We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Next to train station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Empire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Empire
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Next to train station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is right outside the train station and you can easily walk to the city center in around 15 minutes (it's very scenic) or take a bus. The room was very basic, though we were a bit disappointed that a "double bed" was just two singles pushed together, creating a huge wooden divider down the middle. Our room was pretty clean but smelled slightly mildewy, most likely due to the mold growing in the shower (that was a gross surprise!). The walls were pretty thin, but we are both heavy sleepers so it didn't bother us too much.

Free wifi was nice and we really enjoyed the breakfast-there was a nice selection of breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, etc. That was my favorite part.

Overall it's a nice budget option for a short stay.

Room Tip: The hotel faces the street, so the higher floors can help you escape the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeadaCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    127
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
79
45
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Pleasant place-opposite to the station(gare).
It is more of a b&b place than a real hotel but it is very good value.
Very convenient for visiting to the town of Luxembourg.
Good breakfast also-buffet style. Probably not suitable for a long stay but for a brief stay is ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bomaolciarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is in a perfect location, easy to reach from the station. 15-20 mins walk to the city centre (or you can take a bus). Rooms were clean, but the double bed was in reality 2 single beds put together. Buffet breakfast was nice, different kinds of bread/cheese/ham, yogurts and creals.
The corridors looked a bit worse than the rooms, but it was due to the renovations. Service could be a bit better (saying "good morning" doesn't cost so much). All in all, we were satisfied and would probably go there again - perfect location if you want to travel around, f.ex. to Trier.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner have a nice view over the station, a lot of windows and they aren't loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel couple of times and always was happy with the service, rooms and breakfast. Also the location is very convenient, and if there is an opportunity for me to stay at this hotel Im more than happy

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just back from a one night business trip. The hotel is across from the train station so location perfect if you need to get to and from the city centre.
the hotel itself is undergoing a renovation , all corridors are in a bad way at the moment, but my room was clean and adequate.check-in a quick and so was check-out. Good buffet breakfast.
however they was no air conditioning so i had to open the windows so it was quite noisy outside.
In all an ok hotel, but for the price i paid i felt it could/ should be better.

Room Tip: ask for a/c or a least not front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Empire Hotl is directly opposite the station. If, like me, you are coming in by rail the location is ideal. The tourist hop on/off bus stop is just across the road too. It's fairly quiet if you keep the window closed. The room is clean but no jug or tea & coffee. Thankfully breakfast in the restaurant was included and so is wifi which is great for an international traveller. The staff were friendly and helpful but the key was tricky to open the door... time for an upgrade to the card system.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We wanted a hotel near the train station which was perfect as only across the road. However our twin room was unclean as had a nasty smell like damp and the bathroom was disgusting with discoloured toilet and black mould around the shower and it smelt like urine was sick. Left windows open to air. Shame as beds were comfy and wifi great and receptionist very friendly they just need to hire better cleaners!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauretta_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#15 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembo...
#22 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Empire

Property: Hotel Empire
Address: 34 Place de la Gare, Luxembourg City 1616, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Empire 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Empire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hotel Luxembourg City
Hotel Empire Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing