We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A view from the upper casments will do”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Petrusse Casemates

Petrusse Casemates
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
893 reviews
597 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 675 helpful votes
“A view from the upper casments will do”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Going down to the river is possible to get an up close view of this site however I would recommend just some photos of the Pertrusse Casements from the Casements du Boc up above.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    84
    28
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“BE CAREFUL”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Do not skip this attraction! It cost 3 Euros for student and 4 Euros for others to get in. I really liked the views and the mix of modern display among the twisting tunnels of the Casemates. It does not overwhelm the original architecture. I recommend being EXTREMELY careful as you walk down the stairs. They are very steep and small and SLIPPERY steps. The average person will most likely find themselves walking down sideways. I will post a picture of the staircase where I feel you should be most vigilant as this is where I busted my own butt. The material used to make the stairs has caved in in some parts and this material is also naturally very slippery for some reason. The stairs are in the area of section G (when you have your tour pamphlet you will understand) but also look for the silver piping which you can see in my picture and use the hand rails! I would rate lower but I feel the experience is still above average just a bit unsafe and also after winding through the caves it becomes a bit underwhelming after a while. I came across this through a guided tour map I received at the tourist office, I recommend getting it and it is only about a 4km walk.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank knexster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice quick tour”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is worth it, doesn't take long, good place to start learning about this beautiful little country. The 450 steps are not that hard to navigate.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marius N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Cycle through!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The most convenient way to enter the Petrusse Casemates is via the staircase at the Gelle Fre monument. The roads down below stretch on a long way so great for a peaceful walk. As the area is so vast, I'd recommend hiring one of the public 'Vel-oh' bikes and cycling through. Only €1 per half an hour up to a maximum of €5 per 24 hour period. The city tourist centre in the Guillaume II square can give you more information and a leaflet explaining how to use the bikes.

Be sure to take a visit to the Quirin Chapel in the valley too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scratchgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tunnel the City of Luxembourg”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Petrusse casemates are only open in summer and you can only visit in a guided group, which is good, otherwise you could get lost beneath the city! You go through a vast network of narrow, dank tunnels which have played a part in all major events of the city's history for hundreds of years. Starting from the top of the Old Town where the tour busses park, you burrow, literally, all the way down to the valley below, and then back up. The guides are good and the stories all along the way are interesting. It's slippery going in places, with steep, uneven steps. Wear flat, comfortable shoes (not recommended for very claustrophobic types).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrusse Casemates also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Petrusse Casemates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing