We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two floors closed for renovation, otherwise a 5”

National Museum of Art and History (Musee National d'Histoire et d'Art)
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.64*
and up
City Sightseeing Luxembourg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two floors closed for renovation, otherwise a 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

There's a great amount of art and archeological history in the museum (which is built over part of an old castle), dating from the bronze age, through Roman occupation, into the Middle ages. It provides a lot of Luxembourg history and would be more enjoyable if there were more English translations of the displays. Only about a third had English translations, but still worth the three euro entry.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ricktoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    90
    27
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

A beautiful museum with clear exhibits and thoughtfully put together. On the day of our visit it was extremely quiet, meaning you could view the exhibits in peace and quiet

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_S_Bushey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“nice museum, well laid out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

nice little museum spread out out over several floors, tip is to start at the top with the modern art and work your way down to the bottom. Gives a good background into luxembourgs history is worth visiting

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ggmck186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beautiful museum and archeological collections”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Another very interesting museum of the city of Luxembourg, very well designed, with a great sense of space and circulation through collections. Collections/objets are nicely highlighted making you feel like taking time to dive into the depths of archeological researches! Also very interesting architecture (great façade namely) where the modern is combined to the original construction, and dug deep within the underlying rock.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SYGRLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everything mixed up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We wanted to see some paintings, preferably impressionists. The only place we could find for this in Luxembourg City was this MNHA. What is strange from the very beginning is that such a wealthy city with such a history has a single museum for both history and arts. The exposition, accordingly, ranges from pre-historic tools to post-impressionists---quite a span. As if it was not enough, there were too temporary exhibition there during the time of our visit: ducal silver and Japanese theatre drawings. I do not care much about archaeology, so I did not enjoy that part. The silver collection was nice. The Japanese drawings are very hard to appreciate without knowing the very specific topic (Japanese theatre of the first half of 20 c.).

However, the collection of paintings is really nice. At the 2nd floor there are, as far as I understand, works by Luxembourgian artists. I've found some very nice pieces by Seimetz, Blanc, Lang, Beckins, Klopp, Schaack---about all of them I've heard for the first time but really enjoyed them. On the 3rd floor one finds a few paintings by Picasso, Cezanne, a couple of drawings by V. Hugo, some watercolours by Turner, a sculpture by Rodin etc. The 5th floor (get there through the 4th one) exhibits Oppenheim, Klopp, Mousset etc---very nice again.

All in all, I'd recommend to visit either main parts of this museum---archaeology or arts, depending on your taste. Just skip the other one, and you'll have a decent experience without getting tired.

For students, the entrance is free.
The audio-guide is also free, you just have to pay a deposit of 10 Euro. Make sure to check your device before starting, of our two one did not work.
Explanation in the archaeology part is all in French. However you can take a booklet with translation into English or German at the staircase at each floor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karapetyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Art and History (Musee National d'Histoire et d'Art) also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to National Museum of Art and History (Musee National d'Histoire et d'Art)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing