We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper, perfect location, what else ????”
Review of Hotel Empire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Empire
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Yogya
Level Contributor
526 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Cheaper, perfect location, what else ????”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is just in front off the main train station, so you cannot be lost looking for it.
It is just 5 minutes walking from main station.
The rate is also much cheaper comparable to other hotels in Luxembourg.
The downtown is only 15 mins away by walking.
Around the area there are quite many restaurants, so you can just choose whatever you like (Chinese, Italian, fast food, Indian, etc).
The hotel is quite basic, but it is convenient.
The Wifi is free and quite fast, in my own experience I can stream youtube without any issues.

I do recommend to stay here for just a weekend away in Luxembourg.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinoYogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    131
    63
    15
    11
See reviews for
26
83
48
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auchinleck, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I booked in here for an extra night's stay in Luxembourg following my trip with the Iron Maiden Fan Club.

Great hotel just across the road from the train station (and only a few doors down from the Mercure Alfa where I was staying the previous two nights). I had a room facing the main Post Office and the room was very quiet with the windows shut. The room was a single and was very clean and had everything that I needed. It was very warm when I stayed so I needed to open the windows, but even then it wasn't too noisy.

The staff were all excellent and kept my case for me until check in time.

Breakfast was served on the first floor overlooking the station and was very good with lots of choice. There is also an Italian restaurant on the ground floor just outside the hotel for lunch and evening meals.

The price for my stay was very good and I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lem01uk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

After reading other Tripadvisor reviews I booked the Empire Hotel in Luxembourg.
It is located opposite the Train station and bus station.
It can get a little noisy but we got a room on the side road facing the Post Office.
There is no air conditioning just a fan like when we were in Vienna.
The 16 bus stops in front of the hotel whilst the number 9 bus stops across the road.
These 2 buses plus bus 114 go to the airport.
The 2 euro bus ticket last for 2 hours or you can buy a Luxembourg card at the hotel reception for 1 to 3 days which includes free transport and free entry to main attractions in Luxembourg.
The hotel is walking distance to the Old Town about 15 to 25minutes.
There is a car park at the railway station if you are driving but can find a place to park after 6pm on side roads.
The free or inclusive breakfast is continental so only cereals,cheese ,cold meats,boiled egg with croissant and other bread with 2 fruit juices and strong coffee.
The room is adequate size.Pillow is nice and soft.
Yes the bathroom towels is rough but that is due to the chequered design so do not wipe too hard against your skin so ok.
The thing I like most is the wireless internet which does not drop off nor is it slow so I can do a few things on the internet whilst many hotels that I have stayed in the internet only good for just reading your email.
There are many TV channels with BBC World which I watch when away from UK but sometimes the signal goes and comes back.

Room Tip: Get bus 16 for 2 euro which goes through the main sites in Luxembourg.The bus ticket last for 2 hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fungshuiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Nordjylland, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Empire Hotel was a huge surprise to us. From the outside it looked a little shabby, and the noizy position across the street from the railway station didn't help.
But wow. This was a cheap and great accomodation. The windows was sound profed, so even though we where visiting on the national day and the street was a party, we sleept like children.
All rooms are very spacy and there is a huge widescreen TV which offers German, French and English television. Great after a long day of walking in Luxembourg.
The hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the old city of Luxembourg, but it's a shopping street, so if you bring women, it will most likely be a couple of hours :-)
Breakfast was great, a good big selection of cereals, pastry and bread.
If your tired after a long day and want to stay clear of the tourists trap in the old city, two doors down the street is a wonderful pizza/pasta place.

Room Tip: If you book through booking.com, choose quiet chamber to get a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Both the multiple bus stops and the train station are right outside the hotel, which was brilliant, with the bus from airport, I believe, stopping nearby. The building might not look like much from the outside but the staff were always friendly and smiling. Breakfast selection was good (4 types of cereals, milk, 2 types of juices, about 9 types of tea, coffee, 2 types of yoghurt, multiple breads and croissants, a good selection of jams, cheese, and two or three types of meat), although it could have done with a choice of hot food; the diner had a lovely view. The room was a little bit small but clean, with a table fan which came in very handy in the 33C heat.

There are a few negative points against it, which aren't the hotel's fault: due to the noise of traffic, I had to keep the window closed, which wasn't desirable in the heatwave (but the table fan was more than adequate in getting the room to the cooler temperatures), and the fact that the post office had its banner's lights on through the night, which still filtered through despite the thick curtains.

I'd be more than happy to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenchoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The location is the main advantage of the Empire Hotel. It is across the road from both the railway and the bus station so is easy to find on arrival and simple to find a bus to a tourist sight. The rooms are a reasonable size and a comprehensive breakfast is included. It is on a busy road but when booking I asked for a quiet room at the back and was given one. The staff were helpful and efficient. The price seemed reasonable for Luxembourg where hotels can be very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front. Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 787 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very easy to find directly opposite the train station. Very small foyer & reception area. Check in was quick enough even allowing for the facts that your passports are requested & registration forms had to be filled out. It could have been a little bit friendlier & more informative as for instance, I had to ask what the hours were for breakfast. The lift to our 4th floor room was small & slow & several times there was a vile smell inside it.
Our non smoking room facing the train station. Several things instantly caught the attention. Firstly the size, definitely on the smallish side & the noise with the windows open which was intolerable. With the windows closed it was much better but far from totally silent from the constant traffic noise. Brightly decorated & clean with plenty of natural light, carpet floor, 2 single beds, table, 2 armchairs, luggage rack, smoke alarm, small work desk & chairs, safe, long mirror, wardrobe space for a very short stay, tv with many stations but BBC World news was the only English speaking channel that I could find. Mini bar prices, cola 2.40 Euros, fruit juice 2.40, beer 2.50, water (200 mls) 2.40, wine 3.60, spirits 3.70. As we had to keep the windows closed, the room was very warm & sticky but thankfully, there was a good quality tall electric fan which remedied that. I requested an iron & ironing board from reception & duly had both within a few minutes of asking.
Our bathroom was small but clean & contempory styled with a black & white colour scheme, fully tiled, a large window so plenty of natural light, shower cubicle with rain head shower & separate bar shower handset & hose, both with good pressure & plenty of hot water, plenty of towels, hairdryer, towel rad, toiletries (poor quality in small sachets) 2 shampoo, 2 shower gel, 2 small bars of soap. Owing to a glass shelf being positioned straight above & too close to the wash basin, it was difficult to shave without splashing water all around.
Breakfast was not bad, continental, buffet style with cereals, selection of breads & rolls, croissants, rye biscuits, toast, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurt, fresh whole fruits, fruit juices, coffee, flavoured teas & bottled mineral water.
There is a computer station at reception with complimentary internet usage & printing for guests. A sign requests guests to limit their usage of the computer to a maximum of 30 minutes at a time to allow other guests to use the computer but if no other guests were looking to use it, it was possible to stay online for longer. Internet speed was excellent.
Checking out was quick & friendlier than checking in had been. We left our luggage, free of charge, for several hours after checking out & it was kept in the reception area using a ticket system in full view of reception staff.
The location of the hotel was excellent for the train station & was an easy 15 minutes walk to the city centre & there are numerous restaurants & cafes close by but be aware, it is also very close (as in 300 to 400 metres) to where we observed 4 prostitutes plying for business. Also, numerous cabaret/clubs of an “adult” nature are located in the streets directly behind the hotel.
To be honest, I’ve stayed in many, much better city centre hotels & I wouldn’t consider staying in this hotel again unless proximity to the train station was the only criteria for my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
1.3 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#15 of 51 in Luxembourg City
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 51 in Luxembourg City
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Chatelet
Hotel Le Chatelet
#32 of 51 in Luxembourg City
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Empire

Property: Hotel Empire
Address: 34 Place de la Gare, Luxembourg City 1616, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Empire 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Empire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hotel Luxembourg City
Hotel Empire Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing