my colleagues and didn't realize that our group was smaller than originally planned. They made us move to a different table when the restaurant was empty. When we got our menus the waiter came to take our order, but he left when we didn't know what to order and didn't come back for a long time.

I ordered the moussaka and it was very delicious. My colleague had a mixed grill and she really enjoyed it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“It's all Greek to me!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

While it is a long way from Greece this restaurant still makes a valiant attempt to bring the cuisine of its motherland to the table. It seems like a family run business and the staff are efficient and professional, but not overly personable.

There was a good wine menu but we opted for the refreshing and very malty Mythos Greek beer. We tried the warm pitta with olive pâte which was excellent and something that could definitely be replicated at home. The dolmades were served hot as they contained meat and were quite nice.

For main course we tried the Stilado, or lamb shank slow roasted over a bed of shallots and tomato sauce, which was delicious and the meat was very tender. The Moussaka was tasty in that it had nice flavouring but it was a little on the dry side and needed more tomato sauce.

Overall a nice place to have a meal, even if the food was not necessarily the most convincing Greek that has ever been served up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zippyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just the usual meat-heavy Greek cuisine in Northern/Western Europe that doesn't have much in common with the food that's served in Greece (which usually includes many vegetarian options where freshness is paramount)? Eggplant salad (Melitzanosalata) was a disaster, heavy on garlic and mayonnaise (why mayonnaise? why??? if I want convenience food I can stay home!). Meatball (Mpifteki) stuffed with feta was average. Mince was mixed beef/pork. The Amethystos dry rose wine was a nice find at 29 euro and probably saved the meal. The oven-cooked lamb with eggplant I had on my previous visit was much better. Maybe it's best to stick to oven-cooked dishes. Friendly waiter (accepted to replace a pork skewer of the 'Hellas' platter my company had ordered although the latter hadn't clearly stated that he didn't wish any pork at all), nice setting. Really just average, but could be so much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mylonakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I love Greece and greek food, but to be honest i was very disappointed after my first visit to this resto.
I had grilled calamar...and it didnt look & taste nice. In addition it was served just with some white rice and a tiny salad.
while ordering i asked to replace rice with some french fries or grilled vegs but they told me this will be at an additional cost...how nice...
Well, there are some italian restos around where one can get delicious grilled calamars, so i dont think i ll go back to this greek one...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aquarius20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrosia also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing